We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Ranked #127 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed here on a long weekend at the end of March 2014 with a group of friends whilst in town to watch a Real Madrid game. It was comfortable, clean and spacious, with a particularly comfortable bed - I wanted to take it home! The front desk staff are all very helpful and the bar area is very pleasant. Can't comment on the breakfast as we didn't eat there.

We upgraded to a suite which was very spacious but situated on the side aspect of the hotel. It was adjacent to the local nightclub which was noisy on the Saturday night, but I need to qualify that by saying I returned home at 5am having indulged in the city's nightlife myself! (Barracuda BAr, rock band karaoke, one of the best nights out of my life). I'm not complaining about the noise, but I suspect I would have been if I wanted an early night ON A SATURDAY. The club was closed on the Sunday, so it was a nice quiet room, even if overlooking the main street (Calle de Atocha). I suspect if you ask for a room away from the club on a Friday/Saturday you won't have any problems.

I always end my views by saying would I recommend to a friend and/or return myself. It's a big Yes in both cases, in fact I'm thinking of going back again with my wife later this year,

Room Tip: Avoid right hand side rooms (when viewed from street) adjacent to nightclub on Fridays/Saturdays
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurpleTurtle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 1,983 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

The signs everywhere in the hotel advertising "born to eat fish" are redundant: the overpowering smell of fish the moment you enter the foyer suggests that their ventilation system is as outdated as the sushi fad.
Location and infrastructure are excellent. But more staff on the service desk would help to reduce the queues. I have stayed in this hotel twice, and experienced the same poor service both times.
The bedroom was overheated, and although I asked the desk staff whether it would be possible to drop the night temperature below 22, nothing was done.
And the spartan supply of shampoo, bath gel and nothing else is hardly welcoming. It loks as though this hotel is trying to combat the recession by cutting down on everything except the prices.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KulturaRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This hotel was perfect for us coming in from Barajas Airport. We got the airport express bus to Atocha, cost €5 per person. Ten minutes walk to the hotel and a very efficient check in with english speaking staff. The room was on the small size, but it was very clean, had a safe and fridge/minibar and a small TV. The windows were double glazed and we were on the 2nd floor. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom and toiletries were very good. Had a good nioghts sleep and the double glazing seemed to keep the room fairly quiet. I am a light sleeper and only woke one morning around six to people shouting on the street below. The breakfast was very good with lots of choice, meats, fruit, breads, cereals, juices, cakes and a hot selection. Plenty of nice hot coffee from a machine and it tasted good.
Plaza Mayor was a fifteen minute walk away and there were plenty of bars and restaurants near the hotel. Calle Huertas runs behind the hotel and there are a lot of eating places and bars along it's length. The Reina Sofia Art Gallery with Picasso's Guernica on display is across the road. Overall I thought this hotel was really good for the price (€93 p.n. BB) I paid.
If I were being hyper critical, the room was too warm, so we opened the window. The wardrobe was very small with only four hangers. My wife likes muesli at breakfast and there wasn't any on the breakfast buffet. I would return to this hotel and indeed to Madrid. Hope this review is helpful to all, enjoy Madrid.

Room Tip: If you are a really light sleeper ask for a quiet room. The staff are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Spent just one night here in transit as we need to catch the train the next day. Location was excellent, and walking distance to Plaza Mayor area where we did some sightseeing before we left.

Room was very clean and stylish, and had all the normal hotel amenities and toiletries.

We did not opt for breakfast at the hotel, and instead walked to a breakfast place just a few minutes walk down the road.

Since it is just a short walk to the train station, this is an ideal place to stay if you are in transit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Good hotel close to the station, the parks and nice walks in the inner city of Madrid. So the location is the key reason to be there. The rooms themselves are small, and the ones on the side street rather dark and a bit depressing. But then again, you are in Madrid to visit the city or do business and not to spend a lot of time in the room.... Breakfast buffet quite ok, except the coffee machine which produces something not very good. The WiFi connection is so so, works in the morning, and then becomes unreliable. Conclusion: stay there if need close to station, or if want to visit places by foot.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank SunriseSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed one night as we came back from Seville by train and heading out to airport the next morning. So location from that standpoint very good and close to Reine Sofia Museum and not too far from Prado (but a bit of a walk to far points in like Plaza Mayor). Overall the room was clean and comfortable and price good. It is a bit busy being right on main street and looks like quite a few tour groups use the hotel. But no real complaints and would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwjillini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Very nice hotel in a good location, close to Parque El Retiro. Around a 20 minute walk from Plaza Mayor and main tourist attractions. Located around many restaurant options. Great value for money. Staff is friendly. Recommended for business or holidays.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anabutteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#77 of 437 in Madrid
557 reviews
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#73 of 437 in Madrid
575 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Mediodia
Hotel Mediodia
#199 of 437 in Madrid
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Urban Sea Atocha 113
Urban Sea Atocha 113
#198 of 437 in Madrid
354 reviews
Retiro
NH Madrid Atocha
NH Madrid Atocha
#131 of 437 in Madrid
380 reviews
AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
#157 of 437 in Madrid
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paseo del Arte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paseo del Arte

Address: Atocha 123, 28012 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Husa Paseo del Arte)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#90 Family Hotel in Madrid
#108 Business Hotel in Madrid
#118 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £63 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Paseo del Arte 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Paseo del Arte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Paseo Del Arte Hotel Madrid
Husa Paseo Del Arte Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing