We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved Alicia - Ryan & Martine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Room Mate Alicia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Ranked #45 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Ballymena, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved Alicia - Ryan & Martine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed in Room Mate Alicia for four nights at Easter and it far surpassed our expectations.

We booked Alicia for its fantastic location right on Plaza Santa Ana which provide de perfect central location for seeing everything from the Royal Palace on one side, all the way over to the Retiro Park and Prado Museum. This really was very good value for city centre hotel.

The receptionist who greeted us could not have been nicer or more helpful and made us feel right at home from the very start. In addition to the warm reception, she helped to arrange a room upgrade to a suite which made the trip even more special. All of the front of house staff spoke fluent English.

The suite was spacious and modern, and housekeeping were very thorough and unobtrusive throughout the stay. Inside, the room was bright and the terraza well placed for the morning and afternoon sun, with a view over the plaza Santa Ana. Breakfast is served daily until 11:00 and there is a sushi restaurant attached. However, being placed as it is, you will be keen to get out into Huertas, Santa Ana and Sol to start your day in one of the many cafés or bars that Madrid has to offer.

A great stay. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    445
    85
    21
    7
See reviews for
99
714
67
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were really delighted with our choice of this hotel for our first visit to Madrid. We stayed for 5 nights in the Easter week, and the city was buzzing. The hotel has a great location. It's easy to walk to most areas of interest, and the nearest Metro station is only 5 minutes' walk away. We had a standard room, which was meticulously clean, the bed was very comfortable, there was a mini-bar, A/C, an easy-to-use safe, and excellent WIFI connection. The breakfast was really good and included tortilla, scrambled egg, cheese, juice, cereal, croissants, rolls. The staff were very nice and friendly. There are loads of good bars and restaurants in the area. I hope to visit Madrid again and if I do I'd aim to stay at Alicia.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scorryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed 3 nights.When i booked 10 weeks in advance of arrival,only the standard rooms or a duplex available,,This is not a large hotel,so to give yourself the wider choice of room types maybe it would be a good idea to book earlier rather than later.Loved the suite,and,felt that it was amazing value for money,lots of space,great terrace(arrived late at night,hadnt switched on the external lights,so nearly fell into the plunge pool!) Everything in immaculate order.Great staff,very much enjoyed the breakfast a couple of mornings,Stayed Wed Thur Fri before heading to Toledo.,To be honest, yes we did experience a fair level of noise specifically on our last night,but I am a light sleeper.Was a bit surprised to hear footsteps above us early one morning as we were on the top floor,,hadnt realised , but there appeared to be access to a open roof space above our second floor.Despite some noise however which was I feel to be expected due to the location,this didnt detract from our excellent experience at Room mate Alicia .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lladneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in room 203 with a great view over the square and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel which has very friendly and efficient staff. We had a little fun getting the blinds to work, but got better at it on the second day.The decor in the room and in the adjoining restaurant where breakfast is served is very attractive with bright colours and interesting lighting, shelves etc.
The situation is great to explore Madrid, its museums, and numerous restaurants and tapas bars.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BrigitteM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear BrigitteM21

Thank you so much for your opinion!
We are very glad to know you have enjoyed your visit and also your beautiful room (one of our favourites!)
We do hope you have enjoyed these days in Madrid and of course seeing you again in a future!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

My husband and I stayed in a Junior Suite at the Alicia for three nights. It is on the corner of the Plaza Santa Ana, which is a perfect location - a great mix of tapas, restaurants, bars, and outdoor seating all very close. It is a tourist area, but not too touristy like the other popular Plazas. It was also easy to walk anywhere we wanted to go.
We booked way ahead of time and asked for a room on the top floor - there was a super view of the square and it was totally quiet with the windows closed. The people at the concierge were all so friendly and helpful, too.
We REALLY loved our stay and would recommend this place in a heartbeat!
Only thing to note - there isn't much bathroom privacy (shower/toilet), so make sure you are comfortable with your co traveler :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieCA82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear JulieCA82

Thank you so much for share your opinion!
We really hope you have enjoyed your stay with us and also you have a great time in Madrid.
Hopefully we will welcome you again in a future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We travelled as a couple to celebrate my birthday staying for three nights. The hotel is in a great location and everything is within walking distance and there is easy access to the Metro. We were given a room on the first floor and unfortunately there was a party in the restaurant until the early hours of the morning which was very loud and we hardly got any sleep. The following morning I asked if there was a quieter room available, Jose on reception was great and we were in another room within two hours. We were moved to a top floor room which was slightly bigger and we had no issues with noise after that. The service in this hotel is impeccable and we would especially like to thank Jose. The breakfast was in another hotel just a few doors down this was very good with lots of variety of hot and cold food and drinks. If I was returning to Madrid I would 100% stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleUK222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear MichelleUK222

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with other travelers in this website.
We are very glad to know that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us.
Jose and all the staff will be delighted to welcome you back if you decide to return to Madrid :)

Kind Regards!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

This small-ish hotel on the lovely and lively Plaza Santa Ana is the perfect combination of location, facilities, service and price. The rooms are comfortable with fun decor in good colours. The staff are super friendly and helpful. Rooms at the back are completely quiet. I even liked the philosophy behind the hotel - in each room is a copy of the United Nations Universal Declaration of Human Rights! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddandvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear ddandvb

Thanks for sharing your experience about Room Mate Alicia.
Your words has clearly defined what our hotel is!
We also glad to know that initiatives like the book you can find in every room on human rights are useful and well appreciated by our customers.
It will be a really pleasure to welcome you in a future!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Chueca
Room Mate Oscar
Room Mate Oscar
#46 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#44 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
#61 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#54 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Room Mate Alicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Room Mate Alicia

Property: Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Address: Calle Prado 2, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#36 Business Hotel in Madrid
#49 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Room Mate Alicia 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Room Mate Alicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Alicia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing