We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very bad”
Review of Hotel Abalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Abalu
Ranked #306 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We booked two rooms for three nights relying on the recommendation in the approx two year old Swiss inflight magazin about Madrid - unfortunately without having checked comments and ratings on tripadvisor. In addition to the two rooms we booked we looked into two other rooms - and the hotel is rather small and does not have too many rooms anyhow. We strongly recommend to avoid the place. Many rooms are situated around a dark shabby inner courtyard with a horrible smell which did not allow to open the windows. The hotel tries to compensate the very poor quality of the buidling with some more or less fancy decoration but this is in our view really hopeless.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
habal, Director General at Hotel Abalu, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest....

So sorry to hear that from you...

We actually offer different room cathegories as different customers search for different things, if you were searching for view we do have one type with balconies, we do make a lot of emphasis on cathegorization and think we do it quite clearly in our web page, but you have chosen the services of a booker through the internet and they are obviously not so much concerned about getting the right room for each customer.

Think that in madrid buildings were constructed (as ours) in order to avoid the significant heat of the summer using natural cooling of circulating air through patios or yards, that worked pretty well in the past although nowadays we do have air con it is part of our architectural and the way the spaniards live.

Probably you are use to other constructions of your country that for sure most of tourist would appreciate but from time to time just a smal amount of visitors will not find it so attractive unless a small explanation of how weather influences on how we build.

Next time you come to madrid please choose a room to street (normally more noisy) as all the hotels have the same type of rooms, to nice yards or street (but keep in mind that streets are narrow, they were also intented to be that way to avoid the sun coming down during the hot and long days of sumeer)

Hope I had been able to clarify a little bit more and expect you will give us the change to show you how nice and beautiful rooms we do have according to your likes.

All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Abalu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

We reserved an apartment for our family of five (children ages 9, 10 and 11), but for some reason it was not available and we were moved to this hotel across the street. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms and bathrooms each had interesting and unique designs. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were quiet. There was garage parking nearby, plenty of small cafes, bars and shops nearby. It is walking distance to theaters, and exactly one mile to Parque del Buen Retiro, and just a bit farther to the Prado museum.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The hotel Abalu is without a doubt the worst hotel I have ever stayed in!
The guys who started this business must have been really enthusiastic to make it a hip, fun and modern place, making sure there are mini screens, useless beamers and 'extravagant' (actually tasteless and cheap) furniture everywhere without any coordination or sensible thought put into it. Even worse, while trying to afford all these things, at some point they must have realized they were out of money and couldn't afford the necesseties to make a hotel room agreeable: the walls of our room were covered in mold, the air was humid and smelled extremely bad. The only possibility to aerate the room was through a window that opended up on a small, dark and dirty courtyard which did not actually smell any better, but at least the air was relatively fresh and somewhat breathable. The walls are paperthin, and not rarely you will be woken up by toiletflushing, showering or simple conversations happening in rooms next or above of yours.
The bathroom facilities were relatively clean, ignoring the mold in the corners of the shower. Also the little shampoo and shower gel bottles offered were expired since 2011.
The only positve thing to say about this hotel is its location. You are situated in a very fun, lively and quite central part of Madrid. This does however in no way make up from the horrible experience I made in this place. It is a rip-off and will to a certain extent ruin the memories of exciting Madrid.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pfleiderer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

What a great find! A lovely, quirky hotel full of thoughtful touches. Yes 'rynan d', the reception staff are friendly - "and beautiful!" I totally agree.
Its a truly unique hotel which I want to share with everyone, but then perhaps it should be a closely-guarded secret in case it gets too busy!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DottieColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

If the Prince of Persia were to have married Queen Victoria and they had their honeymoon in Madrid, this hotel would be their love child.

Or something like that. It's a sumptuous mix of Victoriana in India, transported to Madrid. The entrance itself is just striking. Before you get to the lobby there's a faux crystal chandelier suspended over 5 tall, velvet armchairs, gathered in a circle as if they are waiting to host an elaborate meeting of great minds.

The lobby is nice and big, the reception staff very friendly (and beautiful). It leads into the restaurant and café, with free wifi available and no faffy codes.

The rooms upstairs are a bit more standard, but I mean, it's only where I needed to rest my head. For 118 euros, in the very centre of madrid, it was great value. The room was on the small side but they have suites you should pay for, all with minibar. But really I didnt need anything else. All the facilities worked - the shower was strong (I've had so many "dribbles on your head" experiences before). The heating was good, not too hot, not too cold. Like Goldilocks with her final bowl of porridge, the hotel was perfectly comfortable and did me no wrong. Lovely.

But for the downstairs luscious luxury, the friendly staff, and the central location it can only be 4 stars.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Next time I am booking my stay here again! What a fun-funky hotel!

I stayed here a while back on my list visit to Madrid and was looking for a more affordable hotel that was not too far from everything when i found this GEM! So so so much more affordable than other hotels in the same area, walking distance to sooo much, and the rooms are super fun!

There is also a hot tub and a gym (read: one treadmill and a few weights) in the basement, which I was too busy exploring all the good eats in the city to find time to work out!

During my stay, we had the 'room service' breakfast. I would skip that next time...it was cold by the time it was delivered to our room, and frankly not very remarkable. There is, however, this fun little place around the corner, Pez Baker, which is cheap (by city standards), and delicious for breakfast.

Also, super bonus perk: while I was here I saw Sixto Rodriguez in the elevator--he was doing a show that week! (If you don't know who that is, go watch 'Searching for Sugarman' -- awesome documentary!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Nice place to stay. The breakfast was outstanding. The staff did an outstanding job keeping the place clean and in generally nice shape. We had two dogs with us and went out to dinner. They started barking in the room and the staff called, as I suspected they would. They were understanding and polite and we got back there ASAP to shut the mutts up.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#41 of 438 in Madrid
1,886 reviews
Malasana
7 Islas Hotel
7 Islas Hotel
#70 of 438 in Madrid
1,340 reviews
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
HOTEL OPERA
HOTEL OPERA
#138 of 438 in Madrid
1,188 reviews
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#102 of 438 in Madrid
2,137 reviews
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#96 of 438 in Madrid
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abalu

Address: Calle Pez 19, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#171 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £74 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Abalu 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel in Madrid's Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Abalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalu Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing