We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Ranked #86 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Hayward, California
2 reviews
“Great find!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were here the last week of June. Our room was the one in the pictures with the slanted ceiling (and a VERY small window). It was a comfortable size but due to the slant it was irritating to have to remember to watch out for our heads. The bathroom was a good size for a European bathroom and the hotel was very clean. The. Internet connection was very good, if that's important to you. The morning staff were super nice and very helpful, the afternoon staff were lack luster.
The location was great as we were able to walk everywhere. Overall it was a great experience, after all when in Madrid you don't go there to hang out in your hotel room, but when we did it was a nice resting place. I took the one point off for the irritating ceiling and the lack of window.

Room Tip: Ask to not be put in the room with the slanted ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura122875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PetitPalaceCarmen, Director de Recepción at Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest;

I would like to thank you for taking the time to infor Tripadvisor users about your stay at Petit Palace Plaza Del Carmen, your comments are very important for us and help us to improve our services.

We hope to see you in the future and enjoy Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen again.

Best Regards
Marta Andrés .Front desk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    262
    91
    27
    8
See reviews for
197
231
23
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Our time on the hotel was disappointing, the photos you see here show much bigger rooms and spaces. Our room was very small, not even space for our bags. The room was not as clean as I would have liked, mainly because the decor was looking tired and worn. It was also incredibly noisy, from an outside AC fan and cleaning staff that bang every door! The breakfast staff were quite rude and unfriendly, breakfast closes at 10:30am and the staff tell you every 5 minutes, it closes in 15, in 10, in 5! Not the way you expect to be treated in a so called 4 star hotel.... avoid this place, I wish we had.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PetitPalaceCarmen, Gerente at Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear Paul;
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing the hotel for your stay in Madrid and for sharing your time making a review about your experience at the hotel. We take all the complaints very seriously in our company, our main goal is to improve our services and give and excellence stay to our clients. Obiously, in this particular case unfortunately we did not get our goal.

We are so sorry if your stay was not 100% satisfactory we assigned that kind of room because of a preference we checked in your reservation.

About breakfast staff I can confirm you after investigating your report the extra office who helped the titular waiter and who attended you belongs to a temporary work company, we have reported about your comments , of course it is not our usual way to work.

I will be glad if you can give us a new opportunity, so please do not hesitate in contact with me for your next visit to Madrid , we will do our best to give you an excellent service.

Best Regards
Gemma de Tera
Dpto.Dirección
gemma.tera@petitpalace.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights but did not enjoy the stay much - apart from the fact that the location was good and close to most of the key areas. Rooms were very small - even though we were not expecting a massive one. Furnishing was nothing special, although it was generally clean. Restaurant downstairs is good.
Booked combined flights and hotel deal - but did not feel that I got a good bargain just on the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderer_na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PetitPalaceCarmen, Gerente at Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear Guest;

Thanks for choosing our hotel for your stay in Madrid, we also want to thank you for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor users. We are happy for knowing you could enjoyed our location, in fact the hotel is located in the heart of Madrid.

We are sorry if you our minimalist furniture was not of your liking, anyway we take note of your suggestion .

We are looking forward for your next visit.
Best Regards
Gemma de Tera
Dpto Dirección
gemma.tera@petitpalace.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My first time in Madrid this little hotel was a great find. Rooms are tiny but they are clean and comfortable and modern. The bathroom was great and there are small touches that make you feel very welcomeweets on the bed etc. The location is excellent close to Gran Via and Sol but also on a quiet square. The restaurant next door is great to sit outside, have a drink and people watch. Staff in the hotel are very helpful and friendly. I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkAuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PetitPalaceCarmen, Director de Recepción at Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest; Thanks for sharing your good experience about your stay at Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen Hotel . We appreciate your comments and we wil pass on your congratulations to whole the staff. We are looking forward for your next visit at the hotel. Best Regards .Marta Andrés.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The hotel description was very misleading when we booked this hotel. We booked a room for 4 adults, and the reservation indicated that this room was normal $600+ per night. It is Europe and we did not expect a big room. The footprint of the room was fine, but the description did not indicate that a high percentage of the room was unusable due to the deeply sloping ceiling. In reality, the ceiling slope downward across the entire room. You were only able to stand upright if you were standing on either side of the bed. To walk around the foot of the bed, one had to bend over to navigate the low ceiling and beams. One of our grown children had a bed that was located at the low part of the room, and was unable to sit up in bed, and we moved the bed out, so that she would not hit her head on the overhead beams in the night time. The beds in the room were poorly maintained, and our master bed was actual two beds pushed together, and one of the bed was a box spring with a thin pad on top. Upon further inspection found that the whole side of the box spring/"mattress" was torn and shredded.

In addition, there was one small window in the room that was high enough that it was not possible to look out.

Ad claimed that the room had a TV and computer. The TV was miniature and the computer had a broken keyboard.

Purchased online and paid Euro 250 per night!!!! The night before stayed in Seville at an amazing hotel that was Euro 200 per night. The two hotels could not have been more different.

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid and go someplace else. The Melia chain of hotels are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxdanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta d, Gerente at Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Sir;
First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to make a review about your stay at the hotel. We have carefully investigated your complaints and I wish apologize for any inconvenience caused you. Inform you we have two types of familiar rooms, standar quadruple or triple rooms and quadruple / triple roof room, obiously we didn´t assign you the right room with your preferences , we are very sorry about that.
We will be glad if in your next visit you can inform us in order to give you an upgrade and offer you our superior quadruple room.
We are looking forward to see you soon and give us the chance to show you our improvements.
Best Regards
Gemma Tera
Manager
gemma.tera@petitpalace.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Have stayed in Petit Palaces in Barcelona & Seville. They are pretty good standard wise & in central locations.
The Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen was in a good location just behind the main shopping street Grand Via. Our room was a bit on the small side,the bed took up the whole bedroom area. Nice french windows overlooked the square. A bit noisy at night from a few homeless people & above the restaurant. We didn't take up the offer of breakfast which was 7€ pp as loads of places near by to have breakfast.
Found the city centre really easy to get around on foot,but also bought a day travel pass which can be used on buses/metro. Just over 8€ pp.
Reception staff were courteous but didn't really need to ask them anything.
Would probably try one of the other Petit Palaces if we stayed in Madrid again,just to be different!

Room Tip: Maybe not overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz C, Gerente at Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Client;

We would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your experience at Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen to Tripadvisor users. We are glad to know you enjoyed the location at the hotel. We are sorry if there was some noise coming from outside at any moment.
You are right it´s very easy to walk round here to different places Museums, shops, and Historical Buildings anyway we have good communication with Metro and bus to all different places to Madrid.
We hope to see you in the future, and if you need more information about that city or other from Spain dont hesitate in contact with us.
Best Regards
Gemma de Tera Manager gemma.tera@petitpalace.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I felt very good at this hotel.
It is well positioned in Madrid: just at few minutes from Puerta del Sol, but in the same time on a quiet street.
The rooms are not very big, but are equiped with everything necessary for a pleasant stay.( even a laptop in the room).
At arrival we found on the table an " welcome" plate with fruits and a bottle of water.
The breakfast is very good and varied- wiith hot and cold food, fruits, cakes, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz C, Gerente at Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Client;

I would like to thank you for sharing your comments with Tripadvisor users. It´s a pleasure to know you enjoyed our facilities at Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen****.

We are looking forward for your next visit.

Best Regards

Gema de Tera
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces
Petit Palace Tres Cruces
#80 of 435 in Madrid
925 reviews
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#49 of 435 in Madrid
2,977 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Alcala
Petit Palace Alcala
#103 of 435 in Madrid
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Malasana
Petit Palace Triball
Petit Palace Triball
#67 of 435 in Madrid
750 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen

Property: Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Address: Plaza del Carmen 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHARMING 4* HOTEL - PERSONAL COMPUTER WITH FREE WIFI IN EVERY ROOM FOUND RIGHT IN THE HEART OF MADRID!!This elegant hotel has been wholly renovated converting it into a modern hotel, situated in the heart of Madrid in the popular square "Plaza del Carmen" where the Madrid's main public parking and typical tapas bars can be found, just around the corner from the main street "Gran Via" and the famous "Puerta del Sol".Some of the hotel's outstanding services include: luggage service, free WIFI, rooms with hydro-massage showers with built in saunas (some rooms), rooms with Jacuzzi (some rooms), special loft type rooms...Its large bright rooms with tall windows and contemporary decor have been fitted with a vast array of modern and useful creature comforts to ensure a relaxing and memorable stay. The hotel strives to provide guests with quality accommodation which is not only affordable, but also complemented by professional staff and reliable services.Rooms are available on request with twin or double beds, exterior or interior views (on request) and our outstanding Family rooms have capacity for up to 4 persons, ideal for families or groups of friends.If you have any special requests (special room for honeymoon, bedding requests ect) please don't hesitate to contact us, we will be more than happy to make your stay as memorable as possible!!ALL YOU NEED TO ENJOY YOUR STAY IN MADRID!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Plaza Del Carmen Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing