We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Senator Castellana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Senator Castellana Hotel
Ranked #266 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights last weekend.
We found the reception staff very helpful and their English was great. They had free wifi. Which worked.
The room certainly wasn't the smallest 3* room I've stayed in. It was clean, basic, but more than comfortable.
The breakfast had variety. However, this was my only point to improve. It could be stocked up a little more.
As far as location is concerned its about a 3 minute walk to the metro. A 6-7 minute walk to the stadium. Close to the airport too. We used the metro's 10 rides ticket and that lasted us all weekend.
If you're going to a football match I'd definitely recommend.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Siobhan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    178
    119
    39
    20
See reviews for
65
165
34
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

I had read previous reviews, but the location suited, so despite the mixed reviews I booked this hotel.
OK, not great, a McDonalds breakfast and service is better.
Forget about internet and wifi, it does not work. The staff need to reset their sever to make it work.
Sucks

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank johnrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Here
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

the room was nice and clean, staff friendly, breakfast for a southern country really good. only downside was with open window it was loud outside. but else location is good, near the metro. we can recommend it. pool wasnt open in may, so i cant say something about it

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MouStefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

The location of the hotel is OK, in the financial/business quarter of Madrid. Close to the metro; around 15 min from the city centre, and also not so far from the airport.

But it seems this is the typical hotel which looks nice on pictures, but problematic inside...
The rooms are clean but very small, the bathroom is quite uncomfortable.
Thanks to the paper-thin walls the smallest movement in the surroundings keeps you awake during the whole night. If somehow there is no noise from the other rooms, you can still hear the constant noise of the uncovered ventilation- /electronic-/hydraulic system, coming from the ceiling.
The staff of the hotel is rather sour and rude, (except Lara, who was very helpful and kind) once I started to complain, they didn't even try to hide their frustrations...
I had the feeling that they are making a huge favour to work at the reception.

Room Tip: Check if the ventillation/electronic system is covered. (in the ceiling)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madi038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

The location of this hotel is good. The hotel itself is disappointing. The carpets in the corridor are unclean. The rooms are small and too basic. I was constantly aware of a smell coming from the bathroom pipes. I will not stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: My advice is not to stay in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

Once again this hotel was great value for money. the staff are always friendly and helpfull.
We were at the hotel for two consecutive weekends in November. Breakfast was of good quality and enjoyable. The rooms are clean and functional.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the street, you may get some noise in rooms overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesF90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

The Hotel it's located near Estádio Barnabéu, close to Cuzco and Tetuan Metro Station. If you are coming for Barajas airport Cuzco station it's the best exit (change in Nuevos Ministério to line 10 towards Hospital del Norte)... if you are going to city center I believe Tetuan station it's better and nearest (find SuperCor supermarket, behind the hotel entrance, still walking foward and you'll see the metro station in the main street).
The hotel localization: It's far from city center... you always has to take the metro. It's a safe area, I think. Near you have some coffees and restaurants, two supermerkets, a few shops...

The rooms:modern, large and very clean. The only problem was the noise from calefaction. Was difficult to sleep with that noise coming from a grate of the ceiing room. I questioned the recepcionist that was not even there...we'll see tomorrow, he said...ok, I understand that was 2a.m. but... I asked if it was possible to change room the next morning and he hastened to say the hotel was complete.
You can hear the noise from the corridors... some people do not know what means respect and this is not a hotel problem.

Service: Excluding that guy.... the all staff was very friendly.

The breakfast: Good, very very reasonable ... hot drinks: coffee, milk, tea... expresso coffee is not included... you have juices, breads, cereals, yoghurts, pastry, cheese, ham, jam and .... Fruit?? the only negative point at breakfast, you don't have a average sellection... they always are replacing the food.

If I turn back??? No... I slept 3 nights with that anoying noise from calefaction... But If the hotel change that... I can try to change my opinion too.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaMaria-Lisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Infanta Mercedes
Hotel Infanta Mercedes
#284 of 444 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel G3 Galeon
Aparthotel G3 Galeon
#270 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Madrid
Holiday Inn Madrid
#279 of 444 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Cuzco
AC Hotel Cuzco
#163 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.2 mi away
H10 Tribeca
H10 Tribeca
#158 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
AC Hotel Aitana
#164 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Castellana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Castellana Hotel

Property: Senator Castellana Hotel
Address: Calle General Varela 37, 28020 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Senator Castellana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Senator Castellana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunotel Amaral Madrid
Sunotel Amaral Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing