We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location when arriving by Renfe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Ranked #133 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2009

Excellent central location, especially if arriving with Renfe to Madrid.

Great reception that quickly when I mentioned that I needed to print my voucher from the "Hotels Un-branded" section of Iberia.com hoteles they offered a free half hour of internet and printer. www.hotelesib.com. I got a 68 euro rate here by this site that is shared with lastminute.es .

This site does not name the hotel, similar to Hotwire, but in a written discription they actually state that the hotel has 260 rooms and that it is near to the Atocha train and metro stations. They list it as a 4 star. The problem is that this hotel only seems to come up on the Spanish language version of the site. You can get the hotel for around 80 euros on the Husa website sometimes.

Room modern, well designed and reasonably quiet for Madrid. Comfortable (king) bed with 2 doubles put together, something that has become very normal in new spanish design hotels.

Really liked the rooftop terrace and complete 24 hour gym with great view over the Riena Sofia and towards Atocha. Really nice with the Christmas decorations surrounding from 1 dec to 10 jan.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank madflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,993)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

780 - 786 of 1,993 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2008

This is a great location, being a block away from the Atocha Train station (great for day trips); Metro as well as across from the Reina Sofia Museum. I received a wonderful deal of E100/night, so did not have the breakfast with the rate. Across the steet are Alimentacion stores (convenience stores) and restuarants. Across the corner on Paseo del Prado is the wonderul Museo de Jamon; there are a few of thiese in Madrid and a must for any ham eaters. To me a Madrid version of Katz Deli in NYC, a local must. and incredibly inexpensive.

In the rooms: small comfortable bed, clean, modern bathroom, flat screen TV (Enough speaking channels are CNNI, BBC, and SKY; not counting a couple of music channels). Standard room with a writing desk, safe, mini-bar and shitting chair. Comfortable. The cons; no extra outlets; made for diffculty in re-charging camera, phone and the like. Also no clock in the room, so have your own! The gym on the top floor is quite bad; as if they just got a few things to say they have a gym; old equipment, looks liek no oone has touched it in months; no water; no clock, no towels.

Reading the reviews here, I did request a room away from the street/ disco, I received a room facing the inner courtyard and though I did see piles of kind in front of the disco on Saturaday night, I didn't hear them in the room.

The hotel itself didnt' seem to have many services, the concierge was raely there; front desk always had a line of guests waiting to be helped; and the no shop; onl newpspaers were in the lobby and Spanish... but there are hardly complaints; in that I wasn't wanting to stay at the hotel room while I was in Madrid, I wanted to go out, exploire and eat out in the city. in return, receiveing a great price with a convenient location with clean, safe rooms..made this Hotel an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kareny13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2008

A nice hotel with a central location. However it is next door to the largest disco in Madrid and if you happen to get a room on the alleyway shared with the disco on a weekend night you will not get any sleep. It was a war zone with loud drunks, viscious fights, police cars and ambulances screaming all night. Worst night I have ever had in a hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank AkbarCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2008

Check in at reception was very friendly & warm, all staff spoke excellent english.

Rooms were spacious & well serviced.

Found WIFI expensive at 12euros for 24 hours, but good connection.

Room service was average, nothing amazing. Breakfast was very good, large selection of food & all fresh.

Fantastic location, 2 minutes from Prado & close to train station.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Shiregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2008

My friends and I stayed at this hotel for two nights. On the second day, our electricty stopped working. We complained at the front desk and they promised to fix it while we were out for the day and night. Unfortunately, when we arrived back at the hotel, the electricity still was not working. We asked for a technician, but no one was available at midnight so someone from the front desk came up but still was not able to fix it. Our electricity was restored in the morning when we called AGAIN and asked for someone to come up. The hotel provided us with no discount for this inconvenience and additionally questioned our recount of the incident as opposed to checking with the staff who we had dealt with. Last but not least, there were ants all over our bathroom floor this morning.

The only good thing I can say about this hotel is its location, but for my fellow travelers, there are other hotels nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ChristineMadrid2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

The Paseo del Arte is a lovely little hotel in a central area, close to the main art galleries and the Park del Retiro.

The room was a decent size in comparison to other European hotels, but small when compared to American and South East Asian hotel room sizes; at the end of the day, if all you want is somewhere to sleep, then this hotel is more then adequate. The room was immaculately clean, air conditioned, the bed was extremely comfortable and the in room facilities were excellent. I loved the fact that they provided dove cream shower wash and even a little sponge to shine your shoes.

The staff could have been a bit friendlier, for the most part their attitude was indifferent, but in general Spanish people can come across as being that way, it's not that they are trying to be rude, it's just that they like to get straight to the point. However, I would suggest that you check the mini bar contents when you arrive as we left the seal on it and on the third day it had been opened, a can of peanuts had been eaten and the empty can had been put at the back of the fridge. We complained and were not charged for this.

The area was a great base camp; we were within walking distance of Atocha mainline train station, Atocha metro station, Atocha Bus terminal and a Madrid tour bus stop. If you enjoy walking around a city then this hotel is also ideally located for walking to all the main sights and museums. In one day we were able to walk around and see all the sights, as well as stopping regularly for a coffee or a caña of beer or (my favorite) some churros con chocolate. For the best churros head to the Chocolatería San Ginés, it's located on Pasadizo de San Gines, just off the Calle de Arenal near Plaza de la Puerta de Sol. It can be a bit hard to find at first but it is well worth it, you'll be back again and again! It's normally at it's busiest in the late evening and the early hours of the morning when people are heading home from a night out.

We booked room only, I think that this is the best option as it would have been an extra £15 each a night for breakfast and with so many wonderful cafés around I would recommend going to one of these. I would highly recommend the Museo del Jamón for breakfast; there is one around the corner on the Paseo del Prado and another one at the top of the road that the hotel is on. I was able to get a chiquito de jamón (a small cured ham roll), a freshly squeezed orange juice and a coffee for only €2.40 to eat at the bar (generally things are cheaper if you eat at the bar).

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel, I booked it through Hotelopia.co.uk for only £404 (including a 10% discount that I got buy doing an Internet search for a discount code) for 2 adults, for 8 night’s room only. August is a bit of a low season in Madrid; this is because the average temperature is 38°C during the day, so the Madrileños go on their holidays at this time of year. Many independent shops and restaurants are shut but all the main tourist attractions remain open and the city is in some ways more pleasant because it is a bit quieter. The galleries are not to full and you can spend a lazy afternoon under a tree in the park.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank HelloKittyCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2008

The hotel is just near the city centre, and near the Atocha trainstation. Just close to the famous museo del Prado and other famous museums. It offers a nice experience and it is wothwhile. It is woth the price. The rooms are not very big, though. The staff is also not very focused on the job, for they forgot to charge the bill to the person they were instructed to.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Teresa70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#78 of 438 in Madrid
585 reviews
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#72 of 438 in Madrid
622 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Mediodia
Hotel Mediodia
#197 of 438 in Madrid
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Urban Sea Atocha 113
Urban Sea Atocha 113
#207 of 438 in Madrid
362 reviews
Retiro
NH Madrid Atocha
NH Madrid Atocha
#130 of 438 in Madrid
401 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Atocha
Catalonia Atocha
#79 of 438 in Madrid
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paseo del Arte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paseo del Arte

Address: Atocha 123, 28012 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Husa Paseo del Arte)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Family Hotel in Madrid
#91 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#108 Business Hotel in Madrid
#118 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £82 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Paseo del Arte 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Lastminute, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Paseo del Arte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Paseo Del Arte Hotel Madrid
Husa Paseo Del Arte Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing