We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous design, but fails on basics such as sleep quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silken Puerta America
Ranked #109 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Fabulous design, but fails on basics such as sleep quality”
Reviewed 24 October 2010

I stayed at this hotel in October 2010 on business.

The fare from Madrid airport to the hotel was 25 Euros. The hotel itself is well situated for Madrid - there is a shopping mall just a few minutes walk away.

The hotel itself is a tower block with interesting neon lighting down the side of it - more on that later! There is a taxi rank directly outside it, so transport was never a problem.

Checkin was excellent - cheerful and friendly staff, who spoke excellent English. They were able to answer all my questions, and were extremely helpful - when I needed to print off my boarding pass for my return flight, they did it then and there. WELL DONE!

This is very much a designer or boutique hotel - the owners have let the designer be very creative with a 2001 science fiction theme. When I got out of the lift on the 8th floor, it was stepping into an episode of UFO, or on to the set of 2001: A Space Odyessy. There was a strange looking sofa outside the lift but! it had a sign on it saying "please do not sit on this." As with so many things with this hotel, it *looks* good, but isn't really practical.

The corridors to the rooms follow the same space age design - white, with curved walls - and the doors to the rooms are like airlocks, where you have to out your key to a sensor to open it. The corridors were not very well lit, and to be honest I found them quite eerie.

The room itself was very unusual - EVERYTHING was white! Walls, bed, net curtains, chairs... you name it! The layout was very odd - a double bed was bang in the middle of the room, facing the window, so you had to walk round it. There was a very thin work bench with a single chair - this looked good, but was too narrow for any meaningful work to be done on it. Internet access was free - WELL DONE!

The bath was right next to the bed (!) and shielded off by a couple of layers of white shower curtains drawn round it. It was an odd shape too - like a large flowerpot, with a shower at one end. Despite its appearances, this did work very well, although water did run easily from it into the rest of the room. The toilet was sealed off by a glass door, although I was slightly bemused at the presence of a phone in there.

I ordered room service, which was quickly delivered, and good quality food - WELL DONE!

Now on to the bad things.

EVERYTHING in the room was white - that means that scuffs and dirt showed up really clearly. There was a storage area (behind another white shower curtain) which was quite badly scuffed and marked - NOT GOOD.

The mechanism for using the lights was not clearly outlined - for the first 5 minutes, the lights kept switching off, and I had to run back to the sensor to get them back on. Eventually I managed to lean my room card against it, and that kept them on - NOT GOOD.

The bed was very hard, and I didn't enjoy sleeping on it - NOT GOOD.

The TV was mounted in the ceiling and lowered via buttons - very dramatic - but the position of it wasn't great - if you wanted to watch TV in bed there was no headrest to give you any support, so you got a crick in your neck. NOT GOOD.

The worst part of the room was that it had NO CURTAINS - just thick (white) net sheeting at the window. This meant that when you switched the lights off to go to sleep, any light from outside came straight into the room - and because all the surfaces are white, the light was bounced right round the room. Just to make things worse, my room was directly next to the neon lighting on the outside of the hotel, so my entire room was bathed in a strange amber glow that was bright enough for me read by! I did NOT sleep well - NOT GOOD!

Breakfast the next morning was good - an excellent choice of food, and good service.

I travel a lot with business and whilst it is very stylish, I simply couldn't recommend it for a business traveler due to the issues with the room layout, lighting and lack of sleep quality.

PROS
Stylish
Good price
Good food
Free internet access
Excellent reception and restaurant staff

CONS
Dark corridors
Style over substance
Difficult room lighting
Strange and inefficient room layout
Hard beds
No way to control/restrict external light
Poor sleep quality

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coopuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,267
    927
    308
    113
    74
See reviews for
247
1,345
137
601
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Definitely YES! I picked 8th floor (love the Space Odessy 2001). Each floor is amazing, worth doing the night tour for yourself from bottom to the top. Restaurant excellent (in Mich.guide). The pool is small, the steam room can be more....steamy? The bar downstairs is much better, than the bar on the 13th floor. Taxis are cheap, cheap, so don't let yourself being stopped by the distance of the screaming, touristy, overcrowded center :) Enjoy

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictorVictorVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

The hotel Puerta America is a really exclusive luxury Hotel in Madrid. We stayed this hotel 3 nights and considered the hotel was beautiful and flawlessly centered for both work and tourist undertakings 15 min cab travel to/from the airport, 3 minute walk to the shopping center (loved the metro!) and/or a 10 min cab travel downtown.
As you will read in other reconsiders of the hotel, each floor was conceived by a distinct architect and has a absolutely exclusive layout and feel. My room was established on the second floor, conceived by Norman Foster, in an ultra-modern white cowhide and stainless iron alloy motif. (The partitions were white, padded cowhide - got rather a joke about getting put in the padded room.) The hotel staff are all bilingual, so my very negligible Spanish was not a hindrance.
The concierge table was cooperative designing tourist trips, aiding with journey arrangements and making evening meal reservations. They suggested bistros both inside and out-of-doors the hotel and all were rather good, particularly the MAD bistro (in the hotel) and Chat flan, a 10 min cab travel away.Only 2 negatives: First, the morning meal buffet was magnificent, but at 35 Euros per individual ($52 US) was awfully overpriced. Second, the hallway carpeting on my floor was awfully stained and frayed; decisively out of location in such a high-quality hotel. All things advised, it was a magnificent, exclusive location to stay, and a large alternate to downtown hotels.Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffreyevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

I had a great stay in this hotel. At check-in you can choose between a dozen or so designer-rooms: great fun! Excellent amenities. The location is somewhat out of the centre, but the Metro is close and the hotel can be easilly reached in under 15 minutes form the airport.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLBanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

I stayed with my partner in the Puerta America hotel on September.
The experience was incredible.
We chose the Zaha Hadid room and it was amazing. It was like being in a movie. Very spacious and comfortable room.
The hotel staff was friendly and ready to help with everything, except on the bar. The waiters here were not very helpful.
It is a pricy hotel, but for a treat is lovely.
Location wise, it is a bit farther away from the city centre, but the public transport is good.
We did a tour around the hotel as well, to see the rest of the design.
Definately worth going.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrodri81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

We stayed in a twin room on the 9th floor that was designed by Richard Gluckman. The room was lovely, although perhaps not great for bathroom privacy if you're travelling with friends. We enjoyed admiring the design aspects of the hotel. We made the most of the rooftop pool and gym and complimentary drinks at the bar, but avoided the pricey restaurant. On the weekends the ground floor bar and rooftop club seems to be a happening place, but with great sound proofing we weren't disturbed in our room. Probably the only annoyance was the noice that came in from the lobby/hallway. The entrance door didn't seem to have great noise insulation.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnynzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

To be honest I can't remember which architect designed my room, what I do remember, is that i moved from the 10th floor (Japanese architect) to the 6th floor (English architect) because the 10th was just too dark in the room.

The hotel is pretty funky, they give you an album of all the rooms and let you select which floor you would like to stay on (within your price range of course). I asked to change and they were only too happy to help, no fuss.

The rooms are all pretty cool, the ones on the 6th floor had really cool lighting and an open bathroom.. i really enjoyed my stay there. I was on business, so not really in the room much, but it was still pretty good.

Great bar on the top floor, quite pricey tho. I didn't get to check anything else out, not even the breakfast.
I would probably go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anuj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#95 of 435 in Madrid
2,083 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#34 of 435 in Madrid
2,094 reviews
Arguelles
Melia Madrid Princesa
Melia Madrid Princesa
#64 of 435 in Madrid
2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#99 of 435 in Madrid
867 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#18 of 435 in Madrid
1,910 reviews
Silken Puerta de Madrid
#186 of 435 in Madrid
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Puerta America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Puerta America

Property: Silken Puerta America
Address: Avenida America 41, 28002 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Madrid
#76 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#79 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#133 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Silken Puerta America 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Silken Puerta America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Puerta America Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing