We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was a tourist attraction in it's own right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Silken Puerta America
Ranked #109 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hotel was a tourist attraction in it's own right”
Reviewed 16 July 2010

We stayed in a twin room on the 9th floor that was designed by Richard Gluckman. The room was lovely, although perhaps not great for bathroom privacy if you're travelling with friends. We enjoyed admiring the design aspects of the hotel. We made the most of the rooftop pool and gym and complimentary drinks at the bar, but avoided the pricey restaurant. On the weekends the ground floor bar and rooftop club seems to be a happening place, but with great sound proofing we weren't disturbed in our room. Probably the only annoyance was the noice that came in from the lobby/hallway. The entrance door didn't seem to have great noise insulation.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnynzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,267
    927
    308
    113
    74
See reviews for
247
1,345
137
601
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

To be honest I can't remember which architect designed my room, what I do remember, is that i moved from the 10th floor (Japanese architect) to the 6th floor (English architect) because the 10th was just too dark in the room.

The hotel is pretty funky, they give you an album of all the rooms and let you select which floor you would like to stay on (within your price range of course). I asked to change and they were only too happy to help, no fuss.

The rooms are all pretty cool, the ones on the 6th floor had really cool lighting and an open bathroom.. i really enjoyed my stay there. I was on business, so not really in the room much, but it was still pretty good.

Great bar on the top floor, quite pricey tho. I didn't get to check anything else out, not even the breakfast.
I would probably go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anuj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

I stayed in Silken Puerta America for two nights with my girlfriend. Each of the hotel’s twelve storeys is designed in a unique style by a different designer or architect. During check-in at the hotel you will be presented with a folder that shows the style of the rooms on each floor and you can choose the floor which you like best (some of the floors will have a higher room rate). We chose the second floor designed by Norman Foster. On this floor the walls are “tiled” with white leather and the rooms are furnished with modern design classics. One side of the room has an illumated sideboard of translucent marble along the whole length of the room. It functions as desk on one end of the room and holds the sinks in the bathroom on the other end. The bathroom is open plan, so it might not be suitable for non-couples (toilet has a door though). There is a big bed, a cupboard and a safe. Light can be dimmed to four different ambiances, and there is a control for airco as well as for electric blinds for the big window. The hotel also offers a pool, steamroom and gym. We didn’t try any of the restaurants (breakfast was quite expensive) or bars in the hotel. The roof terrace bar is apparently very good though (unfortunately we didn’t have terrace weather). The location of the hotel is not optimal: it takes about 15 mins by taxi to the city center (~20 EUR) or a metro ride of about 25 mins (station is a few hundred meters away). Service and cleanliness where impeccable. All in all this is a great hotel with good service, nice rooms and amazing design the only catch being the location outside the city center.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hickory8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

It is important to know which design you are comfortable with as each floor has different design by different architect/designer.

Tips: I have moved from Plasma Studio, Zaha Hadid to Ron Arad within my stay. I will explain why in a bit. I would recommend Ron Aron (white).

Why Ron Arad instead of Plasma Studio or Zaha Hadid?
Arad's room has the most creative and unusual layout ever as all furniture and utilities are designed as A PIECE being placed in the middle of the room but it is surprisingly practical and comfortable. The round-shaped bed is huge and the remote-controlled projection screen turns the room into some sort of funky home-theater-like space. Intelligent/Smart system embedded. Huge bathtub and nice shower. The design itself is the joy of living in this room.

I almost kill myself in Plasma Studio's room because of all the sharp edges even though I have to admit Plasma Studio has provided the most visually stimulating design for the hotel but it is best to keep it as installation.

Whereby Hadid's room is again another installation-like space and you just need to watch out every move within the room.

*HIGHLY RECOMMENDED: (even you are not staying in this hotel)
Dine in the Michelin-starred restaurant on ground level, MUST NOT MISS the Cochinillo Asado (Roast Suckling Pig) here! It is the best in Madrid indeed! The restaurant's decorated with with leather and rich woods, providing a cozy, meticulously lit space for dining experience but it is the top-notch service and foods to die for!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shinito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Totally brilliant, right up my alley. Were this hotel located in the heart of Madrid it would probably be #1 on the Tripadvisor list, so maybe it's just as well. You pretty much need to take a cab here from the airport, but once here, it is easy to take the subway into the city. It's pretty much all been said, but I really was dazzled by the different themes and looks on each floor.
As to people who have said it can be a little intimidating to stay here if you aren't gorgeous and 25 years old, I can sort of see that. It was party central when we were staying here with the entire outdoor restaurant taken over by a group of fabulous looking 20-somethings, but I personally thought it was fun to have them around.
The restaurant was delicious for dinner, and the atmosphere brilliant. We had one sort of strange ham thing that we couldn't chew, but I am giving that a pass for some reason because it was otherwise a great experience and fun, fun hotel. I will definitely stay here again. We were on floor 7, the Ron Arad rooms. Loved, loved, loved it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattkorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

We stayed at the Silken Puerta America as part of our visit to Madrid during New Year 2010. The hotel is pretty unique in that each floor is designed by a different designer and the rooms reflect the theme for each floor. We were on the 10th floor which was designed by a Japanese designer Isozaki and our room was lovely with a great view of the city of Madrid.

We visited each floor of the hotel and I highly recommend that anyone staying at the hotel do that. It's very interesting to see the different floors and the different designers and the imagination they have brought to the different floors. One floor for instance had a spaceship theme and all the rooms were designed like spaceships. The top floor with the bar and the walkway with the glass floor is also pretty cool. The view from there was astounding.

There's a fitness centre on the top floor with a heated pool so we could swim even in December, so that was pretty nice as well.

The only downside of this hotel is that the location is a bit out of the main part of the city, but it is about 200m from a subway station so getting around isn't too bad.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rumfucius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, FL
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

The Silken Puerta America is a twelve story building that is a short walk to the Metro station. Each floor has a different architect and motif. We stayed on the 10th floor with Japanese decor. The room was done in red and black. There was a platform bed and a wooden soaking tub in the bathroom. It was somewhat minimalist, reflecting the Japanese influence. There was ample drawer and hanging space. We had dinner in the hotel one night - very good, but costly. Enjoyed the bar on the ground floor several times. We loved having breakfast around the corner and down the slight hill at the Cerveceria Jamoneria on Clara del Rey. This is a neighborhood restaurant. We seemed to be the only Americans, but were greeted in a friendly manner by the people who worked there.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLFloridagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#95 of 435 in Madrid
2,083 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#34 of 435 in Madrid
2,094 reviews
Arguelles
Melia Madrid Princesa
Melia Madrid Princesa
#64 of 435 in Madrid
2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#99 of 435 in Madrid
867 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#18 of 435 in Madrid
1,910 reviews
Silken Puerta de Madrid
#186 of 435 in Madrid
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Puerta America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Puerta America

Property: Silken Puerta America
Address: Avenida America 41, 28002 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Madrid
#76 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#79 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#133 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Silken Puerta America 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Silken Puerta America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Puerta America Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing