We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Room Mate Mario
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
HOTEL OPERA(Madrid)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hostal Gala(Madrid)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Room Mate Laura(Madrid)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Preciados(Madrid)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Reviews (2,007)
Filter reviews
2,007 results
Traveller rating
1,029
732
175
44
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,029
732
175
44
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopera metro stationroyal palacegreat locationuntil noonplaza mayoropera housequiet streetbreakfast roomburger kingpuerta del solwithin walking distanceside streetmodern designminute walksmall roomjunior suiteyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
303 - 308 of 2,007 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed here for a weekend trip and loved the hotel. The staff were really helpful and friendly from when we arrived and the room was lovely, clean and spacious with a balcony view of the street. Having free wifi in the room was great and the staff had some good recommendations of where to eat and drink. The hotel is just off the opera square and is really accessible from the airport by the metro and bus. It's also really safe to walk around - each night we strolled back to the hotel at about 4 am and didn't have any trouble at all. The room was a tiny bit noisy from the street at night, but if you planned ahead and brought earplugs that would not be a problem. I would definitely go back and would recommend it to friends travelling as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah-Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaTsoumas, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to say a few words about your stay with us on tripadvisor.
We love to hear that you liked the room and enjoyed his time in Madrid.
We hope Room Mate Hotels become your travel partner in every city.

Sincerely,

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

First off the location of Room Mate Mario is just perfect, located 2 minutes walk away from Opera plaza and metro. Able to get to all the major attractions / locations just by walking or a short hop on the metro. Althrough the hotel is very central it manages to be very peaceful inside the hotel as it is located on a quiet side street (we didn't get disturbed once while sleeping). The hotel is very modern with bold colours and pleasant furniture. Our room was the standard double and for a city centre hotel the room was a fair size (not big but enough space), the room had a small flat screen tv and a nice bathroom with shower over bath and importantly a strong water pressure! The room also has a double wardrobe with minibar and safe. We paid extra and booked breakfast which for the money was fine, lots of pastries and meats & cheeses etc. Finally the staff were excellent and made us feel very welcome and offered lots of advice and even gave us a free wifi device to take around the city so we could check maps etc on our phones (great idea!!).

Overall taking into account the location and value for money I wouldn't even consider another hotel if I was returning to Madrid!

Note - great money saver was using the metro tourist passes, you can take the metro from the airport to the plaza opera with just 2 easy changes. Cost the equivelant of just over £20 for 5 days unlimited travel. (Also over 1 day, 3 day & week passes).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaTsoumas, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear Oliver,

Thank you for such a nice comment about your stay in Room Mate Mario.
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and the location. Is wonderful to know that the portable wifi was very useful for you.
Hope to be your home in the city for next time.
Best regards!

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stylish and quiet hotel in a secret location, just a block away from Opera square. Short connections to metro and train. Breakfast very diverse, with Spanish delicacies, cheese etc. Excellent choice for a city break just few steps away from the buzz of Madrid centre.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaTsoumas, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Anna,

I have just read your nice review, and just a few lines to send you a big thank you, because your message is the best brochure about Mario!

Hope to see you here again!

Best regards;

Sofia Tsouma
Front desk Manager
Room Mate Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Modern and trendy hotel, centrally located to the Palacio Real, Plaza Mayor, Gran Via, and many other major sights. Our room was clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated. Free wi-fi. The service was also great. We had a bit of trouble with the wall hair dryer, but the staff was nice enough to bring a couple more dryers up to our room until one worked!! Great value for the price. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaTsoumas, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Renee,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with Mario with Tripadvisor´s users.
Hope to see you here again in a near future!

Best regards,

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
hank you very much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

A big smile welcomes you as you walk in. The bedroom (junior executive) is quite big. Bed really comfortable. The shower is really big. I dont usually like the soaps, shampoos...they give you in hotels, but these ones were really nice. My only but was the tv. Such a great room deserves a better and bigger tv. The breakfast is delicious. You can have eggs, cereals, croissants, toasts....anything you can imagine. The coffee is good. Also it is located 5 minutes walking from Puerta del Sol.....excellent hotel. Not expensive. Excellent people working there. Oh!! instead of the bible you can find in some hotels, you will find the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. I love that!

Room Tip: Any kind is good.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PilarSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaTsoumas, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a nice review!
We are really glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Do not doubt in contacting me if you require a new booking in Madrid.
Hope to see you again!

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews