We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Ranked #40 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location, average hotel”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The hotel was in a perfect location. Modern hotel but a tight squeeze all around. Our room was nice but the carpet rather grungy but the room was clean. We didn't spend much time in our room so it was not a problem. The breakfast was served next door and was good. If just me and my husband we would stay again but somewhere else with our children.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicWhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    449
    87
    21
    7
See reviews for
103
724
68
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed here for a week and took the advice of other reviewers to pay for the larger corner room/junior suite - well worth the extra. We had plenty space and a great view over the square. You could lie in bed and watch what was happening although best to keep the light out or the neighbouring buildings have a view of you! The room was comfortable and had a large bath which took a long time to fill but once it did, a great soak after a day pounding the pavements of Madrid.

The location could not have been better - the museum triangle was a 10/15 minute walk in one direction while the palace and cathedral were a similar distance in the other. The square itself had a couple of decent places to eat and the fancier restaurants we booked were all walkable, as was the shopping area north of Park Retiro.

The hotel restaurant is being redone so breakfast was at another hotel a couple of blocks down the street. We were right above the restaurant and had a little workman noise quite early one morning but when we complained they ensured it didn't happen again. Ask for a room higher up if you're concerned.

The staff were very helpful and friendly - most seemed to speak pretty good English. We liked the free wifi gadget which allowed us to use our mobiles for internet around the city. Also free wifi in the hotel and apparently in Plaza Santa Ana, the square outside. We would stay here again very happily.

Room Tip: Junior Suite worth every penny for space and view (and bath).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lhenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear lhenni,

It is a perfect opinion! thank you so much for sharing with other travellers! and I have to tell that you are really good knowledgeable of the city! (was not your first time ;) and we hope will not the last!)
We really hope you have enjoyed your stay with us
It will be a pleasure if we can welcome you in a future!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Our room was very comfortable, with one of the best wifi connections we have had in a hotel, The staff were courteous and helpful, arranging taxis to and from airport. A problem with our original allocated room was swiftly and professionally dealt with and we were moved to another room. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Gillian F,

Thank you so much for your opinion!
We really hope you have enjoyed your visit to Madrid and your stay with us!
it will be a huge pleasure to welcome you again in a future!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

When we arrived at Mate Alicia, we were given room 106 which was very nice but we asked about a room on a higher floor. None was available at the time. After 3 nights we left to go down south for a week. Upon leaving, we asked if we would be better off booking through hotels.com or through them directly. The manager said to contact her directly and she would be able to give us a better price. Prior to returning, we contacted Room Alicia to book a room for our retun in Madrid. They gave us a suite on a higher floor - a clear upgrade at a lower price than we had paid initially since we were "special guests." They also included breakfast for free. They made us feel very welcome and we really enjoyed the room which had a downstairs living room and outdoor patio and an upstairs bedroom and bathroom. It was like an apartment and had many windows overlooking Santa Ana square. We will definitely return to Alicia on our return trips to Madrid.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 68Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear 68Margaret
First I would like to thank you so much for take your time in write an opinion about your two stays!
It is a pleasure to know you have enjoyed your visit to Spain (Madrid & Sevilla!) and we really hope you feel double welcome :) Perhaps we will welcome you again soon!
Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff. The rooms where clean and had a cool design. The floor was a bit old, but clean. The location was fantastic, we could walk to restaurants, museu reina sofia and museu del prado. There are also metro stations close.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Nicole H

Thank you so much for your opinion!
We really hope you have enjoyed your visit.
We look forward to welcoming you in the early future!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My husband and I traveled with another couple and a solo friend and stayed at the Alicia for 2 non-consecutive nights at the front and tail end of our trip. The receptionist Christina was wonderful and welcoming and upgraded both us and the other couple to suites! The suites are beautiful corner rooms with floor to ceiling windows overlooking Plaza Santa Ana. The large marble soaking tub was spotless clean and wonderful to soak in after a full day of sightseeing.

The windows are double glass - the outside window you can get a special key from reception in order to open them for fresh air if you like, then there is a space that hold electronic shades and electronic vertical blinds, then an additional glass window. The shades and blinds are operated via a light switch. Seems like overkill but it was really perfect. The double windows and double shades kept all the light and noise from the Plaza out of our room and we were able to sleep great.

The suite was meticulously maintained. In addition to the normal travel toiletries provided by hotels there was a travel razor and cream, a travel toothbrush and paste, and shoe shine kit. Nice full size full power hairdryer as well.

Our second night stay there were no upgraded rooms available so we were in a standard double. The room was just as clean and beautiful, though felt a little less maintained then the suite. All in all still great though.

I have stayed at a few of their properties in Madrid and this was my favorite. The location is top notch on Plaza Santa Ana and you are only a 10 min stroll from all major art museums and Atocha station.

Breakfast is typical - breads, cereals, cheeses, yogurts, fruit, pastry etc. Decent for the price, especially if you remember to grab an apple and pastry for later!

We will absolutely stay here again next time we are in Madrid, and I will just automatically book the upgraded room!

Room Tip: The suites with the soaking tub are awesome and there are ample steps taken to ensure a quiet night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adventuraNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear adventuraNy,

Wow!!! Thank you very much for your words and for sharing your opinion with other travellers! We are so glad you have enjoyed you stay with us and it will be a really pleasure if you decide to come back in a future.

Best regards from Christina & all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland OH
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Our traveling group stayed at Room Mate Alicia the last week of October, and found the hotel very convenient for our first trip to Madrid. With it's central location we were able to walk to all of the sights we had on our list. Plaza Santa Ana gave us enough action, but not so noisy that it interrupted our much needed sleep.

The breakfast provided in our room rate was more than adequate. Hotel staff was very friendly and able to provide us with recommendations on dining and entertainment options.
I would not hesitate to visit Room Mate Alicia again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear mrn1

Thank you so much for your opinion!
It is a really pleasure to know that you and all your friends enjoyed your visit to Alicia & Madrid.
It will be great if you decide to come back in a future! We will wait for you!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#17 of 444 in Madrid
1,531 reviews
Chueca
Room Mate Oscar
Room Mate Oscar
#51 of 444 in Madrid
2,122 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#42 of 444 in Madrid
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
#60 of 444 in Madrid
823 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#54 of 444 in Madrid
1,624 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#9 of 444 in Madrid
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Room Mate Alicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Room Mate Alicia

Property: Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Address: Calle Prado 2, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#36 Business Hotel in Madrid
#49 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Room Mate Alicia 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Room Mate Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Room Mate Alicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Alicia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing