We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great value!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Room Mate Mario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Room Mate Mario
Ranked #44 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

We (over 65) travelers loved this hotel--it was ideally suited to see Madrid on foot or by Metro, it was very clean, the room was extremely comfortable and quiet, and the breakfast provided a nutritious and full start to the day! It is a wonderful value! The staff were helpful at all times with questions and called for a restaurant reservation one evening (turned out it wasn't needed after all). Since we don't carry a computer with us, we loved being able to use the free internet in the lobby. Would definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends of any age.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docvbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    666
    160
    35
    26
See reviews for
160
885
164
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2010

This was our second visit to Room Mate Mario. Once again, it was a fantastic and comfortable stay in a great hotel. Staff were lovely upon check in, and gave us a voucher for free wi-fi which was fast.

Our room was quite spacious, had a very stylish design and funky furniture to match. The bed was comfortable and big. The toilet and shower were in a separate room, and the sink was included in the main bedroom.

Breakfast is fantastic, with plenty to choose from. Lots of cold meat and cheese, fresh fruit, cereal and yoghurt, spanish potato tortilla, breads, pastries and a coffee machine.

Location is superb - close to the Royal Palace, Opera, train station and Plaza Mayor. Highly recommend the restaurant across the road - Chic Madrid. Great food and service. Also try Taberna La Jerezana around the corner for some great tapas.

Highly recommend Room Mate Mario - great value for money and a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteandSiobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

Very nice and clean but first of all it is in a perfect location. The only bad thing was the noise of the Air Exhausterall, hearing outside the Window of the room. But it depends only from the position of the room and it's not a problem if you are a Heavy sleeper.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manila82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

We were there for a weekend. Choosing the place from the positive reviews here; Everything was great.
It is not the best I have been to - but for its price and the fact that it is 2 stars hotel - you get the most for your money - period.
I would come again

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simenhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topsail Island, NC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2010

room mate mario is a terrific value. it's in a great location in the heart of madrid and has everything you need including a very comprehensive free breakfast buffet. some of the staff was super helpful (evita rocks!) but others basically ignored you and checked their facebook accounts. the rooms are on the small side and the one we were in had no view whatsoever but they were clean and well-equipped. two negatives: the blue carpet. wooden floors or pergo would make a huge difference. and you can hear your neighbors so if you're unlucky enough to be next to noisy people you're in trouble.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank omenseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napoli
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2010

The hotel is very well located, wich is something very important when you are staying for just a couple of days and don't wan't to spend half the time going from the center of the city to the hotel and vice versa.
It's modern and cozy. The staff very friendly and helpfull.
It's not cheap...
The breakfast was quite good.
It's a good choice to spend an entertaining weekend at Madrid.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FabioM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

Walking into Roommate Mario for the first time you think "this is cute and different." It has a cozy atmosphere, interesting decor, and bold color schemes.

I can hands down say that I have never been treated better at any other hotel, and I am an avid traveller. From the Ritz Carlton to the airport Best Western, from European hostels to bed and breakfasts, Roommate Mario is the only hotel I would definitely go back to.

First of all, the service. The staff there are the most friendly, helpful people I have encountered. When asking recommendations for anything they will go above and beyond. Not only that, my friend and I booked a side trip to Granada on our own and at the bus station the ticket agent refused to honor our online tickets. Not wanting to waste the day and being too frustrated to communicate properly in our broken spanish, we purchased more tickets and just went.

Upon our return to the hotel, we told the reception staff of our troubles. They took the number of the bus company and dialed them up. The conversations got heated and the man dialing on our behalf kept hanging up on them and redialing. He spent about an hour on the phone arguing in fiery spanish so fast we couldnt keep track. Finally he hung up the phone and told my friend she could expect a refund on her credit card in 2 weeks!!

Aside from championing our causes, they were soooo friendly. Aside from not wanting to leave Madrid because it's Madrid, we didn't want to leave the hotel because we loved everyone at the hotel.

Other things to consider would be the food. Breakfast was amazing. Every kind of carb you can imagine plus cold cuts, cheese, fruit, and a very much appreciated coffee machine that made various types of your favorite caffeinated beverages.

As for location: excellent. Madrid is such a walkable city and the proximity to the Puerta del Sol was fantastic. Right next to the Teatro Real and a stones throw from the Royal Palace. I'd recommend the Streetwise map of Madrid though. There are many streets and it can seem confusing. This map was invaluable to me.

Beds were small, but that is typical in Europe and it didn't matter since they were super comfortable. There's a safe, which is crucial. I really can't say enough good things about this place, so I won't drone on.

All in all, amazing place to stay, fantastic, friendly staff who truly make you feel like they care about your stay, good food, awesome city...highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frankiewhereru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#54 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#43 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Room Mate Oscar
Room Mate Oscar
#47 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Mario

Property: Room Mate Mario
Address: Calle Campomanes 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#52 Business Hotel in Madrid
#54 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Room Mate Mario 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Odigeo so you can book your Room Mate Mario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Mario Madrid
Room Mate Mario Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing