We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location on quiet side street” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Room Mate Mario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Room Mate Mario
Ranked #45 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent location on quiet side street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stylish and quiet hotel in a secret location, just a block away from Opera square. Short connections to metro and train. Breakfast very diverse, with Spanish delicacies, cheese etc. Excellent choice for a city break just few steps away from the buzz of Madrid centre.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaTsoumas, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Anna,

I have just read your nice review, and just a few lines to send you a big thank you, because your message is the best brochure about Mario!

Hope to see you here again!

Best regards;

Sofia Tsouma
Front desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    666
    160
    35
    26
See reviews for
160
885
164
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Modern and trendy hotel, centrally located to the Palacio Real, Plaza Mayor, Gran Via, and many other major sights. Our room was clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated. Free wi-fi. The service was also great. We had a bit of trouble with the wall hair dryer, but the staff was nice enough to bring a couple more dryers up to our room until one worked!! Great value for the price. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaTsoumas, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Renee,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with Mario with Tripadvisor´s users.
Hope to see you here again in a near future!

Best regards,

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
hank you very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

A big smile welcomes you as you walk in. The bedroom (junior executive) is quite big. Bed really comfortable. The shower is really big. I dont usually like the soaps, shampoos...they give you in hotels, but these ones were really nice. My only but was the tv. Such a great room deserves a better and bigger tv. The breakfast is delicious. You can have eggs, cereals, croissants, toasts....anything you can imagine. The coffee is good. Also it is located 5 minutes walking from Puerta del Sol.....excellent hotel. Not expensive. Excellent people working there. Oh!! instead of the bible you can find in some hotels, you will find the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. I love that!

Room Tip: Any kind is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PilarSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaTsoumas, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a nice review!
We are really glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Do not doubt in contacting me if you require a new booking in Madrid.
Hope to see you again!

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Great location and facilities. Excellent value for money. Stayed three nights over Easter. The staff were really nice and easy to deal with. There is not much more to say really. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aidan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaTsoumas, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Aidan,

Thank you very much for your time and comment your stay with us.
We are really glad that you enjoyed it!
All the staff hope to see you in futures dates. I´d be grateful you could contact us directly to make sure you enjoy a great experience.

Kind Regards,

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Wonderful reception staff, large safe to fit laptops, good internet connection, very good breakfast, good location.

The mattresses are low-quality and barely acceptable; they make a slight crunchy sound and are rather short for tall persons. Noisy fan in bathroom (but at least there was a fan).

The hotel claims to be a 2-star only, so from that standard it is very good. It could almost pass as a 3-star.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Europhile_Pacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaTsoumas, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Europhile,

Thank you for including your review about Mario.
We take note of all your comments, so we can improve our attention to our customers. In fact, we are in process of changing all hotel mattresses.

Hope to see you back again!

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I have found this hotel via tripadvisor so wanted to leave a comment and other travelers would benefit the way I do … I generally look for a clean place ( extra clean ), somehow modernly designed , centrally located with a service standard to match my bill..I can easily say Room Mate Mario meets all these perfectly well and would never hesitate to come back again.. Firstly you can not beat this location , steps away from Teatro Real , Puerto Del Sol , Mercado San Miguel and Plaza Mayor .. longest would take 5 minutes on foot.. just in the middle of all attractions yet its very peaceful … Rooms are nicely decorated and spotless clean , I have stayed in a single room which is just enough size.. Bathroom is also quite good with some cool amenities ( wasabi shampoo ) … A mini bar , safe and a tiny size LCD TV ( little bigger than a tablet :))) is available in the room .. I have not tried the breakfast but just checked the room and the buffet , it all seem reasonable given the 7 Euro price. I wanted to try some authentic food in the morning so just went out. My check-in and all concierge needs fulfilled perfectly and never had language problem .. 2 of the ladies I met at the reception desk were great explaining everything I need in a very friendly way..Thnx to them .. For the price I paid , I do not think I can find a better place … this is my second time in Madrid , If I come back again , will not look for a place , This is it…highly recommended ..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SerdarUcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaTsoumas, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I have just read your great review, I would like to say a big thank you because our best awards are comments like yours.
Please feel free to contact me directly if you decide to come back!

Mario will be waiting for your next visit.

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Great hotel, superb location. The rooms are clean and funky. Helpful and enthusiastic staff. Breakfast is generous and high quality. Difficult to beat at the price.
.....................................

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaTsoumas, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We will be waiting for you on your 4th visit!
Thank you very much for let Mario be part of your trips in Madrid.
Please feel free to contact me for a new reservation.

Kind Regards,

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#54 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#43 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Room Mate Oscar
Room Mate Oscar
#47 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#38 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Mario

Property: Room Mate Mario
Address: Calle Campomanes 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#52 Business Hotel in Madrid
#54 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Room Mate Mario 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and LoveHolidays so you can book your Room Mate Mario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Mario Madrid
Room Mate Mario Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing