We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
Ranked #113 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great area”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel is in a very good location, walking distance from most of the major sights in Madrid. It's right off Gran Via and a 5 mins walk to Plaza de Espana. It is very well connected by Metro on lines 2 and 10. The Wifi is complimentary and the room was spacious with a safe and a mini bar. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beenthere2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana S, Front Office Manager at Petit Palace Plaza Espana, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Cliente,

Muchas gracias por el tiempo dedicado para sus comentarios, éstos son siempre muy importantes para nosotros ya que nos ayudan a mejorar día a día
Nos alegra que haya disfrutado de su estancia y de la localización del Hotel

Esperamos poder recibirle de nuevo para su próxima estancia en Madrid, estaremos encantados de atenderle.

Un cordial saludo,

Úrsula González Jefe de Recepción
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    330
    119
    36
    23
See reviews for
249
249
23
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My wife and I, and 17 year old son and 16 year old daughter stayed at the Petit Palace San Bernardo in central Madrid for 2 nights in early April 2014. It is part of the “High Tech Hotels” chain. Our room had a king size bed and a institutional looking built in bunk bed. The room included wifi for multiple devices and a laptop computer. The bathroom had a shower with several spray options, but no bathtub. Sink space was decent, but not outstanding. A high power hair dryer was provided. There was a basic built in desk and a chair. There was no easy chair or reading chair or separate free standing reading lamp. Closet space was decent. It was a small to medium sized, basic, and clean room. It was not luxurious. Similarly, the public spaces were not luxurious. There was a small lobby and a breakfast area for the buffet breakfast, which they charged 6 to 8 Euros for. The location, however, was outstanding with convenient access to top pedestrian and shopping areas and attractions. We loved the locale.

I booked this hotel as a 4 star hotel and paid for it on that basis. In my opinion, without reference to any published standards, but based solely on my extensive travels, this is absolutely not a 4 star hotel in my book. 3 stars would be a stretch. I would rate it as a nice, clean, basic wonderfully located 2 and ½ star hotel suitable for short stays. It is near prominent 4 star hotels like the Emperador. There is no comparison with the relatively humble public spaces of the Petit Palace San Bernardo.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CletusMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana S, General Manager at Petit Palace Plaza Espana, responded to this review, 5 February 2015
Dear guest,
Thank you to let Tripadvisor users and us know about your experience in our Hotel, Petit Palace San Bernardo.
We are pleased to know that we met your expectations and that our location.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenna, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

My room has a random post in it, and the furniture is worn. The bed is extremely hard and the receptionist was rude. The shower doesn't completely close and there is very little closet space. I won't be returning. The location is good but I wouldn't consider this a 4 Hotel. Very disappointing.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MparrV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana S, General Manager at Petit Palace Plaza Espana, responded to this review, 5 February 2015
Dear Client,
Thank you very much for you comment about our Hotel Petit Palace San Bernardo.
We will bear in mind your comment about the rooms and bathrooms and we will do our best to improve in this issue. We regret that the receptionist will have respect as we would have liked. Without doubt, our guest’s satisfaction is our objective.
Your feedback helps us to improve every day.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

A small hotel with very well distributed spaces and commin areas! Tiny but functional! Ideal if you need excellent location, free breakfast buffet, enough space at your room and a good price. My second stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivonna02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz C, Online sales department at Petit Palace Plaza Espana, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Customer
We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments about your stay in our hotel. Moreover, we are glad that your stay has been satisfactory and recommend this hotel. We hope to see you soon at one of our hotels and enjoy another wonderful stay here with Petit Palace San Bernardo.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed for the weekend some time ago. Nice, smart rooms, lovely spacious bathroom.The best location I could imagine, next to Gran Via - vibrant heart of the city. Close to popular, restaurants, tapas bars, theaters, clubs. I would definitely recommend to young people,who like to enjoy the nightlife in vibrant metropolis.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaS85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz C, Online sales department at Petit Palace Plaza Espana, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear guest:
Thank you very much for your comment and for the confidence placed in our Hotel Petit Palace San Bernardo to choose for your stay in Madrid. As you point out our hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Madrid. Thank you very much for considering us for future stays, we will be delighted to welcome you back and we assure you that we will strive to ensure that your stay is to your liking.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I spent one night for a business trip,the hotel is modern, good wifi and rooms are huge and comfortable!Breakfast is really tasty!maybe they need to improve the room service,as you can only order a japanese(not really good) restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Origab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz C, Departamento Venta Online at Petit Palace Plaza Espana, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Google Translation
Estimado cliente,

Muchísimas gracias por su comentario y nos alegra saber que disfrutó de su estancia en nuestro hotel.

Agradecemos su propuesta en cuanto al servicio de habitaciones; estamos trabajando en colaborar también con otros restaurantes para dar mas opciones a nuestros clientes.

Esperamos volver a verles pronto en nuestros hoteles!
Gracias y saludos,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The hotel is in a great position in central Madrid, within walking distance to the major attractions and great places to eat and shop, , for example across Gran Via in the Malasaña district. The metro is also on the doorstep (door to T4 at Barajas airport is around 60 minutes with two changes for €5 each, a taxi cost us €37 at 11pm).

Our room was clean, and especially the bathroom - however, the room was tired and showing unpleasant signs of wear and tear which generally let the place down. The laptop (a selling feature of this chain of hotels) kept shutting down without warning, and as we were at the end of the corridor the wifi signal was weak and slow, although much more reliable in the lobby area.

The bed was rock hard - a good thing for me, but not so comfortable for my partner. The aircon was efficient (although it was a maxmium of 23C outside during our stay), and the room had a fridge and safe (the type which requires the swipe of a smart card - anything with a magnetic strip will work if you don't want to use a credit card, use a loyalty card for example). Annoyingly there was no bin the bedroom, only the bathroom. The shower was powerful and multi-faceted.

Otherwise, despite once being 'modern' in style, the room felt a little spartan and certainly unloved, judging by the state of the fittings; and the hotel in general needs updating. It was disappointing because we have stayed at sister hotels in Madrid (Santa Barbara) and in Seville, and found them of higher standard than this.

The breakfast area didn't provide for an enjoyable meal either. The wall by our table on the first morning was filthy, splattered with spills and food debris. The area is quite small and just five people trying to serve themselves makes it full and a hindrance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz C, Director de Recepción at Petit Palace Plaza Espana, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear guest

I would like to thank you for your comments and for your fidelity with the company. I see you have already been in some of our hotels and we hope that this last stay will not change your mind about us. We are working hard to improve our facilities and services and we take into account everything you have written to check it and to start to work on it asap.

Thank you also for the good comments that I will announce to the staff.

Please, do not hesitate to contact me directly if you decide to give a second chance to show you our improvements.

Best regards, Sara López - Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Malasana
Petit Palace Triball
Petit Palace Triball
#67 of 436 in Madrid
769 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces
Petit Palace Tres Cruces
#84 of 436 in Madrid
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Petit Palace Alcala
Petit Palace Alcala
#110 of 436 in Madrid
743 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza Mayor
Petit Palace Plaza Mayor
#96 of 436 in Madrid
934 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Opera
Petit Palace Opera
#138 of 436 in Madrid
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Plaza Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Plaza Espana

Property: Petit Palace Plaza Espana
Address: Calle San Bernardo 3 | Corner of C/ Gran Vía, 53 and Plaza de Santo Domingo), 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Petit Palace Plaza Espana 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Petit Palace San Bernardo Royal Opera is located in the centre of the city, in an emblematic building in the well known “Santo Domingo” Plaza, next to the “Gran Via” – the main and most commercial street in Madrid. At just a few minutes away, the famous “Puerta del Sol” which is the centre point of the historic and monumental area of Madrid can be found and which is also good starting point to visit all the major tourist sights of the city.All the rooms in the hotel have been accommodated with the latest in technological advances, such as; laptops and free WIFI, hydro-massage showers, modern designer furniture, free safety boxes, flat screen TV’s with international channels to name but a few…Rooms are available with twin or double beds, for individual travellers or couples, and also for families or groups of friends in our exclusive “Family Rooms” with capacity of up to for people.Take advantage of our free coffee service and our two free internet points, found in the reception area, and our free bike rent to get to know the city in a unique and original way!Ask our friendly staff for advice on the best shopping and dining areas, and for reservations for local excursions and shows. Don’t hesitate to contact us if you are travelling with your pet or have any other special requests – we will do our best to assure that your stay is a pleasant and comfortable as possible! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Petit Palace Plaza Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace San Bernardo Hotel Madrid
Petit Palace San Bernardo Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing