We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location,with some problems”
Review of Hostal Oriente

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Oriente
Ranked #77 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good location,with some problems”
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We spent 5 nights in the Hostel. It is in a very good location, the stuff is friendly, but....
Problem1 I booked a double room at Venere.com, but when we arrived, a sigle room was available. They arranged a double, but there it was a room out of order because the lack of the bathroom vent. In the shower there was some refuse....and the vent hood was missing.
Problem2 They did not fix the vent, so the bathroom was streamy, the towels did not dry, and when using a toilet, the smell stayed inside. And if someone smoked, you smell the cigarette throught the hole in the ceiling.
Problem3 The maid left the windows open, and when we arrived home at midnight, it was cold in the room, but there was no heating.
Problem4 One of the towels was dirty!!!!!!
It is only a hostel, but nice ,these problems are because the thoughtlessness of the stuff. (Except for the thin walls, you can hear everithing...) What a pity.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank András A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    200
    35
    8
    3
See reviews for
70
167
79
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

The location is great, 75M from the Opera metro station and near lots of good restaurents. If you go out of the hotel, turn right and take the 1st right a few yards down that road there is an all you can eat buffet restaurent for 8.95 (great value...)

The room was nice and clean but as we were located at the front it was a little bit noisy. They are reflooring the Opera square and the buidling work starts at 8:30 each morning. The staff was friendly, but couldn't speak any English however they were very pleasant and helpful. Wifi worked very well. We stayed there for 3 nights and payed about 82 eros for a three person room (no breakfast). I would definately stay at the hotel again, great location at a great price

Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BigVinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Great location! Located literality few steps away from the opera metro, we actually missed it when we reached; just keep a lookout for a pizza store, it's just right above it. Security's good as we have to use a security card to access the main door. Just that our room was on the 2nd floor and Hubby was worried about people climbing in; but there were none. Room was clean with towels and a small table for writing. Within walking distance to the royal palace and main square, plus there were lotsa eateries nearby. Desk staff were friendly and helpful and speak English. They also allowed us to keep our lugguage at their place after check-out. :)

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhyllisLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Everything you'd want - central location, clean, all mod cons like ensuite shower room with hair dryer, aircon, Wifi, room safe, flat screen TV and card keys, all of which is surprising for a hostel. Security better than a hotel because you need the key to enter the building, the hostel and your room. Our room was on the small side, but adequate, with plenty of closet space, a dressing table, two bedside tables and, for once, several easily accessible electrical points to plug in things like laptop, iron, mobile phone chargers, etc. The only down side is that the mattress was a bit hard and the walls are paper thin, making every single sound clearly audible. If you're a sound sleeper, that may not be a problem. I've been known to sleep through earthquakes, but four inconsiderate female guests in the room next door woke us each night upon their return in the wee hours from a drunken night out. To be fair, the night receptionist would intervene, but they were hard to control. If you have civilised fellow guests, you might be okay, but still, you can hear every other sound that's made in the hostel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boadicea-1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2010

The location is great, the room was nice and clean but since it was in the front it was a little bit noisy. The stuff was friendly, couldn't speak any English but still, tried to help as much as possible. Wifi worked nicely. We stayed there for 4 nights and payed about 85 eros a day for three people (no breakfast). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oppnoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prague
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2010

In brief - excellent location, nice, tidy rooms and very friendly, helpful staff. I really enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stepanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newfoundland Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Spent three nights in Madrid solo. Single room, compact but clean, no breakfast, wifi non existent in the room, used the computer on the second level, great location right on Calle del Arenal - so just steps to everything in any direction. Paid 41 euro for the weekday and 45 euro for weekend - no breakfast. Some of the staff speak English, others made the attempt.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Las Fuentes
Hostal Las Fuentes
#95 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Centro
Hostal Gala
Hostal Gala
#154 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#57 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#39 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,397 reviews
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#87 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#43 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Oriente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Oriente

Property: Hostal Oriente
Address: C Arenal 23, 1st Floor, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#62 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#85 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Oriente 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Oriente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriente Hostal Madrid
Oriente Hostal Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing