We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location next to open square”
Review of Hotel Miau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Miau
Ranked #291 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Cape Town
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely location next to open square”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at three different places in Madrid and this hotel was the cleanest and had the nicest design. Having a little balcony window view over the square was the best part. It's in the old literary part of Madrid with a range of places to visit nearby, such as Ernert Hemingway's favourite bar. The receptionist was friendly and helpful when I urgently needed to catch a bus back to the airport.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Capetoniantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    82
    31
    9
    9
See reviews for
30
76
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

This small and well priced hotel is perfectly located for travellers who wish to visit Madrid's favourite landmarks:
The Prado, Reina Sofia, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, etc. Enjoy an inexpensive breakfast at the bar Miau, on the corner next to the hotel or for 8 euros you can do the full breakfast in their hotel dining room. Friendly staff too.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank almeriaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

You ve got to love Hotel Miau, (first of all, it 's called "Miau"!)!! It 's located on Santa Ana, a very charming square, very convenient for moving around Madrid. Really good value for money and polite stuff, fluent in English too! Really enjoyed my stay here

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just back from 4 nights in the Hotel Miau.
We arrived about 8pm and were greeted by name by the gentleman on the front desk ( whose name escapes me, I apologise! ) Straight to our room...room 10 on the first floor.
Room was small but perfectly formed! Space to move around, enough wardrobe space for hanging clothes but could have done with some drawer space....no big deal for a few days.
Bathroom was large with a walk-in shower which was very powerful. The hairdryer was not too bad, although if you ladies have long hair.....it may take a while to dry.....luckily mine is very short! Shower gel supplied in a dispenser in the shower.

Our room didn't overlook Plaza Santa Ana but the street at the side which was no problem. Our only problem was that our room was attached to an apartment block next door and unfortunately for us, the walls were paper thin and our neighbours were noisy! There was no noise from the street as the windows are double glazed with a little balcony-type area inbetween that we used to store our suitcases.

The first night I didn't sleep very well as I prefer more than one pillow.......only one was supplied, so I rolled up the spare blanket I found in the wardrobe. The next day......with no mention to anyone....we arrived back to find extra pillows had been added to the bed! Nice one, Hotel Miau!

We were on a RO basis but went to the bar/restaurant next door, owned by the Hotel and had breakfast there each day. There was a choice of having a breakfast buffet for around 8 Euros but we were happy with continental. We also had lunch here a few times....although outside as the weather was amazing...and that was fine too....not too expensive for being on a main square!

All-in-all, we had a great stay at the Miau and would recommend it as a good value option in a fairly expensive area. Thank-you Hotel Miau for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Smilinglady52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

During our stay, the restaurant in Hotel Miau caught fire. The hotel was filled with smoke and we had to evacuate. No fire alarms went off. After waiting in the rain for three hours, the hotel was cleared for occupancy. However, a strong smoke smell lingered so we decided to check out early. When leaving, we wanted to be comped for the hours spent waiting for the fire to be extengiushed. The owner became irate, pushed my boyfriend, and held us against our will until we paid the entire amount under duress. Police were called and we filed charges against the owner. Besides this total chaotic episode, the beds were uncomfortable and the wifi spotty. The room was semi-dirty, hair in the shower and dust bunnies rolling around the floor. If you would like to be valued as a guest, this place should be skipped over entirely.

Room Tip: Complete disregard for guests.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights . Wonderful location friendly staff .Rooms basic but warm and cosy.Bar and restaurant in hotel were around corner so not great you were just treated like passing trade and did,nt feel as if you were a hotel guest.,that was the only negative to this trip.

Room Tip: rooms with heavy shutters keep out traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanfitz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We were travelling with our family and took two double rooms, one of them was nice, the other one was with one small window, with no daylight, with a bit of dust. Other thing was that in our rooms we did not have hot water in the evening as in the morning. That was not the worst thing, the attitude of reception was. At first I called them to tell that, they said that they will call me back after a minute, of course, they did not, then when I called them again they tried to convince me that everybody else in the hotel has hot water, when I said that other room hadn't hot water as well, then they said that all centre is without hot water. I could not understand the attitude of reception and I could see clearly that they lied. When I said I wanted to talk to manager they replied that I could come tomorrow, even though they knew I checked out today. Bad experience, would not recommend, unless you enjoy cold showers.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank luize_st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
#69 of 436 in Madrid
851 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#47 of 436 in Madrid
1,229 reviews
Huertas
Ibis Styles Madrid Prado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Vincci Soho
Vincci Soho
#109 of 436 in Madrid
1,517 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Madrisol
Hotel Madrisol
#329 of 436 in Madrid
333 reviews
Centro
Hotel Alhambra Suites
Hotel Alhambra Suites
#247 of 436 in Madrid
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miau

Property: Hotel Miau
Address: Calle Principe 26 | Corner Pza. Santa Ana, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miau 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Hotel in the heart of the city Placed in the historical Square of Santa Ana, its charming historic building dated from the 19 th century (1890) offers wonderful views to the famous square based in the shopping and tourist center of Madrid. In that same square you can enjoy of its wonderful terraces, excellent restaurants and typical bars of Madrid. The room’s deprived balconies offer wonderful views to Santa Ana’s Square as well as all the comforts required for a pleasant stay, completely soundproof, free Wifi service ranging the whole building and coordinated fares with the parking facilities available in the same square. Hotel Facilities: - 24 hour Front Desk - Coordinated fares with the parking service available in that same square - Breakfast served from Monday until Sunday from 08:00 t 11:00 h - Tourist information and make-online bookings - Wake-up call service - Luggage and baggage storage room - Power adaptors and chargers available - Daily national press - Medical assistance (under request) - Baby cots/cradles available - Free WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Miau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miau Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing