We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Pleasant Stay in "our" Hotel in Madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catalonia Las Cortes
Ranked #9 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
142 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Another Pleasant Stay in "our" Hotel in Madrid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Usually I don't write more than one review about the hotel where I stay again and again. Catalonia Las Cortes in Madrid deserves an exception. Well-appointed and maintained rooms, excellent location, delicious breakfast with freshly fried churros (Paula, please stop laughing at me!). And recently discovered Casanis restaurant (don't miss it) literally around the corner.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABTOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    981
    369
    39
    6
    14
See reviews for
243
763
86
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a group tour.
Excellent location, well placed for most things in Madrid, yet very quiet.
Our room was very good, air-con worked fine. Breakfast good.
Do not know about cost but would certainly choose when returning to Madrid.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliffordM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Mr.Clifford

Many thanks for your feedback . I am glad that everthing was to your satistaction.
I hope that we can be ofservice to you again in the future

Kind Regards

Paula Camblor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

This hotel was just terrific. Perfectly located just off Plaza Santa Ana (we walked almost everywhere), gorgeous huge room (we upgraded to a superior room - well worth it) and best of all, the most friendly, helpful staff of any hotel ever. They really went out of their way to get us the restaurant reservations we wanted, help us plan our side trip to Toledo, just so many things. We also loved the size of the hotel - not too big, so we knew the staff and they knew us. We did not partake of their breakfast, but had an outstanding breakfast a block away at Rincon. Their eggs, outstanding Iberico ham, orange juice, bread and coffee was half the price of the hotel's. But we'd definitely return to the Catalonia las Cortes and highly recommend it to all who are visiting Madrid.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariannenJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Mr Jim

I would like to thank you for your recent review of our Hotel.I am glad that everything was to your satisfaction . Thank you for your kind remarks wich are very much appreciated.
I look forward to welcoming you to Catalonia Las Cortes Hotel again

All my best

Paula Camblor
Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, MD
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

As others have said, the location of this hotel is outstanding. Short walks to all the museums, and to Atocha Train Station for day trips; plenty of restaurants and bars in the area. The accommodations were also excellent. Our superior room was huge and nicely furnished. The bed was firm, but very comfortable; the bathroom was enormous. Staff was friendly and helpful, and thebbreakfast buffet had great variety -- though it wasn't cheap at 19 euros, that's about par for hotels in this class.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Mr. Ken

Thank you so much to take your time and your review at Tripavisor. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay .
Catalonia Hotels strives to maintain our High Standars always looking for ways to improve.

Best Regards

Paula Camblor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orinda
Level Contributor
159 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It was a great central location. We had a superior room which was spacious with two large windows facing the narrow streets of old town and a nice bathroom with a large shower and a separate bath/shower. The beds are large, very hard though and the pillows, well you need to ask for extras. The staff here is very accommodating. We got some excellent recommendations from the young man at the front desk. He suggested Lateral for a wonderful tapas dinner and made reservations for us to see the Flamingo dancers/performers which was terrific. Thismisma 4 star establishment. It has a nice bar and breakfast.

Room Tip: Get a superior room or suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Customer

I am glad you liked the hotel , your room and the treatment of our staff. I am also grateful our recommendations have been satisfactory for you.

We hope to attend you again in the future

Best regards

Paula Camblor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in September. Hotel is cosy and has authentic features such as wooden staircase (they also have the lift though!). Our room (deluxe double) was rather small but had small balcony and beautiful marble bathroom with bath and separate shower. Service is very attentive, we had all our needs cared for, all questions answered and a table at flamenco place booked. But the real benefit of this hotel is it's location - 7 min from Prado, 15 min from Plaza Mayor and about 25 min from Royal Palace. All walking distances through lovely streets (don't forget about chocolaterie near Plaza Mayor - exceptional!). And the area where hotel is full of history - and very entertaining - bars, restaurants, theatres. We loved it!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012 via mobile

Was initially assigned to room 112. The A/C did not work and room had a strange smell. After asking for someone to check the A/C unit and confirming it was out of order I was given room 112, more comfortable, the A/C worked and no strange smell.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandboy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 445 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#4 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Las Cortes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Las Cortes

Property: Catalonia Las Cortes
Address: Calle del Prado 6, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#5 Family Hotel in Madrid
#7 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#56 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Las Cortes 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Las Cortes is located in Madrid's famous 'Barrio de las Letras', or writer's district, it is just a few metres from Plaza Santa Ana square and equally closes to the city's main shopping and leisure districts. Opened in January 2006, the hotel is situated in an old 18th century small palace whose interior has maintained all of the original frescos, as well as the main staircase and coving. This four-star hotel has 63 elegantly appointed rooms with every convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Las Cortes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Las Cortes Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing