We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traveller from Australia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Ranked #40 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Traveller from Australia”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great hotel, so glad I found it on trip advisor. Clean rooms, friendly staff, great location and Wi Fi that works. Travelled trough Europe and Marocco for 3 weeks and this has been one of the best places I stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Karin O,

Thank you for your great evaluation
We really hope you have enjoyed your visit in Madrid and all your fantastic trip.
It will be a pleasure if we see you in a future! :)

Kind Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    449
    87
    21
    7
See reviews for
103
724
68
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Well priced, very helpful staff and great location near all the key sights. so perfect for a weekend stay. Breakfast was good value too. Quietest rooms look onto central light well - so not for those looking for a view.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thestylemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear thestylemeister
Thanks for share your opinion about Room Mate Alicia.
We really hope you have enjoyed your weekend in Madrid!
Hope we will see you in your next visit! ;)
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for week visit to Madrid. Chic modern rooms. Small but well laid out. Right in the center of Madrid centro area just off a plaza. Get the package that includes breakfast. Front desk guy even loaned us a cell to wifi bridge to use in our adventures in Madrid. Our only gripe was the mattress was not very comfortable

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear cfredrickson

Thank you so much for your opinión and for share your opinion with other travelers.
We really hope you enjoyed your visit to Madrid.

Hope to see you son!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is a really great hotel : as far as I could see, everything was simply perfect for us. I was in a room with a wall-sized window : perfectly clean, stylish and comfortable. The bed guaranteed a very good night’s sleep, the glazing filtered out all noise; and the electric blind on the outside guaranteed privacy and silky black darkness at night! We didn’t take breakfast at the hotel, as there are very many places to get amazing breakfast spreads nearby. (This is Madrid, after all.) The location – a short walk from the Prado – is extremely convenient. The staff are efficient and very friendly. I can’t think of anything to fault with this place. (I notice the bad/mediocre reviews date back a few years, and can only conclude that this place has raised its game amazingly since then!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sisyphus11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Sisyphus11

Thank you so much for your kind opinión and for share your experience with other travellers.
We are happy to know you have enjoyed your stay.
Hopefully we willl see you soon!

Kind Regards from Madrid!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
659 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I can heartily recommend this hotel in central Madrid. It's within walking distance to the museums and all the main sights, sits on the corner of a lovely plaza with lots of outdoor cafe seating, offers a great breakfast, and has exceptionally friendly and helpful staff with good English. We stayed in a standard room, which while not large, was sensibly laid out and included a useful settee and table. It is important to note that only the toilet is private (NOT the shower stall), so you may only want to share the room with a significant other. If you are a jazz lover, be sure to go to Cafe Central for live music one evening -- it's just a block away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Wanderlust777

Thank you so much for your kind opinion!
We really hope that your visit was great and you felt special in our hotel.
It will be a pleasure to see you again soon!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at this Hotel for 3 nights in May 2014. It was a great location with most places in walking distance. Although it was so central we were pleased that it was not noisy. Unlike other visitors to the hotel we found that the staff working while were there had limited English. The part that we were not prepared for was that the room did not have an en-suite although it did have a basin (in the room), loo (separated from the room by an ill fitting sliding door) and a shower (glass surround). Fortunately I was with my husband of 24 years so we were able to laugh about the room and lack of 'en-suite'. Not all guests may appreciate the lack of privacy.One reason I had chosen the hotel was because it had breakfast included which we always like before a day's sight seeing. This was adequate although I have had more enjoyable breakfasts in other cities. The coffee machine was very peculiar and took a certain amount of working out how to extract any coffee. On check out the staff tried to charge the full amount although I had paid a deposit. As soon as I pointed this out it was corrected however I had a feeling that this would happen. I suspect that this is tried on all visitors. While the hotel was OK we would try some where else should we visit Madrid again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Catherine,

First, we would like to thank you for your review and we hope you really have enjoyed your stay in Madrid.
We are glad to know that you have also realized about how special is our hotel design and the "open concept" of your room.

We regret that breakfast did not meet your expectations. The coffee machine grinds coffee at the time, that is why it takes a little longer, so that the quality is excellent.

Regarding about check out, it certainly was a mistake, and as you have commented, it remedied as quickly as possible. The most important aspect to us is our customer and your satisfaction.

We hope you come back to Madrid in a future and enjoy our beautiful city,

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a good value hotel in a great spot in central Madrid.

I booked a junior suite for 5 nights and was really comfortable and happy. Everything you want to see is probably within walking distance, or, the hop on hop off bus stop is about a 10 minute walk away at Sol.

The room itself was really good, it had huge windows overlooking the square which were double glazed so you get the great view without the noise. There are also double blinds meaning it is quite dark. Once you close the blinds you would never know you were in the middle of town. There was also a huge bath against one of the windows, it was very nice to spend a bit of a siesta having a soak and watching people out the window (am assuming they couldn't see in!). The bed and pillows were also very comfortable.

There are a couple of spots in this hotel which need a bit of TLC, for example, there were a few stains on the carpet, and in a few spots some of the vertical blinds were coming off their tracks. But that is being very nit picky.

I had breakfast included in the package. It is really just a continental offering, with a coffee machine and a juice machine. I think they could improve it a bit by actually making coffee to order and having some fresh juice.

I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel though, it was a lovely spot.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the junior suite - it is a really nice aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SissyH16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#17 of 444 in Madrid
1,531 reviews
Chueca
Room Mate Oscar
Room Mate Oscar
#51 of 444 in Madrid
2,122 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#42 of 444 in Madrid
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
#60 of 444 in Madrid
823 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#54 of 444 in Madrid
1,624 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#9 of 444 in Madrid
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Room Mate Alicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Room Mate Alicia

Property: Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Address: Calle Prado 2, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#36 Business Hotel in Madrid
#49 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Room Mate Alicia 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Room Mate Hotels, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Room Mate Alicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Alicia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing