We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, but what about service ?”
Review of Room Mate Mario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Room Mate Mario
Ranked #44 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Giv'atayim, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superb location, but what about service ?”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed at the Mario 4 nights during June 2014, main reason to have chosen the Mario was it's location and previous pleasant experience at other Room Mate hotels -
location is indeed superb, near by the Opera Metro station (main station whereas 3 lines connect you to any Madrid area), and most of the main sites with-in walking distance (Palacio Royal, Placa Major, sol, Placa Espana, Gran Via etc) including late night bars & restuarants as well (-:
But.. there were few problems that significantly damaged our stay, unfortunately major issues :
1. we have ordered 'standard' room with twin bed and received 'long stay offer' that was fair - upon arrival, we have immidiatly been suggested to 'upgrade' the room for 'spacious' one, and as we do not spend much time in the room (nights only actually) we said 'no thanks'.... upon checking into the room, we noticed that the bed is made of 2 joined single mattresses (it was felt) and asked for twin one replacement - the front desk told us 'it can not be done on this room !! and suggested again to 'upgrade' the room for extra 30 Euro per night, which seemed outrageous as twin bed should be a twin bed !!....
2. The shower head was a real disaster - the worse we have ever met in any hotel worldwide! - the water flow was a single water burst coming out extreem like the water flow of a garden pipe (centralized), not to mention the fact it could hardly be temperature controlled...we have asked few times to replace it, and told 'it is the same all over Spain'..... 'Bull.... of course - nothing was done !!! (The Bull by the way, is indeed the same all over Spain (-: )
3. How large is 'LCD large-screen TV' ?? well... note the attached photo for a nice joke....

The only reason I have ranked that stay Avarage rather than Terrible is the hotel location that indeed exccelent, and my prior acquintance with the room mate chain that was indeed nice -
I know they pay much care to their hotels decoration & service, so I wish to beleive it was coincidental failure....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zevik61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaTsoumas, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review following your recent stay at Room Mate Mario and therefore giving us the chance to improve our service.

We are really sorry to know that you couldn't fully enjoy your stay because of maintenance issues.
Regarding the problem you had with the bed type I would like to inform you that the hotel has rooms with double beds with a single mattress and twin beds together made ​​one single bed as in your case. Anyway, the reason why we could not fulfill your request was because double beds were not available.

We really hope you will give us another opportunity to enjoy the Room Mate Experience.

Kind Regards,

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    916
    700
    164
    36
    26
See reviews for
175
928
171
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield, UK
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

My partner bought us tickets for a show at Teatro Real and I got to pick the hotel. I chose this one based on the reasonable price and great Trip advisor reviews. Little did I know until after booking that it was a 20 second walk to the theatre, amazing coincidence! The location is great, we stayed 3 nights and I hate to miss a city because we're busy navigating the underground system but here at Mario, we didn't need a bus or train once! We walked up and down and around the city with ease.

The welcome was warm and friendly and we decided to upgrade to superior room on arrival to get a pretty balcony (room 218). All our requests were met, including a kettle and teacups and all staff we encountered were lovely. Breakfast was awesome too, featuring literally the nicest chocolate donuts I've ever had! The only negative for me was the pillows, too springy, not enough feathers! This is of course, a personal preference.

Madrid was beautiful and I would not stay anywhere else should we be lucky enough to return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank muir2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaTsoumas, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for trusting us for your stay in Madrid.
We love to read that you liked the room 218 and enjoyed the breakfast, you are completely rigth the donuts are really tasty!
I agree with you... location is perfect for a walking tour of Madrid.

We would be delighted to welcome you again,
Kind regards,

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

There were 4 of us staying. 2 couples. 1 mid 30s. 1 late 60s.

This is a great hotel, however it is not a 4 star hotel. Just modern,clean and convenient.

Location: this hotel is 7min away from Palacio Real, 10min for Puerta del Sol, Plaza Real, Mercado San Miguel, and some of the best tapas areas in Madrid. Next to the Teatro Real. THe hotel is on a quiet side street. The only noise you might hear at night is the trash truck if your window faces the street.

Rooms: they are clean, very spacious, and comfortable. The TV is a little small, but you won't be watching it much if you are out and about. The bathrooms are different sizes, we had stayed here before and had a larger bathroom. This one was a bit small. The toilet sits high.

Breakfast: can't comment on it because did not eat it.

This hotel is a great find! If you do not like "modern" looing hotels you might not like this one. It is mostly white, with color lighting in the hallways. I would stay here again in my next visit to Madrid.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAELOVES_TRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaTsoumas, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments and for choosing us for your visit to Madrid.
We're really happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
We would love to welcome you back for your next visit.

Kind regards,

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We spent 5 nights in Room Mate Mario in Madrid. We have been there before, few years ago when it was Hotel Campomanes.

We liked: location, room, breakfast and people who are working there. Room's decoration is nice and fresh. Room was quite small but there was everything we needed. There was very clean. We like that hotel is small, so there is not rush hours in breakfast and check in. Location is so good, near restaurants and old city. Free wifi worked well.

There was no balcony, that was only we missed.

Thanks for everything, we will be back!

Leena y Jouko

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmigosdeFinlandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaTsoumas, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for trusting us for your stay in Madrid, and above all, thank you for your loyalty to the hotel ... We love to know that you are our customer since our beginning when we were Hotel Campomanes.

Hope to see you again very soon and so you may see some other room also with a balcony.

Warm greetings from all the Room Mate Mario Staff.

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I got back from my vacation in Madrid (which took place between the 4th and the 9th June).

This hotel was a real gem!!! Everything was just perfect:

Location? Couldn't be better:
Usually I try to avoid central places, since they tend to be extremely noisy at night, but exactly as all the other reviewers said, the hotel is located on a little side street so it's very quiet despite the fact that it's very close to the royal palace, to Plaza Mayor, to Puerta del Sol and to Gran Via. If you want to walk to Paseo del Prado, where Madrid's famous museums are located, just walk through San Jeronimo street from Puerta del Sol and you'll arrive at Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and at Neptune square (from which you can walk to Museo del Prado).
You'll also find a lot of places to eat on the nearby Calle Arenal.
If you're a vegetarian, don't miss the wonderful Yerbabuena at Calle Bordadores, 3 (which is about 5 minutes walking from the hotel).

Room? Perfect! Clean, quiet, spacious and well equipped. Great breakfast!

The staff was amazing: very friendly, kind and efficient

When you want to explore such a wonderful city like Madrid, you'll need a perfect hotel, and if this hotel is available for the dates of your vacation, search no more!

Technical note:
Although you can arrive from the airport by the metro, I highly recommend that if your flight lands at terminal 4 to take the train Line C1 of Renfe Cercanías (working hours: 5:59 to 22:28) to Príncipe Pío (the last station) and then line R of the metro to the Opera station. The hotel is about one minute walking from there.
The train was spacious, very comfortable and efficient and it was much easier options than taking the metro from the airport (which I did the last time I was in Madrid)

Please feel free to contact me if you have any question regarding this hotel or my stay in Madrid!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhadB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaTsoumas, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to know you enjoyed every corner of the hotel and the room, the breakfast and the perfect location were to your liking.
Thanks also for the recommendations, will be a great help to other travelers visiting Madrid.

We hope to see you soon at Mario or any other Room Mate Hotel.

Kind regards,

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel is a very god value and location. The hotel is on a very quite street and a nice neighborhood. The hotel was located a block from the metro and a 5 min walk to gran via.
The room we had was an executive room (the one with 193 SQ meters). Beds were very comfortable and the room was very clean. The breakfast is worth the extra money. The breakfast does have a hot entree. Bathrooms very large and clean.

The staff provided excellent guidance and was very helpful.
We had room 202 and I highly recommend.

Cannot go wrong with this choice.

If you are looking for a chain with all the bells and whistles this is not the one you want. If you are looking for a comfortable room, clean and very well located at a great price this is it.

Room Tip: Room 202 or any executive room (mid size room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GD331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaTsoumas, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
I agree with you, room 202 is such a nice room, so we are glad that you enjoyed.

I´d be pleased to assist you with your reservation if you decide to come back to Mario or any other Room Mate Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is modern, chic and contemporary with an excellent location (2 mins walk from Opera station) within walking distance to most major tourist attraction. Room was clean and staff were friendly and able to converse in English very well. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Duffster2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaTsoumas, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choose Room Mate Mario for your stay in Madrid, as well as for taking the time for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor.
I really agree with you...the hotel location is perfect!

Kind Regards,

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 435 in Madrid
1,612 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#57 of 435 in Madrid
1,694 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#43 of 435 in Madrid
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Room Mate Oscar
Room Mate Oscar
#54 of 435 in Madrid
2,233 reviews
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
#158 of 435 in Madrid
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Mario

Property: Room Mate Mario
Address: Calle Campomanes 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#52 Business Hotel in Madrid
#54 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Room Mate Mario 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room Mate Mario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Mario Madrid
Room Mate Mario Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing