We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Don Pio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Don Pio
Ranked #248 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I stayed in this hotel during one of my business trips.
The rooms are spacious and the beds a re comfortable.
Breakfast is good without any frills. the hotel has a very traditional look. They still use keys instead of card. The receptionist is very polite and helpful. The metro is just oppostire the hotel.(i.e. you have to just cross the road) and then you can get anywhere in the city.
I stayed for 5 days. there is a supermarket just opposite the hotel above the metro station and I could get everything essential from there. there are a few decent restaurants near the circle at a 10 mins walk on the left once you get out of the hotel. Even though it is not in the city center its well connect by bus and metro just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Globe-Trotter-Sach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donpio, Propietario at Don Pio, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your comment. It´s really important for us your opinión about us and be sure that we ´ll always be in trying to improve all our services.

Waiting for your next visit.
Best regards.

E. Palomero.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Don Pio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2013

Value for money - a definate yes.
Location - fantastic.
Rooms - spacious, clean and tidy
My first time at this hotel, only stayed one night as I was on a business trip.
I was welcomed very nicely at the reception and found all of the staff polite and friendly.
Good spread for breakfast

I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to both business and city break people

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanL789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donpio, Propietario at Don Pio, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013
Google Translation

Todo el equipo del hotel Don Pío le agradecemos su amable comentario, a la espera de sus futuras visitas. Trabajamos para que todos nuestros clientes tengan la mejor de las estancias en nuestro hotel.
Saludos cordiales.
Estrella Palomero.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I've been there several times, both on business trips and city breaks. When it comes to business, it's well connected to the airport, has a nice lounge and good service. And when it comes to city breaks, the place is not a typical impersonal brand hotel. Helpful personnel, big and nicely furnished rooms, and cosy atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthB424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donpio, Propietario at Don Pio, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you very much for your nice and helpfull comment. Waiting for Your next visit.
Estrella Palomero
,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Having stayed at this place on numerous times as has become a favorite of mine in Madrid. It is not very expensive, but is good value with a nice open "inner court" which gives this hotel a nice cozy atmosphere. It is really good value for money and is highly recommended although not in the very centre of town - it is still close to the tube and a few restaurants and grocery stores...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Loved this overnight stay and will certainly use it any visit to Madrid; good location near Metro, parking no problem. Didn't eat in hotel as I was hosted out for dinner in nearby excellent restaurant and was catching early train, on which I breakfasted.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RayBillington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donpio, Propietario at Don Pio, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We will always glad to host you with us, see you next time in Madrid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I stayed here on business, but the hotel is of an extremely good standard. Traditional Spanish decor and high quality staff. They are very helpful and spoke great English, for those of us who don't hablan español!

The metro is just across the road and the city centre only a few stops away. A cab ride of ten minutes will have you in the heart of Madrid and the fabulous bars and restaurants.

The food at the Don Pio is reasonably priced and of good quality. I highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
estrell p, Propietario at Don Pio, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thank you very much for your kind opinion. Is a great encouragement to continue our daily work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stay at this hotel regularly when in Madrid. It is a little bit of a walk to any of the shops/sights but with the local weather usually pleasant this isn't much of a problem for me!

The hotel bar and restaurant are basic but of excellent quality. The menu is available in English.

The rooms I have stayed in are all excellent, spacious and well appointed. The cabled internet works brilliantly without any logins or fuss.

Unfortunately I have occasionally found the reception and waiting staff a little less than delightful - never rude or anything just obviously busy and "not keen".

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank uk_explorer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donpio, Propietario at Don Pio, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Thank you so much for your comment, it is always a pleasure to know the opinion of our guests. Yes we know we´re not in the city center " Sol" but we´re very well conected by metro (PIO XII station is just in front of us) and bus stop only 5 metres away from the hotel .Lines 150 drives you through the Castellana street to SOL,and many other like 16,51,29........all of them to the most important places of the city. Santiago Bernabéu stadium is only 10 min walking away and it´s placed in The Castellana. Only it depens if you are on holidays or for other bussiness. All the staff and myself will be glad to show you the way and all the possibilites to all the places you want to visit.....................................

Waiting for your next visit to our hotel were you always are very wellcomed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
0.8 mi away
AC Hotel Cuzco
AC Hotel Cuzco
#165 of 438 in Madrid
767 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Madrid Paseo de la Habana
0.7 mi away
Hotel Via Castellana
Hotel Via Castellana
#257 of 438 in Madrid
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Senator Castellana Hotel
Senator Castellana Hotel
#235 of 438 in Madrid
476 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Quinta De Los Cedros
Hotel Quinta De Los Cedros
#277 of 438 in Madrid
106 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel 4C Puerta Europa
Hotel 4C Puerta Europa
#280 of 438 in Madrid
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Pio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Pio

Address: Avenida Pio XII 25, 28016 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#84 Business Hotel in Madrid
#153 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £83 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Don Pio 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Don Pio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Pio Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing