We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in Madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Occidental Madrid Este
Ranked #90 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel is located half way between the airport and the city center. Nothing really to see and do in the neighborhood but you can reach the center by subway. The hotel is very clean and all equipment is new. The only disapointment in the room is the TV (poor quality and a limited number of international channels). Overall, an excellent value for a business stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
Thank Dimanche F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 730 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel during our stay in Madrid and we have nothing but great things to say. The hotel was 15 minute drive from the airport and there was a metro station within close proximity to the hotel if you wanted to get to the center of the city. Get the breakfast buffet. It's delicious. This hotel will definitely get you the best bang for the buck!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
Thank Felipe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very nice hotel, modern and very comfortable.Wifi worked well and I had opportunity to work after dinner. Air conditioner was a little bit noisy but all are the same. Position is goo, 15 mins from the Madrid airport and not far from a metro stop.


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
Thank Masera P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I shouldn't complain as my business destination was walking distance room the hotel, but even if the quality was correct for a business hotel, the location is quite far away from the interesting districts of Madrid (30min taxi, 45min metro). Rooms are clean, without unhealthy carpets, average size, clean and funtionnal bathroom. The restaurant is efficient though there is limited choice of hot plates, and the service is nice, helpful and efficient (though not all of them speaks anything but spanish).

Room Tip: Esentially for business trips in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anabase61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a place to I stay for the location only - near our Madrid office. The bathrooms are in dire need of repair and tend to leak from the floor above. The shower drain was slow if not entirely clogged, and there was a wet floor mat in it when I arrived. The wi-fi works, intermittently, and there is a proper desk in the room. Wen I arrived late Sunday evening, I had to wait half an hour for the two at the reception to handle an group of travelers, each one individually.

The bed was fine, the location is perfect, and the prices are reasonable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reisejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Positives - Very nice and modern room Front desk staff helpful. Negatives - Food 2 Star at best, Bar 2 star at best, bar and restaurant staff very poor service and attitude, not what you would expect from a Barcelo Hotel..My work mates had company discount rates I did not. I would not stay again and would not recommenf this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms very good - eat out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CardiffBob14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

If you're happy to be a little out of town then this is a good option with regular offers meaning you can get a good price (I paid €90) for two nights over a weekend. The bed was large and comfortable, though there wasn't much space in the room. Wi-Fi reception in my room (424) was a little patchy.

The mini bar was reasonably well stocked and room service was efficient, staff were helpful with any enquiries.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank ava1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
San Blas
ILUNION Alcala Norte
ILUNION Alcala Norte
#116 of 440 in Madrid
724 reviews
Maydrit Hotel
#106 of 440 in Madrid
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Madrid Calle Alcala
#130 of 440 in Madrid
865 reviews
San Blas
Travelodge Madrid Alcala
Travelodge Madrid Alcala
#259 of 440 in Madrid
484 reviews
San Blas
Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Madrid Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Madrid Este

Address: Calle Julian Camarillo 19-21, 28037 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Torre Arias)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > San Blas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#67 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#72 Family Hotel in Madrid
#79 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#91 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £49 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Madrid Este 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Madrid Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Torre Arias Hotel Madrid
Barcelo Hotel Madrid
Barcelo Hotel Torre Arias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing