We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Las Cortes
Ranked #7 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
São Paulo
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 7 November 2009

Great location, near the main tourist spots in Madrid. I came to the hotel directly from Barajas airport and went down the subway Puerta del Sol, which is best if you are traveling with luggage. If the backpack is a metro that is near (Anton Martin): it is just 3 blocks from the hotel. We rented a car and than the location is not so good. The public parking for 10 hours costs 28EUR, the most expensive of all of Spain in the Plaza de Santa Ana. The hotel room was not the greatest, but nicely decorated and clean. It was very worthwhile. I would be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosaTiritilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,056
    380
    40
    6
    15
See reviews for
268
806
94
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights. Hotel rooms is lovely, comfortable and clean. Bathroom is OK, but not relative to the room price. Hotel staff were very nice and helpful. Location is brilliant but no free parking and parking in Madrid is VERY expensive. There are a multitude of restaurants just up in the square near the hotel and they are all quite good, with varying prices. We would probably stay here again based on the location, but we thought it was a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_traveladdicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

If this hotel had a "4 seasons" banner in the door, most likely people would be happily paying 5x. It really looks and feels like a luxurious hotel, the facilities are really the best I have seen in a long time.
Customer service is very good actually. I requested an extra blanket and I got it immediately. On two nights we ordered room service and the phone was answered promptly, they took our order and told us that it'll be ready in 25 minute and exactly in that time we had our meal in the door -with no mistakes, everything as we had ordered. Finally, I asked in the lobby were I could buy good city maps and they gave me one map of the center and went to the store room to bring me a larger map of the city. Likewise, in the dining room we had breakfast 4 times and everything went smoothly.
We were 2 adults and 2 children sleeping in one bedroom (more like a suite). They put two extra (small) beds and it worked out pretty well. We didn't feel cramped.
Lastly, my room faced del Prado street, 25 meters away from Plaza Santa Ana and I was fearing that the street noise at night would make it impossible to fall asleep, but the double window really works well as we didn't hear noise from outside.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

I was really looking forward to a great stay as this hotel as it looks stunning, but unfortunately looks can be deceiving.

After booking the hotel, confirming the reservation on the arrival day and again a few hours before arrival, the hotel staff still managed to book us into the wrong type of room.
There was no apology for or alternative to the single room available even though a twin had been booked and confirmed.

After 2 hours of trying to get any help or assistance from the hotel staff and manager, we eventually reverted to using bookings.com to arrange an alternative hotel but it still cost at least 3 hours of hassle & delay late at night to sort out.

My advice would be to be wary of expecting a confirmed booking to be honoured by this hotel, but as I said before it is a lovely looking place.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Generaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionLasCortes, Director at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, 28 October 2009
1. You did not phone the hotel at any time. Where did you phone?
2. The only request in your reservation was a non smoking room, nothing else. If you really made a request for a twin room you should send your complaints to the Internet Company you made the reservation trough.
3. Room 002 is not a single room. It is a double room with a queen size bed. If you are travelling with your mother you should prevent the hotel (phoning the hotel, of course), especially if you are checking in at midnight, as you did.
4. If you have a look on your reservation you will read something like: requests are not guaranteed. This is exactly the same at any hotel in the world. But I insist, in order to satisfy a request, first you should make a request and make sure the hotel has received it.
5. You say you stayed like two hours trying to get some assistance from our Manager / Receptionist. As far as I know Luka, the Night Receptionist, spent this long time in looking for a hotel for you. And the Manager, of course, is not working at night.
6. You do not mention we paid you the taxi to the other hotel, SOMETHING WE SHOULDN'T HAVE DONE, but we did.

As you can easily understand we are really upset , but I would like you to understand us. We accept all kind of complaints, as they allow us to improve our service, but this is not the case: we do not agree at all with your position.

Best regards from Madrid.

The General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

We stayed for 3 nights in early October 2009. The hotel is very well located - only 2-3 minutes from Anton Martin metro and very close to Plaza Mayor.

Despite being in the thick of it, our room was very quiet.

Washrooms are very nicely sized - rainforest showerhead was a nice touch. My wife complained that there were no bathroom products in the room, though, and that the hairdryer was ineffective.

My only complaint is that the WiFi was very temperamental. Our first room had no reception so we asked to be moved. The second room had good reception but the hotel system kept dropping the connection. Hotel staff tried to fix the problem was it was understandably beyond them.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francelonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We have just returned from 3 days at Hotel Las Cortes, booked after reading good reviews at Tripadvisor. It exceeded our expectations with good sized bathroom/shower and reasonable bedroom space. Staff very helpful. Well located for tourists. Did not dine there but buffet breakfasts were better than most tourist hotels and whole hotel very clean with good aircon and wifi. We would go back there.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hardenedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
646 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Strategically situated at a beautiful walking distance from El Prado at one end and Plaza Major at the other, Catalonia Las Cortes, delivers Madrid warmth and charm in every sense of the word. Any one of the service members, at any time of the day or any shift, in a city that truly doesn't sleep, will gladly assist you with charismatic warmth and professionalism that is not only charming, but leaves you yearning for a longer visit! The hotel excels in cleanliness and delivers Madrid to your room in every one of their special touches, including the fragrance in the air. Definitely a centric place in old Madrid without the hype (and price tag) of chain hotels. I'm still in awe with the elegant simplicity and warmth of the place! Kudos to its staff and management!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#21 of 436 in Madrid
1,941 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 436 in Madrid
1,642 reviews
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 436 in Madrid
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Las Cortes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Las Cortes

Property: Catalonia Las Cortes
Address: Calle del Prado 6, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#5 Family Hotel in Madrid
#6 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#56 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Las Cortes 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Las Cortes is located in Madrid's famous 'Barrio de las Letras', or writer's district, it is just a few metres from Plaza Santa Ana square and equally closes to the city's main shopping and leisure districts. Opened in January 2006, the hotel is situated in an old 18th century small palace whose interior has maintained all of the original frescos, as well as the main staircase and coving. This four-star hotel has 63 elegantly appointed rooms with every convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms, TravelUp, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Las Cortes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Las Cortes Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing