We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel very modern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Ranked #123 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel very modern”
Reviewed 27 June 2008

Husa paseo de arte was a gem in the city. We were on our honeymoon and this was the last place we stayed (Valencia and Majorca as well) . Although Madrid has a little different feel, we would recommend it if you want to see museums, not a very safe relaxing feeling overall. The hotel is about a block from the Atocha train station which is worth a visit just to see the turtles in the lobby, and equally close to the metro. The hotel was super modern inside with funky furniture. Spain played Italy in soccer while we were there and won, and we thought the city might burn, but only lots of broken windows including the revolving door at the Husa. Women seemed to clutch their purses tight and there were lots of police around. I guess in madrid you can just pee wherever you want bc it smelled pretty bad in most parts and you could see the pee on the sidewalks. We had a very expensive dinner at Capilla, and it was top knotch, you need reservations it opens at 8:30pm. Our room was fantastic #711, great view over the city, bed was the most comfortable we had in Spain, the bathroom was terrific. Lots of little soaps and shampoo and cologne. Towels were scratchy. Room service was fantastic, just call down and ask for ice. Food was terrific, the bed breakfast buffet we had in Spain and didn't feel like cattle.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — some of our towels didn't get replaced with room service
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank caraMclean_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    1,014
    237
    48
    33
See reviews for
353
805
141
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2008

This is a great hotel if you want to easily get around Madrid using public transport. Centrally located to good bus & train links, and Madrid has a very good public transport system. Staff were pleasant and everything went smoothly. Breakfast was exceptionally good value (included in our price) and had a very wide selection of hot & cold dishes. Our double room and bathroom were fine, clean, well maintained.

The only downside is that this hotel has really no special atmosphere; it could be anywhere in the world. Once inside, you wouldn't be able to tell if you were in Paris, New York, Rome or Port Douglas. This wasn't important for us as we used the hotel simply as a place to collapse in after hours of walking Madrid's fascinating streets, despite the heavy rain. (We had the same torrential downpours in Madrid in May 2007 so perhaps May is a month to avoid.)

As some reviewers have mentioned, the hotel is near a disco and we did hear some street noise early one morning (Madrilenos party 'til very late) but nothing that really disturbed our sleep.

One thing we must mention re this city: despite all the crowds, clubs and nightlife, Madrid is amazingly clean. There must be an army of streetcleaners who come thru in the small hours. And it's so green, trees line almost every street. The Thyssen-Bornemisza museum is a must - go early and you'll have the most wonderful collection of paintings almost to yourself. This kept me so happy I didn't even try to fit the Prado in this time.

  • Liked — Location & breakfast
  • Disliked — Lack of any discernible Spanish atmosphere
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingScribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2008

Pleased with everything about the HUSA Paseo del Arte. First of all: the location is superb, around the corner from threee major museums (Prado, Thyssen-Bornemisza, Reina Sofia) and a short walk from the metro and the train station (Atocha). The rooms are sleekly modern, clean, well equipped. It's the only hotel I've been where there was a form to fill out for any maintenance we thought necessary. We did have a small plumbing issue which the management took care of immediately. At first we had trouble locating good restaurants nearby; then discovered that a short walk away was Plaza de Santa Ana & a vibrant restaurant and cafe scene. We also found a good bar for our breakfasts, although I see that other visitors thought the hotel's breakfast terrific. We like light breakfasts, so....to the bar for our pan tostada and cafe con leche. The bar: A' Cañada, Calle Futar, 20.

  • Liked — decor, location, convenience,
  • Disliked — good restaurants and cafes not in immediate area
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graphiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2008

We stayed at the Husa three times during our three weeks in Spain, coming back to nearby Atocha Station between travel to other parts of the country. The rooms were immaculate, very modern, quiet. The location is great - walking distance to the Barrio de Lettras with lots of restauarants and the museums. The breakfasts were the best we had in Spain. One of our reservations was inadvertently cancelled, and even though it wasn't the Husa's fault, the reservation manager, Michael, went out of his way to get it straightened out. Only thing we didn't like was that the restaurant was empty at night, very expensive, with a limited menu.

  • Liked — Cleanliness throughout facility
  • Disliked — restaurant in the evening
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2008

A great super-clean, modern hotel.

It's just a few minutes walk to Atocha Station & the metro.

The rooms are very modern & impeccable clean.

THe breakfast buffer is superb. The restaurant staff are very grumpy - just not morning people! But the great breakfast compensates for the lack of smiles.

THe only down-side is that it's not in the midst of restaurants & good shops. You'll need to get the metro or walking shoes on for that.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — No nice shops or restaurants closeby
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ADL9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Nz
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2008

My husband, 2 year old son and I were planning a last minute long weekend in Madrid. 'lastminute.com' had a great deal at this 4 star hotel, offering something like 40% off the usual price. The reviews we found for the hotel were good enough, so we thought 'why not?' We were not in the least disappointed either! The reviews had been very helpful: they suggested that we ask for a room not facing the street and the view as it could be noisy due to road traffic and people queueing for the night club on the street below. We followed this advice and we were extremely grateful! We arrived very late on Saturday night, we could see the crowds of people, and yet when we got to our room it was silent and wonderful! The room was a good size, the bathroom was excellent and it was all clean and very new it seemed. The only thing I would say is that if you like a firm bed (or something akin to sleeping on a slab of concrete!) then you'll love the bed - if not, be prepared for a few aches in the morning! We requested a cot for our son when we booked, and amazingly enough, it was there waiting in our room! (we've had experiences at other hotels where this is not the case). On our first morning, we ate breakfast in the hotel and while the buffet is very comprehensive with a mix of hot, cold and continental items, it was very pricey at 19Euros per person. There are at least 2 or 3 excellent restaurants/cafes accross the road literally where we had coffee and pastries for 16Euros all up! The location of the hotel is ideal for the botanic gardens the Prado Museum, the Retiro Park (which is huge and a fantastic place to take children!) and also the Reina Sofia art modern art museum. It is also very close to the Atocha metro. Also within a short walk is the place where the tour busses depart from (very useful for getting an overview of the city and its layout). It is also close to the major train station. Although the hotel advertises itself as being near Plaza Mayor, it is in fact about a 20 minute walk to the Plaza, but on a nice day, that wouldn't be so bad (the weather was a bit cold and showery for us unfortunately). The staff at the hotel were very friendly and in fact, as people traveling with a young child, pretty much most restaurants and cafes were happy to see a child! It helps though if you teach your little one to say 'hola' and 'adios' - gets plenty of smiles! Be aware though that if you are traveling with a child that needs a high chair (we can cope without these days if we have to) many eating places do not have them, despite what the guide books say! I can highly recommend staying at this hotel and I would be happy to stay here again!

  • Liked — clean rooms!
  • Disliked — hard bed! and expensive breakfast.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariafromnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2008

Excellent located, nearby metro, museums and nightlife. Supersized room (for Europe) and friendly staff. Nice atmosphere, light decor. Wi-Fi access for 15euros/24h. Expensive breakfast not included - plenty of options across street. Reserved double beds but received twin beds, which were too soft.

  • Liked — Size of the room
  • Disliked — Beds
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GusGuida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#84 of 435 in Madrid
471 reviews
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#68 of 435 in Madrid
507 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Mediodia
Hotel Mediodia
#201 of 435 in Madrid
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
#151 of 435 in Madrid
1,258 reviews
Retiro
NH Madrid Atocha
NH Madrid Atocha
#134 of 435 in Madrid
334 reviews
Huertas
Urban Sea Atocha 113
Urban Sea Atocha 113
#198 of 435 in Madrid
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paseo del Arte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paseo del Arte

Property: Hotel Paseo del Arte
Address: Atocha 123, 28012 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Husa Paseo del Arte)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#90 Family Hotel in Madrid
#108 Business Hotel in Madrid
#118 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Paseo del Arte 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Paseo del Arte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Paseo Del Arte Hotel Madrid
Husa Paseo Del Arte Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing