We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Ranked #46 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I've just spent 3 nights in this very well run, friendly, centrally located boutique hotel. I had a lovely executive room with its own terrace which was very reasonably priced. There is an excellent, generous and varied breakfast available for only 7.50 Euros. I can't recommend it all highly enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Dear James H,

Thank you very much for the time you spent writing your point of view of our hotel!

We are so pleased to know that you have enjoyed your visit to Madrid and the hotel seemed welcoming for you.

It would be a pleasure to see you soon!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 1,320 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed for a long week-end with my wife and really enjoyed the hotel.
+ Very nice people at reception, very helpful... A real pleasure to be welcomed that way
+ Nice area... and perfect situation (Plaza Santa Anna pretty charming with nice tapas bars...)
+ Nice decoration in the rooms.
+ At the opposite of some other comments I read, we liked the breakfast... Pretty simple but quiet restaurant and anything you need for a good start in the day.
- Only negative point, to me, was the noise coming from the rooms next doors (shower, or... else)...

We definitely recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yves D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Dear Yves

Thank you so much for your opinion!

You have made a detailed description and we really appreciate your help. This helps future travellers to make a real idea about our hotel .

Hopefully we will see you in a future, we always wait for you with a smile!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Situated on the corner of Calle Prado 2 and Plaza Santa Ana, the hotel is situated in the Barrio las Letras with has plenty of restaurants and tapas bar. Exactly between the Prado and the Palacio Real you can visit most of the attractions just walking.
The hotel has 6 years only and I got a nice room on the 3rd floor viewing Calle Prado.
The bathroom is in the room itself, the shower is big and with good water pressure.
Excellent Wi-Fi in the whole hotel (free) and good heating/aircon system.
Breakfast is offered in the tapas bar next door which is connected.
Good choice for a 3 star hotel.
Employees are very helpful and friendly.
The only negative point was that 1 of the 2 mattress was really very soft, but I was travelling alone I slept on the other one.
Definitively a good choice for a city trip to Madrid at a decent price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susy-1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear Susy-1974,

Thank you so much for taking few minutes of your valuable time to write your opinion about us.

We really appreciate your description of our hotel as an expert traveller. Is a pleasure to know that our hotel have fulfilled your expectations.

We hope to see you soon!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed for one week at the Room Mate Alicia hotel in Madrid for our honeymoon. The location was absolutely amazing!! Right off of the Plaza Santa Ana, and a 5 minute walk to the Puerta Del Sol with all the shopping centers. A quick walk to the Puerta de Atocha Train station from which we took trains to Toledo, Valencia, and Sevilla for day trips!! Very close to the Prado museum as well. Overall IDEAL location. The hotel itself was nice. Rooms were very clean and modern. We had a view on the Plaza Santa Ana so it was very pleasant. The only thing I can say we werent 100% happy with was the breakfast at the restaurant downstairs. In our nightly rate the breakfast was included, so we felt it was a waste to go eat elsewhere, but the selection of foods was a bit limited. We plan to go back to Room Mate Alicia if we ever go back to Madrid, but we would rather pay less per night, and not have the breakfast included. Overall amazing stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear Caroline,

We want to thank you for your kind words!

We really hope you have enjoyed your honeymoon week in Madrid, as I can read in your review you took the most of your trip!

About the breakfast, we take yours and other guest opinion into account and is a gratification tell you that in the last week we have changed it and we have a wide variety of new products as scramble eggs, bacon, fruits... so if we have the pleasure to see you soon, please do not forget to taste it!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Had a very enjoyable three night stay at the Room Mate Alicia. Clean, spacious rooms. Bathroom integrated into the room but it was fine and showers were excellent. Very friendly, helpful staff including the lovely room maid. Great location on pleasant Plaza Santa Ana. Walkable to basically all the things to do even including the Vicente Calderon if you're feeling energetic! Lots of restaurants & bars nearby but blackout curtains and good double glazing meant sleeping never a problem. Breakfast was fine too and served til noon which was a pleasant surprise but fits in with the fuss-free nature of the hotel.

An excellent place to stop in central Madrid.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjg51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Dear rjg51

We get very happy everytime we read our guests have felt and lived what we call "The Room Mate Experience".

Thank you very much as well for sharing your experience with other travelers who can find it useful if they are planning to visit our great city.

We do wish to welcoming you again in your next visit to Madrid.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend staying in Room Mate Alicia's Junior Suite! We both truly loved this hotel, the room was fantastic and the view, I think it's one of the best from a hotel room you can get in Madrid!! The hotel is perfectly situated too so you can walk to most places of interest and there's loads of little streets nearby with great bars etc to eat tapas!! We will definitely be back to stay at Room Mate Alicia, the staff are great and very friendly and it has been a truly fantastic weekend - I want to transport myself back there now!

Room Tip: Get a Junior Suite, the views from these rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BambiMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Dear Bambi Moore

Thank you so much for your kind words!
It is a great pleasure to know that you really enjoy our hotel!

The junior suite is one of the best and most romantic rooms in Alicia so you make the best choice to make your trip unforgettable!

We will wait you for your next visit to Madrid!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This is our 2nd trip to Madrid. First time at a Room Mate. The Alicia is a modern, stylish space located on Plaza Santa Anna only a 10 minute walk to the Prado, Thyssen-Bornemisza, and Plaza Mayor, and just a slightly longer walk to the Atocha rail station, Park Retiro and the Royal Palace. There are also dozens of options for food and drink nearby, and NOT all tapas places. The friendly staff is one of the things that struck as the most. Special thanks to Esther and Christina and to the rest whose names we did not record. We actually stayed here TWICE on this trip. For five nights at the beginning, and one night at the end. We stayed in two VERY different rooms (see below). You might want to review that info before selecting a room. Breakfast was a very nice buffet at the connected bar/tapas place.

Room Tip: On our first stay (5 night), we requested a quiet room. We stayed in 309, a clean, modern,well appoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K&CYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear K&C York!

Wow! what a nice review!
we really want to thank you to take your time to write it!

As I can read, you really enjoy your stay in Madrid
Ester, Cristina and all the staff would like to thank your kind words and we really hope to see you soon!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 441 in Madrid
1,755 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#42 of 441 in Madrid
1,963 reviews
Huertas
ME BY MELIA MADRID Reina Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#67 of 441 in Madrid
1,792 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#9 of 441 in Madrid
1,635 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Room Mate Alicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Room Mate Alicia

Address: Calle Prado 2, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#36 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £62 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Room Mate Alicia 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Room Mate Hotels, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Room Mate Alicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Alicia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing