We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th Birthday Trip to Madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petit Palace Alcala
Ranked #116 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Beatriz C, Director Comercial at Petit Palace Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 855 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed in Alcala Torre for a quick visit. Madrid was hot +38C / +100 F, but the hotel was nice and cool. The second room they allocated for us was a nice room on the 8th floor, with city views. The hotel is centrally located, near Plaza del Sol and Plaza Mayor within walking distance. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast is served in the 5th floor restaurant with great views and good selection of foods. If you come by car - like us - they have a parking house a few blocks away - easy to find - but to avoid extra strain, leave your luggage first at the hotel. BTW, Starbucks is just accross the street and the famous Thyssen-Bornemiza museum is within 10 minutes of walking.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

Recommended hotel, clean beds and toilets, steps to Sevilla metro station and local bus stop, Airport bus stop around 300 meters away, Bus tour stop around 100 meters, near the main cafe's and restaurants, near the main square in the city "Sol", staff helpful and you can get free bike to hang around the city, you can walk all the way to the Royal palace and one if the main streets in tge city the "Gran Via". Wilk stay back again for sure...

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HameedDadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Hameed,
We are very happy that we were able to make your stay a pleasant one and would like to thank you for sharing this with everyone on Tripadvisor!
Its true that our hotel is ideally located in the city centre and an area abuntant with bars and cafes and just a few metres walking from the city centre.
And thanks too to mention our helpuful staff.
We hope to see you soon again in Madrid!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Having read many reviews regarding the size of the rooms I was a little apprehensive to book however the discounted hotel price dictated my choice.
I was not overly disappointed at first sight however.
The rooms were not too big nor were they they small. Just right I thought.
We were checked in on the 3rd floor and from other reviews reading about the noise of the outside I checked with reception if I could change and go higher (they have 12 floors). They told me that nothing was available that night but I should ask the following day.
Having seen the room, I was pleasantly surprised so decided to stay there.
We arrived on a Tues and had good nights on Tues and Weds however on Thurs and Fri there were plenty of youngsters falling out of nearby pubs or clubs and they could be heard on/off up to 6am in the morning.
The other disappointments was the a/c didnt work properly, again this was mentioned on other reviews, however when opening the windows a nice breeze meant it was more comfortable (shame about the revellers in the early hours though).
I would like to think the ac works properly in the summer else it would be like a sauna in the room.
The other negative was that there was no tea / coffee in the rooms. The owners would do well to invest in such a small outlay.

On the upside the bathroom was big with a nice hot shower, the room had a safe and was always kept clean by the maids.
Oh and a big plus was the use of a laptop / free wifi which every room has.

Breakfast on the 5th floor is well worth the money. 8 eur for buffet consisting of hams, eggs, sausages, bacon, fresh fruit and cakes.

Would I recommend this hotel?
Yes - for the location as it was 30 secs from Sevilla metro, 5 mins walk from Plaza del Sol and 3 mins walk from Gran Via.
Yes - during the winter months.
Yes - from floors 6 and upwards.
No - for the summer months (unless the ac is sorted out).
No - from floors 2,3,4.

Room Tip: Avoid the outside noise by choosing floors 6 and upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DALASliema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear guest,

Fisrt all, Thank you for choosing Petit Palace Alcalá Torre for your stay in Madrid.

Sorry for all the inconvenience that may have caused the noise of other customers. Sometimes, it is difficult for us to control this events. Please, in the future do not hesitate to contact to reception to try correct the problem.
About the comment off the air conditioner, it is a pleasure to confirm you that this system, is working the correct form.

Also, I would like to thank you for the positive comments about our rooms and the breakfast. We will work very hard to improve our services.

We do hope you find the time to return to Madrid and stay with us again, you will be very welcome!
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location. Close to many of the citys main sites, metro station right outside, Plaza del Sol around the corner and Gran Via (shopping area) is within a 5 minute walk. Its well priced for a city centre hotel. The rooms however are extremely small. We booked a double. The bed was slightly bigger than a single bed adn rock hard. There was no room/space to walk around the bed. The rooms contained a laptop and free wifi...always a plus. The bathroom, however was very spacious, nicely decorated and contained an amazing shower. Staff were friendly and helpful. During city breaks, we tend to not spend too much time in the hotel so for weekend breaks i would advise people to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Dear Kate,

First all, thank you for choosing Petit Palace Alcalá Torre Hotel for your staying in Madrid…
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the in room laptop, our central position and all rest of services were of help to you.
Also, sorry for the inconvenience this may have had during your stay in our hotel, because the room's size. We work very hard to improve all the details that you listed and offer a best service.

Thanks again and regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Here are the Pros: The location is great, the price is reasonable and the fact they had rooms available for families w/5 people was very convenient and cost effective (vice getting 2 rooms).
Great Location: In 5 minutes you can walk to great shopping on Gran Via or in Plaza Del Sol. In 10 mins you can be in Plaza Mayor & in 15 you at the Prado. Across the street is a Starbuck's and TGI Fridays and around the corner is Don Pelayo Restaurant, where we enjoyed the best Paella we ever had.
Here are the Cons: Simply put, I've stayed in Youth Hostels that had cleaner rooms.
Smell: There were drainage issues with our shower, so the smell of sewage kept wafting up into our room, forcing us to continually run water back down the drain and air out the room.
Run Down & Dusty: Our room had holes in the walls and floor (seriously two large holes covered up by the carpet), wall paper peeling off the walls and the carpet was filthy. There was mold in the bathroom and the room had the feel as if it hadn't been truly cleaned for some time.
Space/Furniture: While there was enough 'room' for the beds there was little else in the way of furnishings or space. We had a small wardrobe and 1'x3' table w/a laptop and TV, but nothing else. There was really no way/where to unpack and place our things save living out of our suitcases. While we appreciated the somewhat dated laptop, the table and chair set up was at the end of a bed, providing almost no space to actually sit and use the computer.
Beds: Our backs still haven't recovered.
Elevator: For your awareness, with only two small (3 person max) elevators if you're located on a higher floor, plan on waiting. While we took the stairs most of the time, getting suitcases up/down was a lengthy process.
Staff: They were friendly enough, but no one was going out of their way to help you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Director General at Petit Palace Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear guest,
Firstly thank you for your comments as it helps us to improve day by day.

I feel all the inconveniences we have caused you and make your stay at our hotel did not meet your expectations. We take note all the comments we made in order to improve our facilities and services.

If you appreciate that you are traveling back to Madrid, contacted so that we can show that the experiences we have lived in our hotel, not the usual.

Thank you very much and best regards
Eva García Soltero, Manager Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

In June of 2012, our family of five (3 boys, 11, 8 & 8) stayed in a family room with a double bed and a bunk bed. The room was small but well designed. The bathroom was spacious and nicely decorated. It was nice to have a laptop and the small TV worked adequately. Breakfast buffet was nice and simple. Staff seemed young and helpful enough. The best thing about this hotel is how centrally located it is to everything. You can walk to Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayo, museums, and everything. Madrid is truly a wonderful city for walkers. We dragged our kids everywhere on foot. Who wants to stay inside a small hotel room when in Madrid? Traveling Family from Berkeley, CA

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimsusun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Dear Kimsusun,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel.
I am delighted to read such a gleaming report of our service and facilities from one of our guests!!!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the in room laptop, our central position and all rest of services were of help to you.
We do hope you find the time to return to Madrid and stay with us again, you will be very welcome!
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#121 of 442 in Madrid
3,597 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Centro
Quatro Puerta del Sol Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
#106 of 442 in Madrid
829 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Alcala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Alcala

Address: Calle Virgen de los Peligros 2 | (Esquina con Alcala, 23), 28014 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Petit Palace Alcala Torre)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £80 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Alcala 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hotel Petit Palace Alcala!! The hotel is situated it the heart of the city centre, in the well known "Alcala" street, right next to the famous "Puerta del Sol" in the historic and monumental district of the city. The outstanding building is a replica of a well known sky scraper found in Chicago and has a total of 12 floors, allowing privileged views of Madrid from the top 5 floors. All of the 60 modern rooms are equipped with the latest technological innovations; like hydro-massage showers, free Wifi Premium connection. Free use of Ipad (under request) With a complete renovation in 2008, the hotel is proud to offer comfortable accommodation with modern, designer furniture and decoration. Our friendly staff will be more than happy to advise you on the best restaurants and shopping and possibilities to reserve local excursions. Double, triple or quadruple, with views of the city or interior - don't hesitate to contact us with your special preferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Petit Palace Alcala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Alcala Torre Hotel Madrid
Petit Palace Alcala Torre Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing