We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“on the top”
Review of Hotel Abalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Abalu
Ranked #310 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The circumstances of your travel coupled with your expectations play a significant role in how you rate your experience at a hotel. Right? Since I stayed at the Hotel Abalu for work in perfectly splendid and cool weather, my experience was exactly what I was looking for.

History blended with modern accommodations is what had me comfortable throughout my stay. Added bonus was the complimentary bike offered in the lobby. Kimpton always has the greatest extras.

The locals frequent the restaurant for brunch on the weekends. Windows open, live music - yes and yes please.

The location is great - I was close enough to the Palmer House to walk where all of the other fellow conference goers were staying. I enjoyed the extra privacy offered at an amazing boutique hotel - It was perfect.

They offer coffee in the morning, wine at happy hour, and both are easy to get to from the elevator. The room was clean and cozy - I slept through the night which almost never happens at hotels.

This is my go to place when next in the area. It exceeded all of my expectations.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jordan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

it's very good hotel , and the service was great , the staff were very helpfull and polite , you feel shy because of the good service and it's located in good area , it's close to shopping area and to the restaurants and bars ,i recommend every one to go and stay there .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alaa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

After we had booked all of our holidays for this year we realised that Jay had a day off work left over, so we thought that instead of him taking it off and doing nothing with it, we would spend a weekend in Madrid.

Trawling around the various websites, we came across the Abalu Hotel, which was reasonably priced and seemed to be of a good standard judging by other reviews. It was also stated as being a 1 minute walk from the Gran Via . So we booked it for two nights from the 14th December
.
When we arrived in Madrid, we had to make our own way to the hotel, and after a bit of confusion, we finally made it to the hotel.

Location
=======
The Hotel is situated on the Pez street, very close the Metro line, all other attractions are easily accessible. The hotel can also be reached by bus line 2 and by taxi.

The Hotel and room
===============
On entering the hotel we were very impressed, there is a reception area, with lots of seating, and a small bar and lounge area. The hotel has 37 rooms, over 5 floors, which are of a good size, breakfast is also provided at an extra cost of 5,9 euros per person. We checked in and were shown to our room.

Our room (room 108) was right behind the reception area. To get to the rooms on other floors, there is a lift, and there are rooms available for those who use a wheelchair.
In the room we had a double bed, which was very comfortable, and had clean sheets, and also an extra pillow each. There is a fitted wardrobe, which had around 10 clothes hangers and several shelves. There was also a desk, two chairs, and bed side tables.

Also in the room, we had a satellite TV, fridge (mini bar), and a direct dial telephone. There was also air conditioning .
There is safe in the room, but each guest can put valuables in the hotel safe. We put our passports into it, they were put in an envelope and sealed in front of us.

Each room is ensuite, some having showers, others having baths. We had a bath in ours. Although the bathroom was quite large, it was big enough to use easily and was also extremely clean. A small basket of toiletries is also provided. There is also a hairdryer in the bathroom, which is ok.

For the business people out there, there is also a conference room for 15 to 20 people. And for those of you with wireless enabled laptops, you will be able to connect to the internet in your room for a small fee.

The reception area is manned 24 hours a day, and over three days we saw five receptionists in total, they were all very friendly and spoke good English.
If like us, you are not going straight home after you check out, there is a locked luggage room that you will be able to use.

One bad point about the hotel is that it can be fully booked so you can not check in before 15.00 pm but we read the same about a lot of hotels.

Small bad point is, is that there is no currency exchange at the hotel.

Even though breakfast is available at the hotel, we didn't have it, instead deciding to go to the café on the corner by the hotel. There are plenty of restaurants around so you will not go hungry, but we found food and drink to be a bit on the expensive side.
Tariff
====

We booked our break on Expedia, and paid £200 each for two nights .

The tariff varies whether you book via the internet or not. All rooms are priced per room per night, direct bookings (using the website or telephone )seem to be cheaper as we have been told.

Via the internet a double room with single occupancy is £70 (99 Euros), double and twin rooms are between £77 and £80.50 (110 - 115 Euros and a triple room is £112 (160 Euros).

Final Thought
==========
We thoroughly enjoyed our break, and were very pleased with the Abalu Hotel. We would gladly stay there again, and I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicole f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The Abalu Hotel is an average hotel in a wonderful neighborhood. Malasaña, the neighborhood where is located is amazing, the best stores, creative spaces, nice bars, and magnificent eateries. The hotel, even thou the staff is great, polite and at your service any time, had some problems with the communications. During our 9 days stay we never had telephone service or internet access. I must make clear that we didn't stay in the hotel premises, but in an apartment across the street, in a building the have fix for that.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Upon walking in the entrance, you are greeted with friendly, helpful staff, and surrounded with a colorful changing neon staircase and moon-themed décor everywhere.

This tastefully designed boutique hotel has a lot of character with distinct cosmic flair. The rooms are comfortable and well-maintained. Bring your beloved dog or cat to this pet-friendly hotel and he or she will be pampered and warmly received!

Don't forget to indulge in food and drinks at the Rooftop Terrace Bar. The Arch is visible in the distance of the STL backdrop. This is a nice, upscale, non-pretentious place to enjoy a a view of Madrid against the sunset and stars.

The Abalu Hotel is a fun place and I would recommend staying here to explore "One of the Great 10 cities in the world"!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in October while at a meeting. Location of the hotel is excellent - in an up and coming area with great bars nearby. The room was probably the worst designed room I have ever stayed in. The first room we were given was so small it would not have been possible for us to move, so they gave us a bigger room on the ground floor. There was no natural light in the room as the window faced directly into a tiny courtyard with other rooms looking in on us. The bath was placed in the centre of the room right in the path to the thankfully partitioned toilet. There was just a curtain to separate you from the bed while washing in the washbasins - which had no taps! and the shower. The shower when wet was so slippy it was impossible to use. There was no hot water most mornings anyway. The so called breakfast was so poor we didnt bother with it, especially as there was no coffee on two of the mornings as the machine was broken. The tea and coffee making facility in the room had no tea or coffee and it was never replenished even though we repeatedly requested it. The hotel has spent a fortune on over the top designer style which is inpractical and sadly uncomfortable - I would never ever stay in a hotel like this again. Having said all that - the staff although unable to help in anyway, were at lease polite and friendly. The location is excellent - pity someone does not open another hotel nearby - and Madrid is an absolutley fantastic place to go for a few days.....

Room Tip: Leave and stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MRTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
habal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Abalu, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear customer...

We really appreciate the time spent in sharing the review with the rest of this community.

As you have been upgraded into a Junior suite as agreded with you it is totally normal to have insuite baths, that is what the standard says and together with size changes a double room into a Junior suite.

As you probably know room sizes in hotels woldwide be approved by tourism authorities so even double petit rooms have enough space for 2 people as the minimun size must be 12 sqm + 4 sqm for the toilet (having said that I must add that your subjective feeling of lack of space can be real), that depends on type of house, town and country you live and also as you are familiar to USA hotels you will find the same problem in all the hotels in europe (the standard is smaller that in the usa).

I recommend you to book always suites (they are large enough with bedroom + living room and not insuite bathroom that you do not like), in your case avoid Junior suites, for other guests these rooms are the best but obviously likes and perceptions depend on personal aspects.

Our company provides a great range of presidential suites starting from 100 sqm up to 200 sqm, we are probably the hotel with largest suites in town at a very reasonable price...

Next time you come to Madrid or any other cities where our company had a hotel we encourage you to rent one of this wonderful suites that for sure are going to reach your expectations.

Please do not hesitate to contact us back for any further questions or concerns regarding this issue.

All the best

Jessica Oliva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

During a recent stay at the Abalu (not my first) there was a technical issue with one of the reading lamps that couldn't be resolved during my time there. The issue resulted in some discomfort and detracted significantly from our enjoyment of the hotel.
I was quite taken aback by the response of the Hotel's management and as a result, I have no hesitation in giving it a fully deserved five star rating. It is an exceptionally comfortable place, quite quaint in terms of its decor but its level of service truly set it apart. You won't find a more welcoming place in the center for sure (and probably not in the whole of Madrid!) Friendly, helpful, not at all stuffy and they always seem to be there when you need them and not when you don't!
Outstanding!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#40 of 437 in Madrid
1,907 reviews
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#94 of 437 in Madrid
966 reviews
Malasana
7 Islas Hotel
7 Islas Hotel
#68 of 437 in Madrid
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
HOTEL OPERA
HOTEL OPERA
#139 of 437 in Madrid
1,216 reviews
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#112 of 437 in Madrid
2,158 reviews
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abalu

Address: Calle Pez 19, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#174 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £70 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Abalu 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel in Madrid's Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Abalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalu Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing