We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Only YOU Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Maydrit Hotel(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Official website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor(Madrid)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$137/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ganivet Hotel(Madrid)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Regina(Madrid)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
US$354
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$336
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,038)
Filter reviews
2,038 results
Traveller rating
1,050
739
176
44
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,050
739
176
44
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopera metro stationroyal palacegreat locationuntil noonplaza mayoropera housequiet streetbreakfast roomburger kingpuerta del solwithin walking distanceside streetmodern designminute walksmall roomjunior suiteyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 2,038 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is located near the Opera Metro. Yet it is away from the hustle and bustle of the plaza. Design and furnishing are modern and they do make it a point to help you enjoy your stay with clean rooms and good desk service. It is well-located within walking distance ranging from 10 - 20 mins of attractions depending on how much you like to walk.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank petlai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaHerranzFdz-M, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

It is a great pleasure to know that customers like you recognize and value our efforts to provide and guarantee our guests the best possible service.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here on two separate occasions so had access to two different rooms. Fantastic staff - very helpful and friendly. Great rooms and good bathrooms. Superb location right beside the Metro. Delicious, plentiful breakfast. Perfect in every way

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatureAdult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaHerranzFdz-M, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

First of all we would like to appreciate your time in expressing your thoughts regarding your stay at Mario.
We are especially pleased that the hotel was of your total satisfaction.
Thank you also for mentioning our Staff, I will share your review with them.
We love reading that Room Mate has become your friend in every city.

Do not doubt in contacting me if you require a new booking in Madrid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

One of the best hotel experience ever. Staff people are super nice and ready to help. Rooms are spotless and very comfortable. Tourist attractions are on a walking distance. Is a must to get breakfast (delicious). If you plan a vacation to Madrid, this is the hotel you want to stay.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank fernandoandsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaHerranzFdz-M, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Fernandoandsie,

Thank you so much for your words! We love reading reviews like yours.

We are especially pleased that the hotel was of your total satisfaction.

Kind regards in behalf of Room Mate Mario´s team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

On a small street (that tends to be noisy), Room Mate Mario is steps away from Plaza Isabel II and its bars and restaurants and access to the Palacia Real, the Cathedral and the Teatro Real, the national opera house. Close by is a pedestrian mall filled with shops.

The hotel is clean and bright. The room is (no surprise) small, though there's place to hang clothes and bedside tables. The bathroom was the surprise to us: the sink is in one corner of the room and the toilet/shower enclosure is in another corner.

Amenities are average. Breakfast is available for 9.95E per person with a good selection that makes it comparable to a restaurant/cafe breakfast.

The staff is very friendly and very helpful.

P.S. There's a little vegetarian restaurant across the street that is very good (and we're not vegetarians!).

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room as the street is noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaHerranzFdz-M, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Dear Deborah,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with Mario, including a beautiful review!!

We are very glad to hear your compliments regarding our staff, location and breakfast.

For future references, please note that all the rooms in Mario have different design, so we could show you another one in your next stay.

Mario will be waiting for you!!!

Best regards,
Silvia Herranz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed three nights in a standard room. Room was clean, big enough for one but prob tight for two. Aircon does not function well - it alternates between hot n cold - too noisy to open windows. This and the thin internal walls are my chief gripe.
Also there was a complimentary bottle of water on first day but not subsequently. There was no kettle or tea/coffee facility in the room.
But friendly staff n great location make up for this. Plus a very good buffet breakfast, not the largest variety but great quality n taste. All this at a value for money price (it does vary depending on time of year so watch out). Some good restaurants nearby.
Would recommend this hotel only for a short stay n go for the superior room if price is okay.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
Thank Sydsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaHerranzFdz-M, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Dear Sydsolo,

Thank you for leaving your review about Room Mate Mario. We are happy to know that you liked the centric location and the breakfast. Also thank you for the special mention of our clean rooms and friendly staff.

Mario is the first Hotel of Room Mate chain, build in an historical building on a normally quiet residential street. Regretfully we have no control on that noise. Regarding the problem you had with the air conditioning, as you said the air-system works as air-conditioning or heating depending on the temperature outside. We have kettles in our superior rooms but we have also at the reception for everyone under request.

In case you decide to come back to Room Mate Mario, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to make your stay perfect.

Kind regards,
Silvia Herranz,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews