We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, perfect for few days away”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Oriente

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Oriente
Ranked #70 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
West Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, perfect for few days away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

In-depth review ahead, short version-cheap accommodation in a great location provided you're not looking for quality and service, ideal for short break.

Stayed here for 4 nights in mid-October, booked on web direct with hotel due to little or no price difference with other sites. Very easy to find, it can be seen as soon as you exit the Opera metro station that is just a few metres away (or rather it will be once again when construction work is finished around the square). I guess you could miss it if you are just walking by as the hostel signs are on the upper floors and only a small plaque outside the door along with a buzzer and keycard slot. Press the hostel bell if door is locked and you'll be buzzed in.

The hostel reception is on the first floor (or second in some places, one above the ground), there are around 20 steps to walk up (not steep at all) or you can use the small lift.

Check-in was easy enough although please note that the staff speak little or no English. The reception seemed better manned at night than during the day however there was normally someone not far away. One day the maid left us with no towels and we had a little difficulty trying to get across what we wanted (Lastminute's talking iPhone phase book came in handy here) so be prepared to muddle through although
they did have someone English speaking on the phone to translate. You can leave your luggage with them after check-out however we choose to use the left luggage lockers at Atocha train station for quick retrieval before heading to airport after Bernabeu
stadium tour.

The room itself was small (as expected) but clean. There was a 1 Euro operated safe in the closest and with some hangers and a shelf, a table and chair below an LCD TV and two bedside cabinets. Two windows overlooked a space in-between the buildings, not much to look at but certainly had no problems with street noise due to that fact! Noise could be heard from other rooms however but thankfully our neighbours were fairly quiet bar the rather loud snoring gent from our final two nights. Both windows had curtains plus a blind on the outside which could be lowered to totally block out light. The thing that lost us the most sleep was the pillow on the bed, the bed itself was fine but the pillow (note singular) was was thin, long and too low to be of any use and if one person wants to sleep and the other wants to sit up and read then you have a problem. In-between the windows was a radiator which came on at night and above the door was a air con unit. As we visited in October although it was fairly warm during the day the temperature dropped at night so the radiator heat was welcome but it did get the small room hot fairly quickly, thankfully you could turn it down or off. We didn't use the air con so can't comment. The free wifi worked flawlessly over our entire stay.

Regarding the TV, there are just two English channels, Sky News and Bloomberg (switch the source to analogue TV). The rest are all Spanish (DVB-T sourced, like Freeview). After getting bored with the same news I had a little play and found that a few of the domestic channels (notably Disney, Neox and .7 I think) also broadcast the undubbed sound on an audio side-channel. To try and change it press yellow
button on the remote then the right arrow and select the second/lower channel. The audio MAY change to English if broadcast, it typically worked on dubbed American TV shows.

Bathroom was also small (again as expected) but certainly adequate. There was a mirror and shelf above the sink from which (very) hot water was plentiful. There was a thin window which refused to lock but it did close and a shower attachment wrapped around the taps for the tiny bath.

We picked this accommodation mainly for it's location and it didn't disappoint. As stated it's just metres to Opera metro which will take you anywhere for 1 Euro (or to the airport for 2) on clean, efficient and punctual trains. You are also within two minutes walk from the palace and most other places you want to visit aren't too far either.
There is a large supermarket in the basement of El Corte Inglés just 5 minutes down the road and no shortage of places to eat in any direction. We felt extremely safe everywhere we went no matter what time it was plus there were police wherever you looked (as were street cleaners who seemed to take pride in keeping their city very clean). I recommend visits to the palace, the zoo (with very cute twin two-month
old baby Giant Pandas!) and Real Madrid Bernabeu stadium.

We had a wonderful trip and provided you aren't looking for 5 star accommodation, big room or wonderful view then this place is perfect, great location and easy on the wallet.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJ_Diddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    196
    35
    7
    3
See reviews for
69
164
76
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

I had booked a single room at Hostal Oriente well in advance and when I arrived I was quite shocked when I was brought to a room no. 114 which had no window. A single bed, two doors leading to the bathroom and another door to the wardrobe. I had booked for a 4 night stay and really did not fancy staying in a windowless airless room! I really was annoyed and marched back immediatetely to reception to say that this was a room not acceptable. So they put me up one flight up into room 215 which had a window leading to the courtyard. The room was clean and it was cleaned every day. Television, but only in Spanish, a little table, no fridge, a single bed with a very hard pillow and a bedside table. Very spartanic interior. And the walls are indeed paperthin, you can hear everything. Someone woke me up because the hairdryer was used at 1.30 am. Doors slamming all the time, it really is frustrating, can they not close the doors quietly? I got some earplugs which made sleeping easier. Considering the price and the room I would not stay there again. I travelled with a group and we were staying in different hostals, the others went to Hostal Madrid, paid approximately 5 Euros more but had a balcony. Which I suppose is quite nice for a relaxing glass of wine, rather than looking out into the windows of the other guests. The location is very good, just a few steps away from the station Opera.

Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank kamibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

We spent 5 nights in the Hostel. It is in a very good location, the stuff is friendly, but....
Problem1 I booked a double room at Venere.com, but when we arrived, a sigle room was available. They arranged a double, but there it was a room out of order because the lack of the bathroom vent. In the shower there was some refuse....and the vent hood was missing.
Problem2 They did not fix the vent, so the bathroom was streamy, the towels did not dry, and when using a toilet, the smell stayed inside. And if someone smoked, you smell the cigarette throught the hole in the ceiling.
Problem3 The maid left the windows open, and when we arrived home at midnight, it was cold in the room, but there was no heating.
Problem4 One of the towels was dirty!!!!!!
It is only a hostel, but nice ,these problems are because the thoughtlessness of the stuff. (Except for the thin walls, you can hear everithing...) What a pity.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank András A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

The location is great, 75M from the Opera metro station and near lots of good restaurents. If you go out of the hotel, turn right and take the 1st right a few yards down that road there is an all you can eat buffet restaurent for 8.95 (great value...)

The room was nice and clean but as we were located at the front it was a little bit noisy. They are reflooring the Opera square and the buidling work starts at 8:30 each morning. The staff was friendly, but couldn't speak any English however they were very pleasant and helpful. Wifi worked very well. We stayed there for 3 nights and payed about 82 eros for a three person room (no breakfast). I would definately stay at the hotel again, great location at a great price

Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BigVinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

Great location! Located literality few steps away from the opera metro, we actually missed it when we reached; just keep a lookout for a pizza store, it's just right above it. Security's good as we have to use a security card to access the main door. Just that our room was on the 2nd floor and Hubby was worried about people climbing in; but there were none. Room was clean with towels and a small table for writing. Within walking distance to the royal palace and main square, plus there were lotsa eateries nearby. Desk staff were friendly and helpful and speak English. They also allowed us to keep our lugguage at their place after check-out. :)

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhyllisLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

Everything you'd want - central location, clean, all mod cons like ensuite shower room with hair dryer, aircon, Wifi, room safe, flat screen TV and card keys, all of which is surprising for a hostel. Security better than a hotel because you need the key to enter the building, the hostel and your room. Our room was on the small side, but adequate, with plenty of closet space, a dressing table, two bedside tables and, for once, several easily accessible electrical points to plug in things like laptop, iron, mobile phone chargers, etc. The only down side is that the mattress was a bit hard and the walls are paper thin, making every single sound clearly audible. If you're a sound sleeper, that may not be a problem. I've been known to sleep through earthquakes, but four inconsiderate female guests in the room next door woke us each night upon their return in the wee hours from a drunken night out. To be fair, the night receptionist would intervene, but they were hard to control. If you have civilised fellow guests, you might be okay, but still, you can hear every other sound that's made in the hostel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boadicea-1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

The location is great, the room was nice and clean but since it was in the front it was a little bit noisy. The stuff was friendly, couldn't speak any English but still, tried to help as much as possible. Wifi worked nicely. We stayed there for 4 nights and payed about 85 eros a day for three people (no breakfast). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oppnoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Las Fuentes
Hostal Las Fuentes
#93 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Centro
Hostal Gala
Hostal Gala
#149 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#53 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,317 reviews
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#90 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#46 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Oriente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Oriente

Property: Hostal Oriente
Address: C Arenal 23, 1st Floor, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#62 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#85 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Oriente 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Oriente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriente Hostal Madrid
Oriente Hostal Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing