We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms. Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Las Cortes
Ranked #8 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Toledo, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great rooms. Great location”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Had a wonderful experience. Helpful staff great room with the best bathroom I've been in. Breakfast was excellent and the location was walking distance from many of the best attractions price was reasonable

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,016
    377
    40
    6
    14
See reviews for
254
784
91
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

What a great place! Our double superior room was beautiful and very large, with a gorgeous bathroom and a huge bed that was very comfortable. The room and hotel is decorated tastefully and stylishly, and the English-speaking staff was friendly and helpful. The WiFi worked fine, though it was necessary to re-log in via the web browser each time. We didn't try the €19 (per person!) breakfast, as it was more than we wanted to spend, but there are nice coffee shops immediately outside the hotel. The hotel was generally very quiet with little street noise.

The hotel is located perfectly between the Prado museum and Palacio Real areas, both within easy walking distance (15 minutes max in either direction). The Anton Martin Metro stop is a 7 minute walk away, and you can get to Atocha Station from there in about 5-10 minutes. Nearby Plaza Santa Ana and Plaza del Angel offer easy and decent tapas and wine options if you're feeling too lazy to venture far. In all, highly recommended and well worth the money.

Room Tip: Splurge for the superior room, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoomedXIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
147 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

It couldn't be more central for Madrid's vibrant night life. Within five minutes walk, there are numerous pavement restaurants and bars. There are none adjacent to the hotel, however, so it's rather quiet (but for football fans in Calle del Prado, if Madrid or Atletico celebrate). It is also only about 10 minutes walk from the Prado museum.

I had a big, nice corner room with windows on two sides, a French balcony and a big bathroom.

My colleague had a room facing Calle del Prado, and was kept awake by chanting Atletico-fans.

The breakfast was very nice, although maybe not memorable.

We just came, slept and left. So we never really tried the facilities of the hotel. I guess it is well suited for "everything", a family, couples or business trip.

Room Tip: If you are here in the weekend, or when there is an important home match for the citiy's great f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brainspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I stayed there from 11 til 14 October 2012 for leisure with a friend.
We had a great experience, the room was very quiet, the beds comfortables, a very big bathroom with shower and bathtub.
The staff was amazing, always helpful and most of them spoke French wich was really convenient for my friend.
The wifi was not always working in the room but I got the connection from the bar.

The breakfast buffet was really amazing and the opening time until 11am really convenient as we would go to bed early morning.

I do really recommend this hotel and can't wait to book my next trip in the other hotels of the chain. Muchas gracias Paola!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajera0982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
165 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Usually I don't write more than one review about the hotel where I stay again and again. Catalonia Las Cortes in Madrid deserves an exception. Well-appointed and maintained rooms, excellent location, delicious breakfast with freshly fried churros (Paula, please stop laughing at me!). And recently discovered Casanis restaurant (don't miss it) literally around the corner.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABTOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a group tour.
Excellent location, well placed for most things in Madrid, yet very quiet.
Our room was very good, air-con worked fine. Breakfast good.
Do not know about cost but would certainly choose when returning to Madrid.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliffordM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Mr.Clifford

Many thanks for your feedback . I am glad that everthing was to your satistaction.
I hope that we can be ofservice to you again in the future

Kind Regards

Paula Camblor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This hotel was just terrific. Perfectly located just off Plaza Santa Ana (we walked almost everywhere), gorgeous huge room (we upgraded to a superior room - well worth it) and best of all, the most friendly, helpful staff of any hotel ever. They really went out of their way to get us the restaurant reservations we wanted, help us plan our side trip to Toledo, just so many things. We also loved the size of the hotel - not too big, so we knew the staff and they knew us. We did not partake of their breakfast, but had an outstanding breakfast a block away at Rincon. Their eggs, outstanding Iberico ham, orange juice, bread and coffee was half the price of the hotel's. But we'd definitely return to the Catalonia las Cortes and highly recommend it to all who are visiting Madrid.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariannenJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Mr Jim

I would like to thank you for your recent review of our Hotel.I am glad that everything was to your satisfaction . Thank you for your kind remarks wich are very much appreciated.
I look forward to welcoming you to Catalonia Las Cortes Hotel again

All my best

Paula Camblor
Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 436 in Madrid
440 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 436 in Madrid
982 reviews
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#4 of 436 in Madrid
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Las Cortes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Las Cortes

Property: Catalonia Las Cortes
Address: Calle del Prado 6, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#5 Family Hotel in Madrid
#6 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#56 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Las Cortes 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Las Cortes is located in Madrid's famous 'Barrio de las Letras', or writer's district, it is just a few metres from Plaza Santa Ana square and equally closes to the city's main shopping and leisure districts. Opened in January 2006, the hotel is situated in an old 18th century small palace whose interior has maintained all of the original frescos, as well as the main staircase and coving. This four-star hotel has 63 elegantly appointed rooms with every convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Las Cortes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Las Cortes Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing