We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location. Go for it.”
Review of Hostal Oriente

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Oriente
Ranked #108 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Situated just opposite the "Opera" metro station and in a perfect location for the city centre and sites.

Look out for the entrance - It is like an entrance to a block of flats and not a proper hotel entrance - just a doorway with the name of the hostal at first floor level. The reception is at first floor level with rooms above - a rather odd arrangement but the rooms are well appointed and comfortable enough. Can be noisy at night as so central so best to keep the windows shut - not a disadvantage as you can have the air conditioning on.

No breakfast but that is a good thing as you can get a good cheap breakfast nearby - e.g. go down near the Puerta del Sol.

Can leave your luggage in the hotel for the day if you have checked out

Recommended for a weekend stay

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthSomersetMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at Hostal Oriente for 5 nights in june. during that time we found the staff to be both friendly and efficient and always ready to assist or advise us. The room we stayed in was clean and adequately equipped for our needs (Air con, Tv, En suite bathroom), although not overly spacious the room was large enough for two people, and the room was cleaned and the beds made every day of our stay, the only minor points concerning our room were the view (our room was a back room, so the view from the window was an internal view), and the shower, mainly because it was one of these set over a bath in this case a really really small bath, and it was slightly awkward and dangerous to enter and exit. Aside from these minor annoyances we had no complaints about our stay at all, finding the hostal excellent value for money. The major plus point of Hostal Oriente is its location, which we found perfect for visiting most of Madrids sights. It is within a 100 meters from the metro station Opera, and only a 5 minute walk to the Palacio Real, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor & The Gran Via, a truly ideal location and one of the cheapest in the area as well. Would definetly go back and i recommend whole heartedly.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

I booked this hotel after reading other trip advisor recommendations and we were very happy with this little hotel. They have a small lift so one doesn't need to carry heavy suitcases upstairs. The little glasses in balcony was a bonus and the rooms clean and comfortable. There is a nice little cafe opposite for breakfast too.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2xKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

My fiancee and I stayed for three nights in May 10 and chose Oriente because we were on a budget. Initially we were worried sick as we thought it might be right on the borderline of being a hostel and a hotel but once we arrived we were very pleasantly surprised at how lovely this cheap little hotel was. The entry is a bit offputting as the reception is on the first floor of a building shared wth appartments but once you are inside the décor throughout the rooms and public areas is very nice and fresh and the whole place is spotlessly clean. The reception staff were very friendly although they had very little English but it was easy to make yourself understood. Our room was a pretty decent size and very modern with a good sized cupboard and a french window looking onto the street below that was excellent for people watching! Double glazed windows meant that the noise at night wasn't too bad at all. Although there was no breakfast there were drinks machines in the public area and the free internet was a nice touch. The best thing about this hotel thouhg was the location, right in the heart of the old city next to a metro station and minutes walk from the palace, cathederal, puerta del sol, plaza mayor and surrounded by restaurants and cafés. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone trying to do Madrid on a budget and who is only planning to use their hotel as a base while out sightseeing all day.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty1981Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

A great location and kept very clean. The rooms were what you would expect for the price the only thing that was missing a little is the reception did not speak much english but still tried to be helpful as they could.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brali060310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

This hotel is ideally placed, being less than a minutes walk away from Opera metro station. It takes approximately thirty minutes to get to the hotel from the airport metro. The hotel itself fronts on to Calle del Arenal which runs from Sol (city centre) to the Royal Theatre. The Royal Palace and the Cathedral are a short walk away, as is the Chocalaterie. Everything else is easily accessible via the metro or a slightly longer walk (i.e. 10 mins upwards). Inside the hotel you will climb the stairs or take the lift to reception which is on the first floor. The rooms are slightly compact but very clean and the bathroom had a good shower. There is a lot of tiles and stonework throughout the hotel which does allow the sound to carry. If you want a quieter room you will have to request one that does not have a view of the street, as the noise from the pedestrians continues into the early hours. I would stay at this hotel again out of season, but I might want to find a quieter location for peak party times.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sussexslanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

The location is on a touristy street/closed paved road, but if you are a tourist, it is perfect because of the shops and ATMs nearby. Also most of what you want to see in Madrid is at most a 20 minute walk away.

It's not a 5 star hotel but it offers a good, clean, and comfortable room with AC to rest and sleep in.

Go up 1 floor for the reception when entering the building. Was lost in the hallway before someone guided us upstairs. Also it's a safe building with locked entry.

Stayed in their Triple Room - it had 3 twin size beds w/en suite bath. The shower was like 3x3 ft, but I think this is typical of places this type. Room had a TV and a mini balcony that overlooked the street. Always clean with plenty of space.

The owner - I presume the man at reception, was nice and warned me about closing my bag. At night the owners sat and watched TV in the little open lounge/room. Had a phrasebook, but it was useless, however with hand signals and a few words, was able to convey that we needed to pay early and get a taxi at 3am.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
Thank moreboba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Las Fuentes
Hostal Las Fuentes
#87 of 438 in Madrid
631 reviews
Centro
Hostal Gala
Hostal Gala
#186 of 438 in Madrid
571 reviews
Centro
Hostal Comercial
Hostal Comercial
#230 of 438 in Madrid
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#163 of 438 in Madrid
633 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Main Street Madrid
Hostal Main Street Madrid
#54 of 438 in Madrid
538 reviews
Centro
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
#229 of 438 in Madrid
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Oriente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Oriente

Address: Calle Arenal 23, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#62 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#85 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £45 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Oriente 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hostal Oriente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriente Hostal Madrid
Oriente Hostal Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing