We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location!”
Review of Room Mate Mario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Room Mate Mario
Ranked #44 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I spent a week at this hotel when visiting Madrid last month, and I was not disappointed! I had a good-sized room which was clean & comfortable, and which had a big, comfortable bed! As well, I was able to sleep well, considering that the hotel is in a central location in Madrid. Furthermore, the staff were courteous & helpful to me. My only complaint was the free Wi-Fi offered here. It didn't always work properly during my stay. Still, I highly recommend this establishment to anyone contemplating a visit to Madrid!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arejaysee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaTsoumas, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
It`s really glad to know you enjoyed your stay in Room Mate Mario.
We regret the wifi issue, I take note to improve this service and solve any possible failure.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Madrid.
Feel free to contact us for this.

Kind Regards,

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    902
    691
    164
    36
    26
See reviews for
172
918
168
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

As other reviewers have noted, this hotel is in a fantastic location for touring the main attractions - which are mostly within walking distance. The Opera is 50 metres away, the Royal Palace about 400, Puerta del Sol a 5-minute walk, Plaza Mayor a bit further, and the major Art Galleries and the Retiro Park are about 30 minutes walk. There are lots of Restaurants off Sol and over towards Sanat Ana - all within easy reach. The hotel is comfortable and very modern inside (even though it is in an old building). Rooms are adequate and comfortable, and it would be a great base for a 2 or 3-day stay in Madrid. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 06D123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaTsoumas, Director General at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your sharing your experience on tripadvisor.
We love to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel.

Please feel free to contact me directly to assist you with your next stay.

kind regards,

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at Mario. The hotel is in a perfect location, almost on Plaza Isabel and very close to the Opera metro station. The last time we visited Madrid we went to and from the airport by taxi which cost a small fortune. This time we decided to try the Metro- great decision ! Despite having a couple of changes it was really easy and cost only €20 Euros return for the 2 of us, we wouldn't consider a taxi again.

We loved the hotel,it is very modern with a boutique feel. Our room was spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable. The room had everything you need - ample cupboard space, mini bar, lovely shower with toiletries, hair dryer and very quiet air conditioning. I notice other contributors saying that room and bathroom were small - I don't agree!! Both were absolutely fine- who goes to Madrid to stay in a room anyway?!
The staff were lovely, professional, very helpful and friendly.

The breakfast was very good, a nice continental selection of breads, meat, cheese, fruit, yogurt, cereal etc and also hot options of eggs, bacon and sausage.

The hotel is walking distance to all of the major attractions, the Royal Palace is a stone's throw away.
A must-do is the Mercado San Miguel. You can easily spend a couple of evenings here eating tapas and drinking lovely wine!

We also visited the Cafe Central , Plaza Angel and heard a wonderful jazz trio. There is live music here most nights 9-11pm, it costs €13 each and is definitely worth a visit. It gets busy so you may want to book. We didn't eat there but the food looked great too.

We would thoroughly recommend the Mario and would definitely return ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotsheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaTsoumas, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for such a great comment!!

For the entire team was a pleasure to make your visit to Madrid a pleasant memory.
We will be more than happy to have your visit again. Mario will be waiting for you!

Kind regards,

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for three nights whilst visiting our daughter who currently lives in Madrid, it is situated just off the Plaza of the Madrid Opera House, very quiet and we had no noise disturbance at all in spite of being there for the Champions League final between Real Madrid and Atletico Madrid which was a very lively affair! Very friendly staff greeted us on our arrival and all staff encountered were very polite and welcoming. Room was very comfortable (especially the bed) and the modern bathroom with piping hot water was more than adequate although on the small size. Corridors rather dark and we did get lost on more than one occasion as it can be quite confusing. Breakfast ok, nothing to write home about but you get what you pay for and the price is very competitive.
Would thoroughly recommend for its central location and friendliness of staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suearmitage2668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaTsoumas, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to know your stay was pleasant and enjoyed the Hotel details.
Please feel free to contact us directly for your next visit.

King Regards,

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Room Mate Mario is centrally located on a quiet street by Plaza Isabel. It is conveniently located near the Opera Metro stop as well. The front desk was very helpful in assisting us during our visit. The overall amenities were nice. The hotel was clean and comfortable and had a modern ambiance. A good, solid choice for accommodations in Madrid. The view outside our room wasn't great but we didn't spend much time in. If you are looking to spend time in your hotel room or more luxury, this may not be the spot for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindyCityTraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaTsoumas, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
We're glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel and make your stay in Madrid has been pleasant.
I take this opportunity to comment that the hotel has 54 rooms including exterior with balcony are facing the street.
Mario will be happy to have you visit again.

Kind Regards,

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Situated in the middle of everything, "chic", good breakfast, but in need of some renovation in our room at least. Friendly staff. However, they may have skipped insulating the rooms for noise between the rooms. Was able to hear quite clearly what went on in the bathroom next door.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_OSOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaTsoumas, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers.
We note your comments, they always help us improve.

We hope to see you soon in any Room Mate Hotels.

Sincerely,

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We selected this place for 2 reasons - the first was the remote wifi unit they give you while you are staying at the hotel and the other was the location.

The remote wifi unit is great and we love having access while out and about for mapping and research on the go - awesome service.

The location is in a very quiet street next to the Opera House piazza - very handy and very easy to walk to most attractions within 10 minutes

One major bonus this place has is the staff - these guys are very friendly and helpful, I could real off several examples of their detailed assistance but a simple example is that on 2 occasions they actually printed out specific service times for the train with return options on the spot. Really friendly and fun people, all of them.

The major down side was the ventilation in the room which was almost nil. The room itself was pretty cool, good bed, nice and clean with enough room etc However the shower which is good, clearly creates plenty of water which can't get out!

Value was also good for the area which is expensive.

This is a chain hotel and I would certainly give them ago just for the wifi and funky style they take to their service!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p_alewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet_Cortes, Gerente at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to learn you have enjoyed the personal attention, location and our new Wimate which is Free WIfi in the city. It is great to see it is so useful.

I´d be pleased to assist you with your reservation if you decide to come back to Mario or any other Room Mate Hotel.

With kind regards,

Janet Cortés
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 436 in Madrid
1,587 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#62 of 436 in Madrid
1,674 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#47 of 436 in Madrid
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Room Mate Oscar
Room Mate Oscar
#53 of 436 in Madrid
2,197 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#39 of 436 in Madrid
2,480 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 436 in Madrid
3,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Mario

Property: Room Mate Mario
Address: Calle Campomanes 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#52 Business Hotel in Madrid
#54 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Room Mate Mario 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Room Mate Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Room Mate Mario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Mario Madrid
Room Mate Mario Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing