We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location- Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Ranked #43 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Best location- Excellent service”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This is my second time in Alicia. I stayed 4 nights with my whole family (3 kids). The best location at "Barrio las Letras" walking distance to many attractions. Excellent restaurants in the neighbordhood and around the plaza santa ana. I would recomend this hotel to anyone!!! Enjoy Madrid

Room Tip: Get the Duplex nice huge terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    460
    91
    21
    9
See reviews for
108
749
73
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Our family of 5 spend 4 nights in Alicia and had an outstanding experience! The location is very central, rooms are good and clean. The staff is very welcoming and helpful with tips and reservations!
A truly outstanding place to discover Madrid!

Room Tip: We were lucky and had 2 rooms on third floor overlooking the square! Ask when you make the reservati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, B.C., Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We spent two nights at the RM Alicia in early June, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Having never visited Madrid before, we were pleased to find our hotel very centrally located for all the sites we wished to see. Museum Row (the Prado, Reina Sophia and Thyssen) is an easy 10 -15 minute walk away; Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, Palacio Real, and Old Madrid easily walkable and Plaza Santa Anna is right outside your door. Numerous restaurants, tapas bars and cafes, for all budgets, can be found in the immediate area (try Mercado San Miguel, just past Plaza Mayor, for informal dining and multiple choices of Spanish fare). Good central location for shopping and if you want to see more of the city or extend your shopping choices, the Metro is easily accessed at Puerta del Sol, or on Calle Atocha, just a few blocks from your hotel.
Rooms are a bit small, but well laid out and comfortable, and we certainly stayed in smaller rooms elsewhere during our vacation. Try Room Mate Alicia - you will really enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with outside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherpakirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very kind review. We appreciate you taking the time to do this.

We are very pleased to hear that our team were helpful, cleans and moderms rooms .It is always our aim to make our guests feel like they are in a home away from home.

Regards,

Eva de Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed 4 nights in room 205 on the night Spain won Euro 2012 and the home coming the next night.Noise was bearable ! Great location on Plaza Santa Ana within walking distance of many attractions.Very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel clean and well kept. Room modern with a great shower.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james954031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I am a loyal customer to the Room Mate chain; I keep coming back because I am sure of the quality standard I can expect from RM. However, Alicia did fail to live up to my expectations with the cheap and unappealing breakfast. Needless to say that after the first day we got our breakfast from one of the many brassieres/bars/restaurants located on the Santa Ana square, or the Hotel “Melia Me” on the opposite side of Alicia. There is nothing like starting a day with a complete, diverse and fresh breakfast, however, RM Alicia has outsourced that service to the bar adjacent to their reception. True, the price is 6.90 Euro for plain filter coffee, Juices from concentrated; Tesco basic tastes way better, some old and dry Spanish tortilla, and limited choice of anything else. An espresso or anything not on the improvised buffet was at additional cost. In my opinion this has been a huge mistake. Never compromise on quality, double the price and offer a descent breakfast like all other RM hotels. Although, the hotel is located on an exceptional location, I was not overly impressed and for our next visit to Madrid I’ll book another RM hotel and avoid Alicia.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are I guess all on the inside around the central kind of patio. Very quite, comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManwellLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
I am deeply sorry to know that during your stay you found the unappealing breakfast and I will make sure to improve the breakfast service.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again in the near future, we will make sure you will satisfy with the room.
I am very glad to hear you will come back to Room Mate Hotels.

Regards,

Eva de Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Roommate Alicia for our 4 nights in Madrid. The hotel itself was modern, clean and well kept. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was fantastic, right on the Plaza Santa Ana. It was walking distance to many things - sights, the metro, nightlife and restaurants. The breakfast was also good. We didn't get breakfast included each morning but it was available for purchase a 7 euro per person so we got it 2 mornings.
One thing to note is that in our room at least the bathroom was not completely private. The shower and sink were visible to the main room, and of course the toilet had a door for privacy. Not a problem for my husband and I, but something to think about if you are traveling with a friend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrisLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear guests:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Room Mate Alicia on Tripadvisor.

Our guests feedback is extremely important to us and I am very glad that you found the hotel was very comfortable and modern and clean

We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again in the near future.

Eva de Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed at Alicia for 4 nights 11 -15th June. On arrival we were given room 103 and after reading reviews about the noise from the doors, I was a bit apprehensive, but needn't have worried. Yes, there is a bit of noise when the doors open and close but nothing major.
The junior suites are fantastic, lots of space and a great view of Plaze de Santa Ana. Staff were very welcoming and the rooms were spotless, believe me, if my wife thinks they are clean, they are really clean!!! The bath was huge and very welcome after a long day walking around Madrid, as was the iced lemon water in reception.
We only had breakfast once, as we prefer some more Spanish, toast and tomato or churros, but it was fine.
The location of the hotel is perfect. An easy walk to the main sights and a short walk to Sol for the metro.
A perfect stay for our first time in Madrid and we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Junior suites are brilliant, curved corner rooms, lots of space and a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magicman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences! It is very gratifying to read of your satisfaction with us.

We are very pleased to hear that our team were helpful and I aprecciate your comment about not noise in the Junior Suite.

And It is fantastic that you like the spanish food (Churros, chocolate,etc...) I thinking of including it in our breakfast.

We hope to see you the next occasion.

Eva de Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 435 in Madrid
1,612 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#7 of 435 in Madrid
1,477 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#44 of 435 in Madrid
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Huertas
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
#76 of 435 in Madrid
862 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#19 of 435 in Madrid
1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Room Mate Alicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Room Mate Alicia

Property: Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Address: Calle Prado 2, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#36 Business Hotel in Madrid
#49 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Room Mate Alicia 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Room Mate Alicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Alicia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing