We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at Room Mate Alicia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Ranked #47 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at Room Mate Alicia”
Reviewed 11 February 2009

We stayed at the Room Mate Alicia from 7th-10th February 2009.

The hotel is in a fantastically central location, and Plaza St Ana is a very popular area for Madrileanos to socialise so on weekend nights it is quite noisy, but if you're planning on eating out Spanish-style you won't find this to be a problem as you'll be heading back to the hotel at the same time the locals head home!

The Room we had was a standard room, but was on the fifth floor with huge windows so had lovely views across the plaza, and probably a lot quieter than some of the more expensive rooms on the lower floors. It was clean and beautifully presented, with a very stylish bathroom (the toiletries are also very nice...)

Breakfast at the tapas bar attached to the hotel is very nice, and offers everything you'd want: cereal, croissants, toast, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, (Spanish style) bacon and eggs, coffee, juice and more! The reception staff at the hotel are extremely friendly and, as mentioned before, can all speak excellent English (not too common in Madrid).

As it's opened recently it's not in many guides but I would recommend the Hammam Baths (about 7 mins walk from the hotel), for 23 euros you get 1 1/2 hours of total relaxation in underground heated pools (if you search for Hammam baths Madrid it will come up).

There are lots of good tapas bars near the hotel, it's best to do as the Spanish do and hop from one to another, as when you order a drink they'll give you a small portion of free tapas (different at every bar)!

Good restaurants that we went to include: La Finca de Susana (amazing value for money in a very stylish setting, we had a three course lunch with a glass of wine each that only cost 21.30 euros!), and Bocaito (a bit more expensive but very authentic and lovely food).

Room Mate Alicia is a great place from which to explore Madrid as it's within 12ish minutes walk of the three big museums, and the main shopping district near Puerto de Sol.

  • Liked — The beautiful room and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing- it was brilliant!
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lucygfromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    456
    91
    21
    9
See reviews for
106
740
72
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2009

I was looking for a relatively inexpensive place to stay during a two week trip to Europe. There was a mention of the Room Mate chain in the NY Times so I checked it out and picked the Alicia. The hotel is faux trendy, the staff pleasant but overworked, and the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms left something to be desired. My biggest complaint was that the heating system in my room didn't work. I asked for it to be fixed twice and nothing was done. The hotel was full so I couldn't switch rooms. My friend was in the next room and his room smelled bad. The only good thing I can say about it is that breakfast is included at the restaurant next door and it was very good.

  • Liked — Breakfast, Internet
  • Disliked — No heating in my room, cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2009

Our stay at the Room Mate Alicia has been very pleasant indeed. The room was beautifully arranged and clean with a lovely terrace, free Wi-Fi worked perfecty, the staff was kind, helpful and efficient. The only problem is that walls are not very sound-proof, so if you happen to have noisy neighbors (as we did) refer immediately to the reception and they will arrange things without delay. Buffet-breakfast (included in the price of the room) in the adjacent Tapas bar restaurant was complete will all you may wish to start the day, from fruit salad to scambled eggs. The location is excellent, in a very lively barrio (sometimes even too lively, especially at night..) full of great places to eat just a few steps from the main door (the cerveza rubia at the Naturbier is worth a try) and at walking distance from all the most important museums.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ppb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2009

We chose this hotel because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The hotel is in a great location. If you like to walk, just about everything is within a 10-minute, easy walk in any direction. We were there in the winter and despite the cold it was still very easy to walk. (We also took the metro from the airport and that was very easy.) A great advantage is that in between sites the property is so well-situated you can stop by the room to drop things off or take a quick break. The room we had was nice; not huge but very clean and stylish. We faced right onto the Santa Ana Plaza and based on some other reviews we were worried about the noise, but there are two thick windows and noise wasn't a problem. The hotel lobby is very cool and modern and there was a laptop with free internet access. Breakfast in the restaurant that is connected was very good. Most of all, the front desk staff was exceptionally helpful. Our baggage was lost on our trip over -- in fact it took five days for the bags to be delivered to the hotel. But the Alicia staff was wonderful in calling the airlines and helping us navigate both the lost baggage computer system and the dreadful airline customer service department. A special kudos to Kevin and Allejandro for their persistence on our behalf!

  • Liked — Location, staff, cleanliness, style
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MidlifeRamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2008

I took my Mom on her first trip to Europe and Madrid was our final stay. We arrived too early after an overnight train. We were beat. The very handsome Antonio kept our bags for us, gave us a map, and assured us we would get the BEST room when we got back from our stroll to the nearby Plaza Mayor. He was right. Our room overlooked the Plaza Santa Ana which is a quieter plaza where we saw children playing after church and people leisurely chatting in outdoor cafes.

The hotel is an easy stroll to Puerta del Sol, the Sol metro, Plaza Mayor, Gran Villa, etc. Great location. It was a little hard to find when we first arrived. We got off the metro at Sevilla, the closest metro, but needed directions from helpful Spaniards. Once we got our bearings, it wasn't a problem after that. We were also able to walk to the Reina Sofia museum.

The hotel itself is modern, clean, and stylish. The included breakfast was in the hotel cafe. Self serve, buffet style with tortilla espanola, coffee, juice, muffins, toast, fruit. Perfectly lovely way to start the day.

The room was large, sunny and pretty. You get green apples waiting for you on your pillow and a signed note from the maid.
The toiletries were heavenly and the toilet had its separate little room. My only complaint for my Mom & me was the glass shower was open to the room with only a black bar covering the mid-section of the showerer. Mom & I weren't ready to be THAT close during our trip, so one of us kept busy on the computer (free wi-fi) vowing not to look up while the other bathed. : )

We booked with Expedia. Standard 2 twin bed room for $221 / night, but Antonio may have upgraded us. The view was great.

Highly recommend this gem of a hotel. My husband and I are traveling to Barcelona and wish the RoomMate line of hotels would hurry up and finish their new Barcelona addition. Say "Hola" to Antonio for me.

  • Liked — Location, Style, Service
  • Disliked — Showering in the Open
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank travelsra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2008

I stayed at the Alicia last weekend with my wife for a pre Christmas short notice getaway. I reviewed the Madrid hotel options through Tripadvisor as usual and from the information posted the Alicia seemed to offer the best blend of location, facilities and value for money.

We were not disappointed. After an easy Metro ride from Madrid airport, (the Metro departs from the 1st floor of Terminal 2), we took the pink line to Colombia stop, purple line to Principe de Vergara stop, then red line to the Sevilla Metro station stop and walked the short distance to Plaza Santa Ana.

I had booked our stay via the hotels web site as I wanted a Junior Suite and had pre-paid for the room so checki-in was fast, efficient and friendly.

We were very pleased with the size of the room and its facilities and I'm happy we opted for the higher grade. Our view across the square was excellent - (we were in room 303 on the 3rd floor).

Our room was very clean though we noted a slight waft of drains from time to time, (be interesting to know what it was like in the height of summer), but it didn't impact our stay.

Facilities were comprehensive - flat screen tv, stereo, room safe, sensibly priced mini bar, plenty of storage and lots of clean fluffy towels. The free standing bath was also a pleasant addition.

I have read some comments about neighbourhood noise, but as we visited in December and the weather wasn't great the local square was fairly devoid of people so this wasn't an issue for us.
I would also comment that if you want somewhere totally quiet you probably shouldn't stay in the centre of any major city.

Breakfast was included and hosted from the tapas bar which is situated in the same block as the hotel. Self service was fine and the breakfast choice was adequate.

The location of the hotel is excellent and we covered a vast array of sites within a 20 minute walking radius of our base location.

As an aside I would recommend the tapas, wine and general atmosphere in the Vinoteca bar directly across the road from the Alicia as well as a restaurant called Club 31 which is about 10 minutes walk away but very pleasant for a special dinner occasion.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our trip and would recommend the Alicia to anyone who wants a sensibly priced, very modern and clean hotel in the centre of Madrid.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Drains!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank RobFindlater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2008

We had a one day layover in Madrid and wanted to find a quiet hotel in downtown Madrid close to the subway. Room Mate Alicia was all of the above and more. We were given an upgraded room with a beautiful view of Plaza Santa Ana. The hotel includes free wi-fi which was much appreciated. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was nice. Staff were helpful.

The location is ideal for tapas restaurants and sightseeing - close to the major museums. It is also a short (5-10 minute) walk from the Metro, which we took to/from the airport. We had been most concerned about noise from the busy street, but the sound insulation was excellent.

In the Spanish style, the breakfast doesn't begin until 8 am. Because of our flight time, we missed the breakfast.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Late breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DelMarCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 436 in Madrid
1,587 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 436 in Madrid
1,453 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#44 of 436 in Madrid
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Huertas
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
#68 of 436 in Madrid
851 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#33 of 436 in Madrid
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Room Mate Alicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Room Mate Alicia

Property: Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Address: Calle Prado 2, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#36 Business Hotel in Madrid
#49 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Room Mate Alicia 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Room Mate Alicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Alicia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing