We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still value for money after a couple of years of my last visit...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Senator Castellana Hotel
Ranked #253 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Thessaloniki
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Still value for money after a couple of years of my last visit...”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Madrid can be very interesting and challenging regarding the hotels that you can stay! I've stayed in Hotel Amaral before and you can find another review of mine about this hotel. Thanks to Tripadvisor I have been remembering that the last time I faced issues with wi-fi but this time the lady in the reception did provide me with a room with no problem!
Outside the hotel needs though a renovation I remember it in a better condition.
The hotel is placed less than 10mins walk from the nearest underground station.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isidoros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    193
    124
    39
    21
See reviews for
70
169
37
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cartagena, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We were with a group of friends for 3 nights in May.The hotel was quiet and very pleasant.Reception was always well manned and the receptionists were very helpful.Breakfast did leave a bit to be desired.On our first morning we were told there were no eggs and you had to ask for a cup to get tea or coffee from the machine which was constantly breaking down and had to be fixed.Overall the experience was good and i would not hesitate to go back if in Madrid again.The hotel is only a 10-15 minute walk from the Estadio Bernaubau, the home of Real Madrid Football Club.

Room Tip: No advantage really
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willko699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
larne
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

so unhappy a great little hotel being ruined by mindless no respect foreign yobbos,the hotel is always very clean rooms well attended free safe and free Wi-Fi and also a small fridge.breakfast usual stuff same every day,staff friendly always available 3 lifts room service available.
now the bad points and really bad points.the beds are very hard pillows not much use,room 121 for some reason has a huge pillar in the middle of the window restricting the view and reducing the amount of light in the room.
now the really bad we stayed 4 nights 2 where hell too say the least,yobbos running wild in the corridors,screaming shouting bangings doors every minute.kicking and banging other peoples doors.quite a few people complaining too reception all night told this would be sorted out,but as the culprits were Spanish they were allowed to stay and carry on ruining every body elses vacation.if this is how they wish too run their hotel I feel sorry for any future guests,the morning we left the room corridor looked lika bomb had hit it a spray of some kind had been used all over the corridor.telling the the reception as we were leaving just more or less as accept this as okay.so if you like to sleep at night stay well clear.

Room Tip: avoid room 121 room at the back slightly better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aud2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Belgrade, Serbia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We were two days in this hotel at the beginning of our trip to Andalusia.
The hotel is located in the New Madrid area near to the stadium of football club Real Madrid. It is connected with the center and the other parts of the city with two metro lines. Both metro stations are located near the hotel. For about 10-15 minutes it is necessary with metro to Sol square in the center of town. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by a welcome cocktail as we were very pleasantly surprised. From our travel agency in Belgrade at the hotel reception let our copy of our passport so we very quickly settled into the room. The rooms are comfortable and clean.Even though we stayed only two nights changed the towels every day. The rooms are centrally air-conditioned and the first night we forgot to turn off the air during the night and it was very cold. The next night we turned it off and we were very comfortable for sleeping. As far as breakfast is excellent and the restaurant is clean and tidy.
In all we are very pleased with the stay at this hotel and recommend it to all who come to visit Madrid as it is well connected with the city and all the sights of the city that should be visited and on the other hand is situated in a quiet part of town away from city noise and can be well relax after a long tour of the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bojana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

In March 2014 we made a city-trip to the capital of Spain, Madrid. During our three-day visit we stayed at the Hotel Exe Amaral on bases of bed and breakfast. This is located in the Northern part of Madrid. The staff members were friendly and helpful with information regarding Madrid. The room that we got was on a corner. It had the shape of a pizza slice, so not very economical, but it was a clean room and well taken care of.

During our first night the heating failed, which made it a somewhat cold night (it was still early in the season). Having reported this at the front desk the following morning, we were immediately given another room and apologies were made for the inconvenience. This room was more square shaped and better than the previous one. There were no further complaints regarding the room.

During breakfast hours the dining room has a buffet where you can find fresh rolls, omelette, crispy bacon, fresh fruit, breakfast cereals and dairy products.

The Hotel is situated in a quiet street, just a five-minute walk from the Cuzco metro entrance. This metro entrance is located along the busy North-South traffic artery Paseo de la Castellana. The metro connections by the way are excellent; we bought a three-day metro card and went all over Madrid with it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johan_Nobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I have spent few days in the hotel to watch the Real Madrid vs Bayer Munich match. The hotel is 10 minutes walking to the stadium in a quiet area. However, the hotel location is well connected and have some mini market as well as VIP. Two metro stations are reachable from the hotel with two different lines. The hotel is clean, staff are very helpful and friendly, their English is good. Rooms are spaced, equipped with a small TV, and large safe box is available. Breakfast has variety of fruits, fresh baked pastries, cereals, meat, fresh bread, juices and hot drinks. The stay was good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IbizaLoveYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Cuzco
AC Hotel Cuzco
#165 of 435 in Madrid
752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel G3 Galeon
Aparthotel G3 Galeon
#285 of 435 in Madrid
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Infanta Mercedes
Hotel Infanta Mercedes
#279 of 435 in Madrid
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Madrid
Holiday Inn Madrid
#290 of 435 in Madrid
774 reviews
0.7 mi away
Espahotel Plaza Basilica
Espahotel Plaza Basilica
#300 of 435 in Madrid
158 reviews
0.3 mi away
AC Hotel Aitana
AC Hotel Aitana
#180 of 435 in Madrid
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Castellana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Castellana Hotel

Property: Senator Castellana Hotel
Address: Calle General Varela 37, 28020 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Senator Castellana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Senator Castellana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunotel Amaral Madrid
Sunotel Amaral Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing