We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place, but could be better”
Review of Room Mate Laura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Room Mate Laura
Ranked #17 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2009

The design of the hotel was fun. One of the beds had quite a few hairs in it, and we asked for the sheets to be changed. They were not able to do that, and offered instead to change us to another room. By this time we had already unpacked, so it wasn't worth the hassle. The street outside was very noisy all night, and the fan/airconditioning only blew hot air. It would have been nice to cool the room down at night without all the noise from the street. The person at the front desk was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

682 - 688 of 1,716 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2009

This hotel could not be better located. It is right in the heart of the shopping district and little more than a 15-20 minute pleasant walk from the Prado or Rotiro park. Madrid is a very lively city that DOES NOT sleep. The hotel is perfect for those not wanting to spend too much time in your room. The hotel staff are superb, friendly, multilingual and very helpful. Faultless in fact and as as good as any 5 star.. The rooms are contemporary quirky and functional. The beds are a little hard and other guests (less fortunate than I) complained about using two beds as the king bed. Book a double room if you want one bed. Breakfast is good continental fare.. Do not expect anything cooked, Croissants, breads, cold meats, fruit & cheese yoghurt, juice and good coffee. Perfectly good for the tourist anxious to get back out there. The hotel is not the most romantic getaway.. but the price and quality can't be faulted for the market segment it is in. Excellent tourist hotel with good free WiFi.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMC777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2009

Nice welcom. Nice persons at the reception. A nice hotel. Nice and big room (duplex). But a miror is missing in the room (only in bathromm).

Excellent and various brekfast.

Incredible staff, specialy Luca, the italian man at the reception !!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diabolo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2009

funky hotel, the rooms were clean and the breakfast was OK. great location and helpful hotel staff.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackTheLadva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2009

My wife and I stayed here in February 2009 and had a blast! the hotel is in the middle of everything you want to see as a tourist. Walking distance to most major sites. It gets a little loud outside at night but that was OK with us but keep that in mind. Get a high room if noise is an issue. great hotel and Great staff
Greg Petersen

Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank gp4free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

My fiance and I are just back from a 5 day trip in the wonderful city of Madrid. We chose Room Mate Laura based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. The reception staff were very friendly - they spoke fantastic English and assisted us with directions and a taxi to the airport. Our room was a duplex - chosen because we got a deal where the cost of the duplex was the same as a standard room during our stay. The room was lovely but we didn't actually use the sitting area downstairs so if I had the choice again I would just get the standard room (as long as the price was not the same as the duplex!). We don't really need much space but if you like lots of space I would recommend the duplex room. The room (and hotel) was very clean, the bathroom was basic but functional, the bed was very comfy, there was also plenty of hanging space for clothes. My main gripes were that there was no hairdryer and the rooms were very warm - our aircon seemed to blow only hot air out! The breakfast was great (served until noon), it had a great selection of fruit, juices, breads, etc and was very healthy. The location was fantastic, right in the heart of Madrid - within 5 mins walk of the metro stations, the Gran Via with all the shops, the Royal Palace and the Plaza Mayor. I would highly recommend using the Metro in Madrid - it is very clean and efficient and economical too if you buy a tourist ticket (1,3 or 5 day) or a 10 journey ticket. We used a taxi only once to get to the airport on the way home as the Metro wasn't open early enough for us to make our flight - the airport into the centre of town takes only 15 minutes by metro and I think it is more like half an hour for a taxi - a taxi is also probably about 10 times as expensive! Also note that as the hotel is right in the middle of the city it can be noisy at night, especially on a Friday and Saturday night as the nightclubs empty. Bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper!

All in all I would absolutely recommend staying at this hotel - and also a visit to Madrid.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennycrayon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

Staff really made the hotel. It is in an excellent position,easy to walk to all the "sights" yet in a very "local" area. Naturally a fair amount of background noise- it is Madrid.As I came prepared with earplugs, I wasn't aware of next door's shower next to our heads till I took them out so it wasn't a problem,
Deluxe Duplex room was fine- a previous tripadvisor comment was to try to get one with the bed on the lower level as the seps are very steep, which was fine, but essentially it made the "sitting area" redundant, as it was basically a sofa bed up steep stairs, away from kitchen/TV and balcony/view. I think it was more of an extra bed really and a straightforward room with a balcony/ view would have been better for us, if one was available.
The view over the square was very pleasant for people watching. Breakfast very good and available till 12. You have to request the kitchenette to be unlocked and given supplies when you arrive, so while it does have sink/rings/microwave/ fridge/freezer actually you are only provided with what you request- in our case a couple of cups and something to make coffee with (no kettles naturally).
The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful.
We are likely to return but will be much more specific about the type of room we want, and I am sure they will do their best to accommodate us.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatherineBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#43 of 438 in Madrid
1,925 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#68 of 438 in Madrid
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#44 of 438 in Madrid
1,300 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#21 of 438 in Madrid
3,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Laura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Laura

Address: Travesia Trujillos 3 | Plaza de las Descalzas, Reales, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Madrid
#31 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#51 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £70 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Laura 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Room Mate Laura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Laura Madrid
Room Mate Laura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing