We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but somewhat cold”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Abalu Madrid Centro
Ranked #322 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
New Britain, Connecticut
1 review
“Nice hotel but somewhat cold”
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Hotel Abalu June 2013...overall is a cute small hotel in the center of everything.The room to me had nice size and I enjoy the decor...Some of the staff was very nice and friendly others was cold and no even greet...which I found to be rude since you in this type of business ....people need to practice a little more customer service..but overall it was an ok experience...but I'm not planning on staying on this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yisela204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    126
    65
    41
    58
See reviews for
38
229
26
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Rooftop review - I attended a Johnny Walker Black Party on the rooftop and what a time, good staff, better drinks and a spectacular view. It was quite the place and there was plenty of room to socialize and unwind from a long week with some very good whiskey.

Room review - On another note, was impressed by the rooms, totally new.

So why the 4 stars? There were a couple of issues that were a little annoying, e.g. the towel holder in the bathroom was coming out of the wall but not sure about my kid.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

First time reviewing a hotel but wanted to warn people. Horrible service, rooms need work, lots of smoke and mirrors to their actual photos, housekeeping very good, nothing seems to be repaired from what are obviously old damaged items, no maps to help navigate area and finally....got locked out of our safe (my error) and they said that they would send someone to open it while we were out of the room sightseeing...really??!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmyReimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Tokyo, Japan
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Basis are perfectly stablished: excellent cleaning services, good and friendly staff, good location and a lot of services that you will not probably use, but they have them as airport shuttle, 24h room service, car rental... but they have created the most amazing interior design I have seen with my own eyes in a hotel...

Fantastic suspended bed from the ceiling, stoned flooring, mac computers in room, silk towels and sheets.... we really fall in love with this hotel...

Do not doubt it, the best option for madrid

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tioko m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 2 nights. Upon walking into the room it was very humid and we couldn't get the air conditioner working. We were going out to explore so we asked if they could fix the air while we are out. They said no problem. When we came back it was not fixed and we angerly went to the desk asking for them to fix it or let us switch rooms. They said there were no more rooms and we could get not get a refund. Once we got serious and told them we were going to switch hotels they got people on it and it was fixed in 20 minutes. It also wasn't just a little hot, the bed was damp because of the humidity. Other than that everything was great. Big ceiling, shower was very big and modern. Flowers on the bed was a nice touch. Also it was very close to the noviciado metro stop.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We had a short stay only in Madrid for our daughters 21st birthday so needed to make good decisions on restaurants and getting around. The staff at Abalu were incredibly helpful and gave us first class advice on where to go. I would recommend this hotel strongly, great location also.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shnibser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I enjoyed the ultra modern design concept of the decor in contrast to the ornate architecture of the historic district. I also liked the proximity to shopping, sites, and transportation. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
7 Islas Hotel
7 Islas Hotel
#79 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Centro
HOTEL OPERA
HOTEL OPERA
#140 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Silken Puerta America
#99 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#88 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Chueca
Lusso Infantas
Lusso Infantas
#86 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abalu Madrid Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abalu Madrid Centro

Property: Hotel Abalu Madrid Centro
Address: Calle Pez 19, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#175 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Abalu Madrid Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel in Madrid's Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abalu Madrid Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalu Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing