We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal Oriente
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Room Mate Mario(Madrid)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
HOTEL OPERA(Madrid)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Room Mate Laura(Madrid)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveller rating
212
213
38
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
213
38
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopera metro stationroyal palaceexcellent locationplaza mayorusd nightsingle roomcalle arenalmadrid operaopera housefirst floorbasic accommodationdouble paned windowslight sleepergreat for people watchingkey cardsmall fridgewalls are thin
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 476 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2013

we stayed for 3 nights in early sept and found the staff helpful, room and en-suite very clean. Room a little small, but no different to what you get in London and there you would pay twice as much. Bed was a bit too firm. You are close to all the tourist sights and plenty of places to eat out or buy breakfast, sandwiches etc. We had a room at the year and with the window open it was fairly quiet and we didn't need to have the air con on. We would go back here.

Room Tip: we were happy with a rear room away from the busy plaza
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antoinette92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Very nice hostal in the center of Madrid close to Metro and everything else. Excellent service, very clean, great value for money. Room was larger than expected after reading the reviews here on Tripadvisor. Only complaint we had was some construction noise every morning, but it wasn't really a problem and it didn't start until around 9 am. Definitely staying here next time we go to Madrid.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oyvindb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I have stayed at a few different budget hotels in Madrid , however none came close to the quality and great value of this one in particular. Located right in the centre of Madrid which makes all the majour tourist attractions accessible on foot, clean and very comfortable rooms with daily very efficient room service and above all very friendly receptionists and cleaning staff maked the stay just wonderful. Hope you enjoy your stay there. Que lo disfrutes :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ozjetsetter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I stayed at this place last month and the experience surpassed my expectations. Everything well worth the price I paid. The quality of food, services and accommodation we get here is remarkable. I was on a business trip, so have not spent much time at this place, but I think the property has a lot to explore and is very beautiful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JakLipnicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We picked this hostal because it was very close to the Opera where we were going to see the magnificent Edita Gruberova and because it was cheap and had mostly good reviews on TripAdvisor.

My friend and I both had single rooms that were very much alike except they gave me (the woman) a room that was very pink while my friend got a room which was mostly white - funny!
Apart from that the rooms were similar: very small with a small but comfortable bed, a table and a chair and a telephone which came in handy when we wanted to discuss our plans.
There is a small tv - we didn't try it.
There is WiFi - did try *that* and it was reasonably fast and free.

The bathroom has a toilet, a sink and a shower that worked well but if you're not a thin person it may be uncomfortable.
Me, at 5.4" and 130 pounds could just move around.
I wonder how a big person would be able to do that.

Because we had been warned by other reviewers that the noise from the street could be disturbing we asked for rooms overlooking the court.
The view wasn't much but there was no street noise.

When we were there the building was being renovated so there was a big blue veil covering the front except for the door - that looked a bit depressing.

Staff was nice and friendly and spoke enough English to understand our needs.

Overall: very basic room, great location, good price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDm452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews