We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From Prabha Rao India”
Review of Hotel Miau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Miau
Ranked #273 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We were really very glad we chose this hotel. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The location was convenient with all the tourist spots within walking distance, and good restaurants nearby.
The room was spacious & the shower was very good. Air-conditioning was very effective (when temperatures were 42 C outside). It is economical & clean. Fresh towels everyday.
For vegetarians there is "El Picolino De La Farfalla" nearby which gives good veg pasta.

Room Tip: Road facing rooms had good light & not much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prabharao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

This hotel is in the perfect location. It is a 5 minute work from Puerta del Sol - which is on one of the main metro lines. The hotel is right on the corner of Plaza de Santa Ana, which is busy every night . We were on the second floor, right on the plaza, which we thought was going to be too loud. However, the windows are double glazed, so the noise is quite minimal, and if you do as the Spanish do, it won't matter anyway - because you will be out late. They pack the tables and chairs in the plaza up around 1-2am - so its not busy all night. The rooms were big enough and very clean. The bathroom was modern and fresh towels were provided daily. The staff were very helpful and informative. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. Our room was tiny, but the great view at Plaza Santa Ana with its magic life opens from the small balcony. Hotel location is really fantastic. It’s walking distance to everything in the city. The Prado and Thyssen-Bornemisza museums are about 10 mins walk, literature lovers will enjoy Cervantes monument (there are 2 in the city :) and Lope De Vega museum located in few steps from the hotel.

Hotel staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Thank you very much to Ammar at the Reception, who provided us with good maps and knowledgeable recommendations for sights, flamenco and other interesting facts about Madrid.
Free Wi-Fi at our room was very fast. The air conditioning worked well. Good soundproofed windows perfectly block the huge street noise, but at the same time bathroom walls are thin, and you can hear water runs and other noise from neighboring rooms. Also it can be much noisy on weekend night, when a lot of guests back to the hotel at the early morning. Room safe-box is chargeable, you need drop down a cont in 1 euro every time when you want to close the safe. The main negative impression we had from our stay were carpet moths in our room :(
Continental breakfast included in the room rate is 100% continental, but it was ok (a glass of fresh orange juice, coffee with hot milk and one pastry of your choice). And it’s not a problem to eat in the city, there is plenty of bars and restaurants around.
For a short stay, the hotel is ok. As for me, if I back in Madrid, I will prefer to discover another hotel in the same location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuliettaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

The main advantage of this hotel is undoubtedly it's location. Easy walk to all the main sights and lots of restaurants and bars in the area. The room we had was small so may be worth asking when booking as I think there are some larger rooms available. Staff are very helpful and friendly.The inclusive breakfast is adequate but no rieal options available, just a very basic continental. At the Maui you get reasonable value for money in a lovely city.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

The Miau is a very nice facility with small rooms but very nicely designed. The single I stayed in was on the first floor and it had access to a small balcony with wood doors and an aluminum frame to block out the street noise. The staff was willing to assist with anything they could even though our difficulty in attempting Spanish to their grasp of (English) was not always easy. The noise coming from other rooms was higher than I expected but we spent little time there. The restaurant and bar was very well staffed and we had many great meals there or at the plaza tables. Plaza Santa Ana is just outside the front door and there are many choices for tapas. A short walk to Puerto Del Sol and Plaza Mayor.

Room Tip: A room with a street balcony would be ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kansastraveller2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Roeland v
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 April 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#45 of 440 in Madrid
1,304 reviews
Huertas
ME BY MELIA MADRID Reina Victoria
Huertas
Hotel Persal
Hotel Persal
#122 of 440 in Madrid
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Madrisol
Hotel Madrisol
#324 of 440 in Madrid
363 reviews
Huertas
Axel Hotel Madrid
Axel Hotel Madrid
#78 of 440 in Madrid
109 reviews
Huertas
Plaza D'ort
Plaza D'ort
#386 of 440 in Madrid
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miau

Address: Calle Principe 26 | Corner Pza. Santa Ana, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: £85 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miau 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Hotel in the heart of the city Placed in the historical Square of Santa Ana, its charming historic building dated from the 19 th century (1890) offers wonderful views to the famous square based in the shopping and tourist center of Madrid. In that same square you can enjoy of its wonderful terraces, excellent restaurants and typical bars of Madrid. The room’s deprived balconies offer wonderful views to Santa Ana’s Square as well as all the comforts required for a pleasant stay, completely soundproof, free Wifi service ranging the whole building and coordinated fares with the parking facilities available in the same square. Hotel Facilities: - 24 hour Front Desk - Coordinated fares with the parking service available in that same square - Breakfast served from Monday until Sunday from 08:00 t 11:00 h - Tourist information and make-online bookings - Wake-up call service - Luggage and baggage storage room - Power adaptors and chargers available - Daily national press - Medical assistance (under request) - Baby cots/cradles available - Free WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Miau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miau Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing