We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very very noisey - poor customer servie”
Review of Room Mate Laura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Room Mate Laura
Ranked #16 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very very noisey - poor customer servie”
Reviewed 6 November 2008

Hotel is situated on a busy one way system and our room was on the corner of 3 roads. Continuous traffic noise day and night with car horns been blown at all hours, then when you finally drop off to sleep the church bells start! Only there for a couple of nights so did not complain until we arrived home(big mistake), all we were offered was a voucher to come back for a free night - rather poke my own eyes out! Apparently it is against customer policy to offer any cash refund as we have already checked out.
So my advice to anyone staying is make any complaints while you are there as the customer service department is not interested once you leave.
Felt it was overpriced and although it is modern inside it is done very cheaply and will not age well at all.
Glad to get home and get some sleep!

  • Liked — Comming home
  • Disliked — Noise Noise Noise
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcortes, Director at Room Mate Laura, responded to this review, 14 November 2008
We understand our guest’s irritation due to the noise in the street as all our hotels are really located in the heart of every city, in this case Madrid, and these locations are usually very noisy. Our apartments in Room Mate Laura have electrical blinds that isolate the rooms from noise and light and so far our all guests have been very satisfied with the apartments except in this case.



Since we were not notified of the disturbance mentioned above during the guests’ stay, a rebate of the invoice was not applied. Nevertheless, following Room Mate guests’ satisfaction policy, we offered them other means of compensation which the guests decided not to take (free stay in any Room Mate Hotel at the guests convenience).



We deeply regret that in this occasion we did not meet our guest expectations.



Janet Cortés

Hotel Manager

Room Mate Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    511
    133
    24
    5
See reviews for
293
814
69
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2008

This hotel was a wonderful place to stay in Madrid. It was conveniently located, the staff was incredibly helpful, and the rooms were great. The hotel even has dark shutters to keep out the light for those late Spanish nights! The only slight drawback is the lack of room service on-site. Overall this hotel is perfect for visiting Madrid in style.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Traveler60614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2008

This is very sweet little hotel in the center of Madrid, very conveniently located near the Plaza Mayor and the National Theater, a 20-25 minute walk to the Prado. We got there by Metro from Barajas International Airport in just 30 minutes; the hotel is just a couple blocks from the Callao Metro stop.

It advertises itself as being hip; I thought our room was a bit too hip for its own good, as the loft, (which contains the mini-bar,) was accessible only by a steep set of half-stairs...not for the infirm or faint of heart.

The staff were quite helpful; the brunch which is included in the room rate was plentiful and good, and served until the very civilized hour of noon. The one computer available free for use could be located in a better place than on the front desk.

Great value, great location, highly recommended.

  • Liked — location, location, location
  • Disliked — room layout a bit weird
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelgman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2008

We found this hotel on Tripadvisor & were very pleased with the interior design of the accomodation...such a change from the standard hotel room set up The only negative was the poor lighting at the bedside making it impossible to read at night.The breakfast included was delicious with plenty of variety.
The staff were responsive to all our requests.
Look for these Room Mates in Spain . They are special

  • Liked — Interior design
  • Disliked — Very steep steps up to loft bedroom....poor lighting at bedside
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Stanley28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2008

Great hotel with friendly staff. I only wish I had more time to spend there! I will definitely stay here during my next visit to Madrid.

  • Liked — impressive, spacious room and friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MegWar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

Went for a long weekend to Madrid with a number of friends. We had responsibility for booking the hotel, and after seeing Laura's website we had to book. We werent disappointed. The hotel is what could be described as 'boutique' and the decor is unusual, but we loved it. All our rooms were generously sized, the couples all had rooms with kitchen facilities, which of course we didnt use with all the bars and restaurants close by. The hotel is very centrally situated, and there was a small amount of noise from people in the street as they returned to their beds, but it wasnt unbearable, and we expected worse in a city centre. The breakfast was included and had a huge selection - we were very impressed as we had not expected so much to be on offer - fresh fruit, cereals, meats and cheeses, and freshly ground coffee. I would highly recommend this hotel, and would use it again should I return to Madrid, I understand there are others in the Room Mate chain and I would definitely consider staying with them in other cities. It was excellent value for money, the staff were very helpful and we even got a weather forecast left daily on our bed to help us plan our outings!

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank PatsyHolmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2008

Absolutely fantastic hotel at very reasonable cost, right in the heart of Madrid close to all the tourist sites. Hotel staff very helpful, excellent buffet breakfast and rooms are large, modern and very clean. Only 200 yards away from Cortez Del Ingles dept store which is excellent for holiday purchases and has an excellent food hall. Highly recommend this hotel and Madrid.

  • Liked — Location and quality of hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank StapeleyCraigie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 436 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#19 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#45 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#38 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Laura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Laura

Property: Room Mate Laura
Address: Travesia Trujillos 3 | Plaza de las Descalzas, Reales, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Madrid
#31 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#51 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Laura 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Room Mate Hotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room Mate Laura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Laura Madrid
Room Mate Laura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing