We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in downtown Madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Ranked #43 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel in downtown Madrid”
Reviewed 11 December 2008

We had a one day layover in Madrid and wanted to find a quiet hotel in downtown Madrid close to the subway. Room Mate Alicia was all of the above and more. We were given an upgraded room with a beautiful view of Plaza Santa Ana. The hotel includes free wi-fi which was much appreciated. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was nice. Staff were helpful.

The location is ideal for tapas restaurants and sightseeing - close to the major museums. It is also a short (5-10 minute) walk from the Metro, which we took to/from the airport. We had been most concerned about noise from the busy street, but the sound insulation was excellent.

In the Spanish style, the breakfast doesn't begin until 8 am. Because of our flight time, we missed the breakfast.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Late breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DelMarCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    460
    91
    21
    9
See reviews for
108
749
73
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2008

Stayed at the Alicia for 4 nights at end of October. Booked shuttle with Aerocity to get to hotel from airport (instructions to check in at airport were not clear) but after the delay the service was excellent.
Check in at hotel was swift and staff very friendly and spoke perfect english. Free internet in lobby and when I needed boarding cards printed for return flight the staff were again very helpfull.
Booked executive room which had a terrace. Room great with nice firm bed, bathroom also good with nice toiletries.
Breakfast was superb with plenty of choice. Free newspapers.
Location of hotel on corner of Plaza Santa Ana could not be better,within 10-15 minutes walk of all the major attractions.
Plenty of bars and restauants in the vicinity (Ginger restaurant was superb and great value).

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JMPWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2008

Had lovely stay at your hotel, got lucky ..sunshine in November.
Hotel staff were all very helpful and gave us some restaurant suggestions when we were looking for something specific.

Our room had a view of the square but we noted room 203 was on the corner and probably a better option.

House keeping was superb and the decor of room modern
& fresh, we didn't mind the open plan shower ......quite fun !!

Shutters and double glazing made up for potential noise which comes from street . Not party goers but cars and their peeping horns !!
This hotel is on one of the lovliest squares in Madrid ...visit and enjoy the people watching. XX

  • Liked — Location & quirky
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MJSport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2008

My wife and I stayed ther this past October. Its a marvelous hotel, quite chic, and nice cozy rooms. The buffet breakfast is outstanding, and not only for european standards.
The location, though a 5min walk to the nearest metro station (Anton Martin), its very convenient. Right infront of Plaza de Santa Ana, and a 10min walk to Sol, Gran Via, Atocha Station, etc....
The only incovenience we found was that the AC system wasnt working, due to the fact that its centralized and switched to heat for the cold season. But it was raining outside, so having the windows opened was not an option, nor turning on the AC (or heat). So we had to manage ourselves to cool down a bit.
That aside, I would definetely recommend the hotel, and for sure, make sure the next time, either the AC works properly, or rain/snow is not forecasted !

  • Liked — location, rooms, breakfast, service !
  • Disliked — air conditioning
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jalonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2008

Stayed here on Nov 15 on a layover through Madrid. The hotel is sufficient, and the staff is nice, but please be aware when you check in to this hotel. The area the hotel is located in is on a busy square in downtown Madrid. The area is full of bars and restaurants, which are extremely busy at night. The one-way street in front of the hotel gets backed up with cars due to the congestion of people in the area, so cars are honking all night long. I could not get to sleep until after 2am, as every minute or two I could hear the loud honking of horns from the street below.

Additionally, be VERY CAREFUL with your belongings when checking in to this hotel. I was robbed while checking in. I had 4 pieces of luggage. The taxi guy dropped me off immediately in front of the main door (4 feet away). I drug all my bags into the lobby, and went to the desk 15 feet away. The check in was quick, and when I turned around to get my bags, one was missing. The front desk clerk said this is a common problem in the area. The staff were friendly and helpful after my loss, but please be VERY careful, as the area this hotel is in has a very high rate of crime - verified to me by the local police when I filed a report.

  • Liked — great hotel for party animals
  • Disliked — area has a high crime rate - rooms not sound proof to honking horns
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_Ushooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2008

The hotel was wonderful. Perfect location with easy walking or metro to anywhere. Very close to all the Art Museums and other sites. The breakfast was fresh and varied and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room itself was terrific with comfortable beds, modern, funky decor and nice toiletries and a full wall of window. The bathroom is open concept, which was new for us, but it was all quite cleverly designed and worked well. I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Liked — location , funky decor and staff helpfulness
  • Disliked — window didn't open for fresh air
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aktraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2008

We stayed in the Room Mate Alicia on Plaza Santa Ana.

The location was fantastic, right on the corner of one of the liveliest squares in Madrid.

The corner room (a Junior Suite) was comfortable and airy. The large double bed was a real double, rather than two singles pushed together with a gap to fall through. This was the most comfortable hotel bed I have slept in for a long time. The decor was more Habitat than hotel chain.

Ok, so the Alicia does not have a health spa, wireless internet, 24 hour room service or any of the other services that a hotel seems to need to improve its star rating at the expense of the comfort of its rooms. What it does have is a left luggage service on check out day so you don't need to cart your stuff around until the late afternoon EasyJet flight to Gatwick, giving you a whole extra morning to enjoy Madrid.

It also has friendly, helpful staff, comfortable rooms, a fabulous location, and electric roller blinds to play with when bored. All in all, thoroughly recommended.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank G_Davey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 435 in Madrid
1,612 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#7 of 435 in Madrid
1,477 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#44 of 435 in Madrid
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Huertas
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
#76 of 435 in Madrid
862 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#19 of 435 in Madrid
1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Room Mate Alicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Room Mate Alicia

Property: Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Address: Calle Prado 2, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#36 Business Hotel in Madrid
#49 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Room Mate Alicia 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Room Mate Alicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Alicia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing