We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, location and wonderful staff!!!”
Review of Room Mate Laura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Room Mate Laura
Ranked #15 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This hotel is absolutley fabulous. The location is very central (on a small street with no noise which is a great advantage), the breakfast is great and is served until 12.30 for the latecomers and the staff are SO friendly and helpful!
I would definately recommend this great hotel, I would like to especially note Javi from the reception team who was helpful, kind and very very nice!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liat1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

385 - 391 of 1,736 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

This hotel seemed like a perfect solution for a trip away with our son without having to pay out for a second room. However the room really didn't work for us. We were first in a room which had a couch bed and shower room on the ground floor with a very steep stair up to a mezzanine with a double bed. I have vertigo so didn't like it at all, especially as the toilet was down the stairs. My son's part of the room was really cold and he was sleeping in his jumper whilst up high we were roasting hot. The air con wasn't working and would only blast hot air. The shower room was badly laid out with the bidet having loads of room whilst the toilet was crushed in the corner next to the shower. The shower was leaking causing the floor to be rather wet. After telling the reception of our air con and leakage we were moved to another room. This time the double bed was on the ground floor whilst my son was up high. So role reversal of the temperature issues. We were really cold and he was far too hot. There were however toilets on both levels on this room and the layout was much better.

Whilst the location of the hotel was excellent for sightseeing during the day, I don't think I have ever stayed anywhere so noisy at night. I was woken several times during the night by people shouting in the street, cars and motorbike engines and horns, bins being put out and then finally the church bells first thing in the morning. In the summer it would be impossible to open the windows as even with them shut it was a big problem. We live on a busy road in the middle of a town so it is not that we are used to peaceful countryside. I have stayed in a hotel just off the Plaza Santa Ana and had no noise issues there so not sure why it is so bad here.

Although we had a lot of problems with the room and the noise, the staff were excellent. The hotel and our rooms were spotlessly clean and beautifully maid up each day. The breakfast was well laid out and well stocked. All the staff we dealt with were extremely helpful. My son is gluten free and there was gluten free bread for him. The next day the breakfast staff remembered him and immediately asked if he would like the bread again.

Unfortunately there is not much excellent staff can do about bad hotel design and people out with the hotel property causing huge noise problems.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SlummyMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet_Cortes, Gerente at Room Mate Laura, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear guest,

First of all thank you for such a detailed review about your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed breakfast, personal attention. We take good note about your suggestions and will focus in improving them inmediately. If you decide to come back maybe you could try a Suite which has only one floor. Room Mate Laura is located in a quiet área in the city center although we are improving our isolation in order to ensure a peaceful rest for our guests.

If you decide to come back, please do not hesitate to contact us, we would make sure you enjoy an excellent Room Mate Stay.

Kind regards,

Janet Cortes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The first time we stayed here we had a studio and it was super. Open plan and cool decor. The only disappointment is that the kitchen cupboards were locked and cost extra to get opened - not that we intended to cook. Great location to everything and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet_Cortes, Gerente at Room Mate Laura, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review about your stay with us. Only for your information, the kitchen it is open with no extra cost, if you need a Kitchen Kit to cook, it has an extra charge of only 10€ for the whole stay. Anyways, if you need we can provide you kettle, plates or cups for no extra charge.

I wish this information is useful for you if you decide to visit us again.

We would be grateful to see you back at Laura.

Kind regards,

Janet Cortés
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Cool hotel with good location (although a bit hard to find initially). We were on first floor in large family room with loft (that was too warm with no way to cool it down in the winter). Could not cool it down by opening the window because there Is a nightclub RIGHT across the street and there were drunks yelling all night long.

Room Tip: Get a high floor without loft and it would probably be a great place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAVIER M, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Laura, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Carol,
we would like next time you visit us, please ask for other room types we have. We´ll be glad to offer you, and we are sure you´ll enjoy them.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Conclusion: Would NOT return

GOOD:
Has character - the design of the lobby and rooms was quirky, retro 60's. The location is central, very close to the Palace, and walking distance to most of the sights. For the price, our room came with a 2nd floor loft with 2nd bathroom - we didn't need it but I used it to avoid the wrath of my wife. The staff was friendly (though slow).

BAD:
At 4AM drunks in the street walked by our window yelling loudly and knocking over trash cans, but we had an early flight so we weren't too disturbed. It was Wednesday, and not a holiday, so perhaps this is a common occurrence? The bed was firm, not comfortable, but I was tired enough to sleep until the drunks came through. The shower doors hit the toilet and leaked water onto the floor causing a slip hazard. The room was beginning to show its age, cracks in the caulk, the chrome on the bathroom fixtures was matte, not shiny, a couple light switches did not work.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, maybe they have one, I don't know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UnhandledException
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet_Cortes, Gerente at Room Mate Laura, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thankyou very much for your comments. They are very valuable for us and escalated in order to improve every day. We are glad to see you enjoyed the decor and location. We are following up with your suggestions for improvement regarding bathroom and lighting. We regret to find out you had an unpleasant experience with loud people from the Street, although this is a quiet area in the city center we are very concerned about this kind of issues and are willing to call the pólice to stop this incidences. In case you decide to give us a second opportunity, please contact us directly, we will make sure you can enjoy a memorable experience with us.

Kind regards,

Janet Cortes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We had a very nice stay at this hotel...a comfortable, spacious room with a nice bed. The breakfast was very good and the staff was helpful. We were a little surprised by how noisy it was outside; it's close to a late night bar and we were woken up quite a few times. That's truly the only issue I had with this hotel (and they certainly can't control drunk bar patrons). We would stay here again for sure, we'd just request a room on the opposite side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the quieter side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAVIER M, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Laura, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Elizabeth,
we are glad you enjoyed your stay in Room-Mate Laura. Just let us know next time you come back, we will be happy to welcoming you again!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We booked this hotel for 3 night.
We chose it because of the excellent reviews, rooms design and location.
We were not dissapointed.
We got a room at the highest floor with a sloped ceiling.
The room was very large and spacious with a kitchenette, very comfortable twin beds, a large cupboars, a sitting area and a large bathroom.
The street is very quiet but very central. Everything very close - plaza mayor, Gran Via, San MIgel Market, Plaza del Sol. We walked to everything.
The design- nice and modern.
The breakfast very good.
The staff friendly and helpful.
Overal - and excellent experience

Room Tip: Rooms at the higher level hace sloped ceilings - not for tall people....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet_Cortes, Gerente at Room Mate Laura, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your excellent review about your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay so much and would welcome the opportunity to meet you again in a future visit.

Kindest regards,

Janet Cortes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#44 of 440 in Madrid
1,941 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#68 of 440 in Madrid
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#45 of 440 in Madrid
1,306 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#22 of 440 in Madrid
3,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Laura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Laura

Address: Travesia Trujillos 3 | Plaza de las Descalzas, Reales, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Madrid
#31 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#51 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £71 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Laura 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Room Mate Hotels, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Room Mate Laura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Laura Madrid
Room Mate Laura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing