We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Las Cortes
Ranked #8 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Superior hotel”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We chose this hotel based solely on TripAdviser comments. Wow, did we make the right choice. It's hard to imagine a better stay had we booked the most expensive 5-star hotel in Madrid. Our room was beautiful with a nice view of the terra cotta roofs and towers of adjacent buidlings. Our room's modern bathroom had a separate shower and bath. The staff was super and conversant in English. The public spaces on each floor in this converted aristocratic mansion are gorgeous. Most important is the location. The Catalonia sits just off Plaza Santa Ana, a small, charming square surrounded by nice restaurants. The hotel is also a 10-minute downhill walk to the "museum triangle" featuring the Museo del Prado housing one of the most magnificent art collections in the world. The hotel serves a great breakfast, but it's worth noting that there is a wonderful little "Cuban" restaurant just opposite the hotel that is worth checking out for a wonderful and economical "desayuno."

One suggestion to the hotel management. The best ways to get to the airport and train station are common travelers' concerns. A handout at the front desk would be helpful. We were dismayed to learn at the last minute that cab fare on Sundays included a significant surcharge.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martyb-tripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Martyb

I would like to thank you , your comments .I am glad that everything was to your satisfaction and thank you again for your kind remarks, however with regards to your comment about the best way to get to the airport please rest assured that we will endeavour to improve the service in future.

I look forward to welcoming you to Catalonia Las Cortes Hotel again

Paula Camblor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,016
    377
    40
    6
    14
See reviews for
254
784
91
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
505 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Very much liked the hotel, but unfortunately did not get the best room in the place. Ended up with a ground floor double, overlooking the smoking area, which was a bit uncomfortable. Would be interested to see what the other rooms look like. But willing to give it another try. Excellent location near to the very pleasant Plaza de Santa Anna and close to the Puerta del Sol.

Room Tip: Don't accept the ground floor no. 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Beata

Thank you for your comment . I am sorry that the room was not your satisfaction, but it was the only room available at the time of your stay.
We would really appreciate it if you would considerer our hotel for any future stays in Madrid and of course we would ensure that you have a different room.

Best Regards

Paula Camblor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed here while visiting our daughter and found the location perfect. We walked everywhere, to museums, city centers etc. The hotel rooms were comfortable and clean. We stayed there on 2 occasions so stayed in 3 different rooms. One was on the top floor and large but in the 'eves.' so we requested a lower floor on our return and the 2 rooms were lovely and different which is the advantage of an older hotel. The breakfasts were good and staff very friendly and accommodating. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor may not have much view because they are dormed and smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank needtogetaway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Fantastic experience all around. Polite and courteous staff, great breakfast and very comfy rooms. Location is just ideal! Walk to everywhere and come back for a break. Nice places to eat at nearby squares and all the galleries you want to visit. Very understated and classy; definitely will come back.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are quiet; facing street can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wierna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Customer

I really apreciate your review from our Hotel in Trip Advisor . All the Catalonia Las Hotel Staff thank you for your comments , and as a valued customer we look forward to wellcoming you to our Hotel in the future.

Paula Camblor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
165 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We always stay in this hotel. Yes, at the moment it is ranked #7, but we consider it #1! Superb location, very well appointed rooms, great breakfast... what else do you need?!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABTOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Sir

All the Catalonia Hotel Staff look forward to wellcoming you again.
Thank you very much for your review

Best regards

Paula Camblor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quijano, spain
Level Contributor
118 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Very good location for sightseeing, with a public carpark a few steps away. Our rooms were of a good size (one with its own balcony - 201) and bathrooms very complete. All staff were very pleasant. Just a couple of niggles - the promised "free water and welcome cocktail" were non-existent, and beds a touch too hard, with thin mattresses, so our sleep quality was not perfect. However, would certainly stay there again when visiting Madrid.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quijano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

A few steps away from Plaza Santa Ana, a short walk away from Puerta del Sol, the hotel is in a lovely old building. Although our room was directly over the street, it was very quiet with traffic noise from outside well muffled and barely a sound from other guests. Staff is friendly and helpful. Our room was exceptionally spacious by European standards. Very clean and comfortable, though beds are extra firm. Breakfast room has many choices for a variety of tastes. Very pleased that we chose this hotel: of 3 we have stayed in during visits to Madrid, this is our clear favorite (so that there won't be a fourth hotel).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ralfraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 436 in Madrid
440 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 436 in Madrid
983 reviews
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#4 of 436 in Madrid
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Las Cortes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Las Cortes

Property: Catalonia Las Cortes
Address: Calle del Prado 6, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#5 Family Hotel in Madrid
#6 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#56 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Las Cortes 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Las Cortes is located in Madrid's famous 'Barrio de las Letras', or writer's district, it is just a few metres from Plaza Santa Ana square and equally closes to the city's main shopping and leisure districts. Opened in January 2006, the hotel is situated in an old 18th century small palace whose interior has maintained all of the original frescos, as well as the main staircase and coving. This four-star hotel has 63 elegantly appointed rooms with every convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Las Cortes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Las Cortes Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing