We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whimsical, great location, so enjoyed it!”
Review of Room Mate Laura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Room Mate Laura
Ranked #16 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Centrally located, knowledgeable staff, fun design. I spent only 2 nights at Room Mate Laura, my third stay with the Room Mate chain, and I wish I could have stayed longer. I upgraded to a room on the 4th floor that was so spacious (402), and so much fun to be in! It had a sitting area, and a fully stocked kitchenette, skylights, a spacious bathroom. Great water pressure, all very clean. The design was both whimsical and modern, and functional. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast buffet had variety and your Spanish standards of bread and fresh tomato sauce, and freshly made tortillas and pastries, which I love. The hotel is basic in the sense that there is no restaurant, bar, or pool, but when there is so much going on in the Movida Madrileña, you can find all that nearby as you explore lovely Madrid. I would definitely stay here again, and look forward to my next stay at one of the Room Mates.

Room Tip: Room 402 is spacious and fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CariocaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet_Cortes, Gerente at Room Mate Laura, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear guest,

What a nice review about your stay with us. We really appreciate your comments and look forward to meeting you again in a next opportunity!

Thank you very much for your kindness.

Best regards,

Janet Cortes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 1,696 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

We chose the hotel in part because of its good reviews in TA and partly because of its central location to the Plaza Mayor and museums. The staff were great and very accommodating and were very helpful in pointing us in the right direction and making some helpful recommendations. Breakfast was very good with a wide selection of items to choose from -- from eggs to cereals, fresh juice and the ubiquitous Tortilla Espanola -- plus it is served til noon. What was really extremely helpful was the "portable Wi-Fi hotspot" that they provided free of charge. It was a rechargeable 3G router that provided us Wi-Fi access where ever there was 3G service so you don't have to use your data or pay any roaming fees. It was great for wandering around the museums, parks, etc. for the instant information that we all become very accustomed to....even on vacation. It was extremely easy to use and very convenient. It was a great service.

Room Tip: The room we had was on the top floor and had sloped ceilings and only a small window. I would recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet_Cortes, Gerente at Room Mate Laura, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the 3G router for free wifi in the city. Would welcome the opportunity to receive your visit again in the future.

Kind regards,

Janet Cortes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Centrally located, most of popular places are within walking distance, friendly staff. Breakfast is available till almost noon...they also gave us a free mobile wifi router, so we could access internet within the city limits at any time, though speed was slow, but it worked. Nice duplex rooms....highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nirav40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaTsouma, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Laura, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing you comments about your stay in Room Mate Laura.
It´s god to know that you enjoy the Hotel , the location and our services as the breakfast and the wifi router.

Hope to see you in futures dates.

With Kind regards,

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This hotel was a very pleasant surprise. For just 100 euros including two breakfasts this is a bargain. It is right in the middle of the main bits of Madrid. The room is nice and has a funky feel to it. Sleep quality was great as we slept in until 11am. Good job they serve their excellent breakfast until midday.

We will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigFozMorecambe_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaTsouma, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Laura, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your review in Tripadvisor.

We´ll be glad to see you again so do not doubt in contacting me if you require a new booking in Madrid.

With Kind Regards,

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Have just returned from a 5 night stay in this wonderful hotel. What a great central location!!! within walking distance to all the sights and shopping areas and also within a 5 minute walking distance to 3 metro stops. Great breakfast, loads of choices and great coffee. The reception staff were so friendly and extremely helpful, wish all hotels had the sort of staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kpangel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaTsouma, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Laura, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review!
It´s really encouraging for all staff read comments like yours! A big Thank you!

Do not doubt in contacting me if you require a new booking in Madrid.

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The Room Mate Laura comes with several admirable features most notably friendly and helpful staff, spotless accommodation, an excellent breakfast available until 12.00 but most of all a location in the heart of the city close to good shopping areas, loads of restaurants and walking distance to the Prado and other tourist hotspots.
On the (admittedly slight) downside the half-tread staircase up to the mezzanine in the duplex rooms is not for anyone less fleet of foot than normal and, because of the nearby restaurants there can be some noise late at nights. Oh, and the nearby Convent has a tendency to ring its bells at 6am.
Otherwise well up to Room Mate standards.
PS Don't believe the 30 euro taxi fare from the airport quoted in a well known guide. Ours was nearer 60 euro. Perhaps we looked too much like tourists.

Room Tip: A busy location prone to traffic hold ups and horn blowing. Smile and enjoy Madrid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halladay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaTsouma, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Laura, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time and writing about your stay at Room Mate Laura. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and the location.

Hope to see you again in futures dates.
kind regards,

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Wonderful place in the best location, right in the city center!!!!
We had a small maizonette and we loved the decoration!
Very friendly and helpfull staff..
I like that the breakfast is served untill 12:00
I recommend it 100% (like all roommate hotels!!!)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaTsouma, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Laura, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Debie,

Thank you so much for such a nice review!
It was great to read your comments.

Please, let me know if you´ll come back to Madrid, We´ll be very happy to welcome you again.

With kind Regards,

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#40 of 437 in Madrid
1,907 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#64 of 437 in Madrid
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#44 of 437 in Madrid
1,283 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Laura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Laura

Address: Travesia Trujillos 3 | Plaza de las Descalzas, Reales, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Madrid
#31 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#51 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £87 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Laura 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room Mate Laura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Laura Madrid
Room Mate Laura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing