We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spacious and excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia Las Cortes
Ranked #8 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2009

I love this hotel for the servie and food

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Panky1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,518)
There are newer reviews for Catalonia Las Cortes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

928 - 934 of 1,518 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2009

What a great hotel! Apart that the foyer is really very *** , low ceilings and decorated like a Hong Kong handbag and accessory shop, lots of white marble, somewhat tawdry light fittings and brass detailing. However the rooms are quite splendid - spacious, well-furnished, great bathrooms, comfortable beds. To people who trot out the time-worn adage that they "are only going to sleep in them", that is quite a lot of the twenty four hours , I wonder how much time they intend spending in the foyer or hotel bar? This is the antithesis of most hotels that offer luxurious public rooms and horrible, little, claustrophobic boxes masquerading as luxury bedrooms.

The breakfast, served in an austere subterranean dining room -not a particularly pleasant place - is none-the-less superlative for quality. This is not a copious buffet of everything and anything but a well chosen selection of all the best appropriate produce in the local market. On an occasion when I was too late for the hotel breakfast I went to the Alicia Room Mate next door .The comparison was extreme, their breakfast in the tapas bar adjacent was very poor, and the place had the unpleasant aura of a highway pull-in on the morning after the night before.

My wife was attending a dental convention, leaving me pushing the baby and I did not feel much drawn a huge "deluxe" convention hotel at least twenty minutes walk along broad and traffic jammed streets to get anywhere I might want to be. The hotel in question describes itself as being "at the strategic center of Madrid" ( I guess it all depends on whether you can throw a stone that far, etc. ) Several trip advisors warned that the hotel in question is partially surrounded by a seedy red-light district, 'though one American lady did admit that they were of a better class! Where the Catalonia Las Cortes really excels is on its location and I am not thinking only of major tourist attractions. Much, much more than that, the hotel is on the old town areas of Las Huertas and La Latina which remain firmly in a time warp. Touristic nonsense has not yet forced out the real shops that people need, as in the old centers of most European cities The Marais in Paris is case in point, the Jewish delicatessens and shoe repairers are no more, forced out by multiple branches of l"Occitane and dubious jewelery shops. Enjoy that whilst it stands, probably not for so long. The general fruit and vegetable market at Anton Martin (easy walking distance) is the perfect antidote to too much of being the sightseer. You can return to the human race having a coffee with the traders at the small bar upstairs.
Just up the road from the hotel but far enough away to avoid the night time din is Pz Santa Ana which has a lot of quite reasonable tapas type bars that are friendly, relaxed and informal. Remember the Spaish start very late and throw all their rubbish on the floor ! You can so easily slip back to the hotel to rest before going out to take a glass of wine and a snack. That can easily occupy five or six hours. A bit further and you come to the famous and impressive Pz Mayor which is a commercialised hell-hole . Don't even think of eating there and the same goes for the horrible Puerta del Sol where a lot of younger people hang about to imbibe the traffic fumes.

My lasting memory - the view from the balcony into an old barber's shop with brightly coloured bottles of bay rum, macassar, oil of violets,. and, tubs of brilliantine bearing the labels unchanged for near a century. Of course the obligatory rotating, stripey pole, red on white (or is it white on red?) drawing the eye in hypnotically. The barber quite as antiquated as his clientele, and most with little left except for a shave and polish. A morning of hand shaking and back patting before moving on, all bright as new pins, to read the papers in a favourite cafe. To have the same arguments and tell the same jokes. It could have been anywhere in Spain, but it was right under our balcony.What a great hotel !

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annibalepreca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

We stayed in a "superior" room so that may have influenced our impression of our stay (spacious room, large comfortable bed, small balcony overlooking street) but we found Las Cortes to be the perfect place to stay. Regardless, would highly recommend staying in the Barrio de las Letras neighborhood.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mcadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Where do I start?

This is a great hotel, I did lots of research and it paid off, thank you TRIP ADVISOR, if it were not for you I would have not found such a great place.

The bathroom was large and very clean, it had a bath with a shower and a wet room with a power shower and drench shower which was amazing and lit with mood lighting.

The room was large and very comfortable, the TV picture was great (compared to other hotels) the view was limited but what I got was a quiet room as a result.

Coming back late at night the road does tend to get blocked when they wash the streets of Madrid and the Taxi has to leave you at the end and you have to do a short walk which is completely safe.

I think the mini bar should be free or cheaper like some other hotels, a small gripe as I am used to free mineral water and ice etc, but I am sure that may not be a problem for all reading this review.

The balcony was a Juliet Balcony, some rooms have 2 (ask at reception) and provides lots of fresh air and is well sound proofed with 2 sets of doors.

The air con was fantastic.

The location was great.

The breakfast was worth double the price they charge (enough said).

As a Brit I found it very reassuring that at the time of stay many of the other guests were Spanish and I think this fact alone accounts for the excellent customer service and friendly reception staff as well as the quality of all the meals.

The hotel is near some other (famous hotels) but I am really glad I choose this one.

The reception staff were absolutely friendly (worth repeating from above) and could not have done more to assist.

Madrid is a dream

Live long and prosper.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Globally_Travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2009

Nice small unpretentious hotel hidden away in a side street, although centrally located. Well appointed, clean, calm and restful. The rooms are nice for the money although you can't leave a window open as it is very noisy at night with revellers and in the morning with street cleaners. I would use again for business or pleasure. Oh, and the internet access (wireless, just ask at reception) is free, which is great as I object to paying for an hotel room and then being asked more to use the internet.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alfisti1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2009

Just returned from a 1 week visit to Spain. Spent 4 nights at this hotel. It is exactly as described. No surprises. The room, just a standard double, was very clean, no smokey smells, good firm bed, and plenty of room. It had a very nice bathroom, with a nice large tub. The staff was very helpful and friendly, yet professional. The location is perfect. Just a block from Plaza Santa Ana, a short walk to the Prado, and an easy walk to both Plaza del Sol and Plaza Mayor. The breakfast was equally good, and I felt a good value. The buffet offered a nice variety of both hot and cold foods. I had done a lot of research before choosing this hotel, and it paid off. If you are visiting Madrid and looking for a nice hotel close to the major attractions, consider a stay at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bobbi48128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2009

Very good, clean and efficient hotel.Well worth its 4 stars.Its location was right in the old town - excellent - and only a short walk to most places of interest. Our room was of a 5 star standard.Huge beds,top quality linen,excellent heating/ac and quality furnishings.Above all else was the entrance foyer to our room-bedroom on the right and a fantastic bathroom on the left.The power shower alone was as big as some hotel rooms. Although a small balcony was there,the sound - proofing excellent.
Strongly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank popeye9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#24 of 438 in Madrid
1,974 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 438 in Madrid
1,672 reviews
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 438 in Madrid
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Las Cortes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Las Cortes

Address: Calle del Prado 6, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#5 Family Hotel in Madrid
#6 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#56 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £134 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Las Cortes 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Las Cortes is located in Madrid's famous 'Barrio de las Letras', or writer's district, it is just a few metres from Plaza Santa Ana square and equally closes to the city's main shopping and leisure districts. Opened in January 2006, the hotel is situated in an old 18th century small palace whose interior has maintained all of the original frescos, as well as the main staircase and coving. This four-star hotel has 63 elegantly appointed rooms with every convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Catalonia Las Cortes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Las Cortes Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing