We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia Las Cortes
Ranked #10 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Immaculate, gracious bilingual staff, very helpful, presently has construction in front but soon to end, rm 308 had an enormous granite/marble? walk in shower, terrific breakfasts, location is excellent, 15 walk to the Prado, 1 block to a large busy plaza. Tapas bar next door. Might want to request room in back to avoid late night noise when restaurants close. Would have liked a more comfortable chair in our room, basically a desk chair, bed was excellent. A lot of open space available for seating if you do not want to stay in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaLittletonCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

917 - 923 of 1,552 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2010

Travelled with four girl friends and this hotel was a bit last minute but turned out to be a great choice! Sadly on arrival at the hotel two of us (me included!) found our purses had been stolen on the journey from the airport to the hotel (via Metro) so beware - we thought we were aware and savvy about these things and still can't work out how they did it!! Anyway the hotel checked us in quickly and gave us directions to the nearest police station. We weren't expecting much, we just needed a crime number for insurance purposes, and we didn't get much! The police were worse than non-interested, our Spanish isn't great and their English wasn't fabulous but body and sign language could have conveyed their apologies for our start in their city but nothing!

Back at the hotel we tried to put this all behind us and enjoy Madrid. The hotel is set down tiny cobbled streets in the old part of town. There were lots of road works going on around the area which made everything a bit dusty but the area is very centrally located with lots of bars and restaurants (mainly tapas).

We had a twin room and a triple. The triple was a proper bed which was nice, all clean although I found the bed a little hard on the first night. The triple room (103 I think) was positioned right over the front doorway. This is two sliding doors and in the quiet of the night the noise from the doors was disturbing! I think this was especially so because of the road works causing pedestrians to walk close to the entrance causing the doors to open and close frequently. My friends in the triple chose not to change but on reflection they thought they should have - if you are light sleepers do not accept this room! Rooms in general were very clean, our twin room had the most enormous walk in shower and bath. All spotless. Our air conditioning was a little hit and miss but as it was March that wasn't so important. English news channels on the TV also welcome.

Breakfast was tasty and more than adequate. Buffet with all the normal choices of cold meats, cheeses, pastries, fruit along with bacon, eggs, tortilla, sausages etc. The service at breakfast was spot on and friendly. We tend to have breakfast very unhurried to set us up for the rest of the day and the staff were happy for us to linger over numerous top-ups of coffee.

We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evenings, nor did we use the bar. We did however, take advice on here and climb the staircase!

Due to our bad experience on the Metro and a morning flight combined with clocks changing we asked the hotel to book us a transfer to the airport which took about 20 mins on a Sunday morning - far easier if a little more expensive!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tad2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

The location of the hotel is perfect. Right next to the bars and restaurants of plaza Santa ana and within easy walking distance of la Latina neighbourhood, plaza mayor, puerta de la sol and the excellent big 3 museums. Having arrived late at 1.30 am, we were checked in quickly and efficiently. Room was spacious and absolutely spotless. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maz6721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

We stayed in Madrid for few days after traveling around some of the surrounding area and the Hotel Catalonia exceeded our expectations. It is a very nice hotel, clean rooms and very spacious for typical European hotel rooms. The staff was helpful with recommendations for dining and entertainment. We were able to walk everywhere from the hotel.
One caution, parking is expensive if you have a car.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank need2travel_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

I was not really looking forward to seeing Madrid - just another big city, I thought. I was also very conflicted about where to stay, too many choices, and they would probably all be just typical big city hotels. Well, I was wrong about both Madrid and the Hotel Catalonia las Cortes. I would DEFINITELY return to Madrid, and if I do, we will stay here again.

Despite road work that was going on directly in front of the hotel, and the fact that our room was over the sliding door (could hear the sounds of it opening), we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and found it to be very quiet - something I always worry about with city hotels. Our room was HUGE, an entryway, two beds pushed together (as is usual) to make the biggest bed we had ever stayed in - I somehow think they were larger than 2 twins as one night we even ended up staying on the same side of the bed all night! Great bathroom with good shower (another thing we like!), and we felt the location was truly perfect. I realize that we really only saw a small part of Madrid, because we never took any transportation, just walked - but we were close enough to the Museums that we were able to pop over when the Prado was free and wander for a short time, returning 2 more times during the weekend - this is a great way to see an art musuem in my opinion. There were good restaurants all around (but we didn't have a bad meal during our whole Spain trip), and the staff was so friendly, allowing me to practice my Spanish, giving good restaurant recs. We used the free wi-fi too and did I mention the breakfast? Okay, initially I thought 16 euros each for Breakfast? We'll go out. But we gave it a try the first day and there was no way we weren't coming back the next 2 days. It was WELL worth the money - everything you could want, lots of coffee, friendly service. By far our best breakfast of our trip. Though there are many choices in Madrid, we enjoyed ourselves so much here that I would have no problem returning here, leaving all the research and "will I like this" question for another city!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HKCunli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

We spent three nights here last month and loved it. We did not arrive until midnight and received a cheery, warm welcome. Everyone we encounters at the property offer friendly, excellent service. Best location, super clean and comfortable. I must say we did not think the breakfast was so spectacular like many other viewers but it was just fine. We would stay again and it was a fantastic value. If you need it, WIFI was spotty and available in the reception area only.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acribari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

We booked 2 good sized double deluxe rooms, which were of a clean, comfortable standard. Bathroom, very spacious with bath and a separate roomy shower with rain head - fantastic

The service in the hotel with no exceptions was excellent and friendly.Breakfast was very good with a good selection.

A great location for a city break, minutes from Santa Ana square, where we tried the local restaurants ie Ginger - great choice for a sunday lunch before returning to airport. We tried a tapas bar on saturday evening just off the square - the name escapes me.It seemed very popular with locals and very reasonably priced for a good experience with good food and wine.

Retiro park worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheekyWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#24 of 437 in Madrid
1,991 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 437 in Madrid
1,693 reviews
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 437 in Madrid
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Las Cortes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Las Cortes

Address: Calle del Prado 6, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#5 Family Hotel in Madrid
#8 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#56 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £130 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Las Cortes 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Las Cortes is located in Madrid's famous 'Barrio de las Letras', or writer's district, it is just a few metres from Plaza Santa Ana square and equally closes to the city's main shopping and leisure districts. Opened in January 2006, the hotel is situated in an old 18th century small palace whose interior has maintained all of the original frescos, as well as the main staircase and coving. This four-star hotel has 63 elegantly appointed rooms with every convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catalonia Las Cortes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Las Cortes Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing