We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Senator Castellana Hotel
Ranked #223 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 13 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Manuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

Very clean hotel, nice beds, very friendly receptionists and also every one of them spoke english, something rare in Madrid. It is very close to 2 metro stations, and to plaza de castilla, a pretty square with a nice view. The neighbourhood is very nice also. There is a super market right next to the hotel and a bus station.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel due to its proximity to my meeting point for my Vaughan Town trip! It is certainly not in a tourist area- more the financial district. However, Cuzco metro station is a 5 minute walk and can quite easily take you there for €2!!
The hotel was clean and cool (yay air conditioning!!) and the check in was swift. My room was basic. I stayed there on two nights a week apart. The second visit was better as the bath actually had a plug so I could have a lovely relaxing bath after a tiring week, but I needed to request a knife from reception to get the plug out !! Annoying.
Beds were very uncomfortable as the mattress was rock hard.
The room had many plugs, a full length mirror, a double wardrobe, a hair dryer, adjustable air con, and the maids were quick to clean it daily.
Overall basic service/room, but good value for money!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights last weekend.
We found the reception staff very helpful and their English was great. They had free wifi. Which worked.
The room certainly wasn't the smallest 3* room I've stayed in. It was clean, basic, but more than comfortable.
The breakfast had variety. However, this was my only point to improve. It could be stocked up a little more.
As far as location is concerned its about a 3 minute walk to the metro. A 6-7 minute walk to the stadium. Close to the airport too. We used the metro's 10 rides ticket and that lasted us all weekend.
If you're going to a football match I'd definitely recommend.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SiobhanC285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I had read previous reviews, but the location suited, so despite the mixed reviews I booked this hotel.
OK, not great, a McDonalds breakfast and service is better.
Forget about internet and wifi, it does not work. The staff need to reset their sever to make it work.
Sucks

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank johnrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

the room was nice and clean, staff friendly, breakfast for a southern country really good. only downside was with open window it was loud outside. but else location is good, near the metro. we can recommend it. pool wasnt open in may, so i cant say something about it

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MouStefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

The location of the hotel is OK, in the financial/business quarter of Madrid. Close to the metro; around 15 min from the city centre, and also not so far from the airport.

But it seems this is the typical hotel which looks nice on pictures, but problematic inside...
The rooms are clean but very small, the bathroom is quite uncomfortable.
Thanks to the paper-thin walls the smallest movement in the surroundings keeps you awake during the whole night. If somehow there is no noise from the other rooms, you can still hear the constant noise of the uncovered ventilation- /electronic-/hydraulic system, coming from the ceiling.
The staff of the hotel is rather sour and rude, (except Lara, who was very helpful and kind) once I started to complain, they didn't even try to hide their frustrations...
I had the feeling that they are making a huge favour to work at the reception.

Room Tip: Check if the ventillation/electronic system is covered. (in the ceiling)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madi038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Cuzco
AC Hotel Cuzco
#165 of 437 in Madrid
776 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Infanta Mercedes
Hotel Infanta Mercedes
#285 of 437 in Madrid
280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Madrid
Holiday Inn Madrid
#291 of 437 in Madrid
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AC Hotel Aitana
AC Hotel Aitana
#170 of 437 in Madrid
387 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Madrid Paseo de la Habana
0.7 mi away
Espahotel Plaza Basilica
Espahotel Plaza Basilica
#297 of 437 in Madrid
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Castellana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Castellana Hotel

Address: Calle General Varela 37, 28020 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: £49 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Senator Castellana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Senator Castellana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunotel Amaral Madrid
Sunotel Amaral Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing