We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive plus value”
Review of Don Pio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Don Pio
Ranked #248 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We are a couple in our fifties. We needed a hotel near a metro line from the airport, as we would be arriving at 11.30pm. Also we needed to continue our journey to La Poveda, which is nearly the end of line 9, so we needed an easy journey early next morning. Hotel Don Pio was almost exactly outside metro Pio Xii. Our hunger at 11.30 pm was perfectly sated with a decent bar meal, graciously served. Large and comfortable room with an opening window (a necessary requirement for us) and heating that worked well. Excellent and impressive bathroom facilities. Minuses - they only had a smoking room left (we were late) but the atmosphere was ok and we could open the window and leave it while we ate. Small minus - they only had twin adjoining beds available. Next morning, adequate breakfast, very fresh, good juice and coffee.
The hotel is built round an indoor courtyard,which houses the lounge and dining room and is most beautifully furnished and maintained. Excellent value for E108 thereabouts. Impressive, and good value.

Room Tip: Ask for no smoking room, with double bed if you prefer.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MerrillfromPinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Don Pio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2011

The Hotel Don Pio was recommended to my husband and I by friends who live in Madrid. I knew the neighborhood from living in that area 30 years ago. Quiet and upscale area of Madrid at a very, very good rate. A four-star hotel, Don Pio is a class of its own. The old colonial decoration and construction of the hotel and rooms are as a friend puts it "A pure example of the owners/builders whims". Great service, all around the hotel departments and an extraordinary breakfast buffet. The housekeeping service was amazing! I left my room for a few minutes and upon my return, my room was clean and made! The only drawback to this hotel would be a not so central location from Madrid's nightlife. However, there is a metro station right across the street. There are also plenty of buses which take you to downtown Madrid, while sightseeing the streets of this elegant city. It's a good thing to go out at night but come back to a beautiful and quiet room. We loved it and we'll definitely go back there every time we visit that city!

Room Tip: Ask for the second or third floor rooms since they get less traffic (guests) noise.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belotoCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

It was the second time I stayed in this hotel. The cleaning had became slightly worse since my first visit: the room had been dusty at first, but it was cleaned on my request and kept clean during my stay. In a nutshell, the hotel is nice enough, the rooms are spacious (the bathrooms aren’t though), the breakfast is various, the staff is very helpful and there is a subway stop just in front of the entrance.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohannaGuerrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

ive stayed here 5 times so far for biz. wonderful hotel. the rooms are large between 35-45m, standard inroom amenities. the staff are amazing, very helpful, very kind, all have been at hotel for many years. morning breakfast is standard selection nothing exceptional but has everything one needs. free wifi throughout hotel including rooms. value for money nothing can compare. there is a huge hypermarket across st. u can get whatever u like, no hotel restrictions, theyll even help you with your drinks. metro also across st. and many nice shops, rest in area.

the cons, room service isnt 24hrs, tv in room needs to be upgraded including more english channel selections.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherif27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

The Hotel is in the center of Madrid, It was very easy to book by phone, good personnel, the rooms are of excellent style, they have a beautiful restaurant (the shape, I didn't eat there). The Hotel itself is not big, quite small, but the room space is OK. a small lift, I didn't check the room service. good reception. There is Supermarket and Metro station near the Hotel.
But it is expensive ! not a very good value.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rashid_DZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2007

Don Pio is an nice, upscale hotel that is well suited for business travelers. The rooms are very large and exceptionally clean. They are air conditioned and internet accessible. The breakfast is one of the nicer buffets we've encountered in Europe: variety of breads and pastries, fresh fruit and juices, local delicacies, eggs and ham, cereal, yogurt, and churros with hot chocolate.

The hotel is also fairly convenient for tourists. It's directly across the street from a metro stop and a bus stop. However, it takes about 30 minutes to get down to the main tourist attractions.

We did run into a few significant bumps that would never have been so easily dismissed in the US. We requested wake up calls for two rooms on our first morning. They failed to put through the calls and so part of our group was several hours late for meetings. The hotel staff was quite unapologetic about this. Fortunately for us, there were no significant ramifications.

We also had a mix up with laundry services that took more than a day to "iron" out. The hotel staff kept returning laundry that wasn't ours while our laundry was M.I.A.

Finally, we had a huge problem with a bathroom sink that wasn't draining. It was filled with little hairs. I asked the hotel staff to take care of it while we were out and we never had another challenge.

These little things were significant enough to note, but did not detract from the rest of our stay at Don Pio. We enjoyed the friendly staff and the local restaurants in a completely un-touristy neighborhood. The hotel is also about a fifteen minute taxi ride or a 20 minute subway ride from the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Morsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank Roberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
0.8 mi away
AC Hotel Cuzco
AC Hotel Cuzco
#165 of 438 in Madrid
767 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Madrid Paseo de la Habana
0.7 mi away
Hotel Via Castellana
Hotel Via Castellana
#257 of 438 in Madrid
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Senator Castellana Hotel
Senator Castellana Hotel
#235 of 438 in Madrid
477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Quinta De Los Cedros
Hotel Quinta De Los Cedros
#277 of 438 in Madrid
106 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel 4C Puerta Europa
Hotel 4C Puerta Europa
#280 of 438 in Madrid
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Pio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Pio

Address: Avenida Pio XII 25, 28016 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#84 Business Hotel in Madrid
#153 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £83 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Don Pio 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Don Pio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Pio Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing