We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostal Carrera - excellent value for money hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alojamiento Carrera
Ranked #136 of 277 Madrid B&B and Inns
Fleet
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hostal Carrera - excellent value for money hotel”
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Hostal Carrera is a really good place to stay if you are thinking of going to Madrid. Its location is excellent for all the main sites in the older part of the city as they are all within easy and pleasant walking distance. Our room was of good size, quiet and impeccably clean. The staff were polite and considerate and the manager Jimmy,who speaks good english was extremely helpful

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horseyonetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    24
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
23
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2010

This is a great place to put your suitcase down and relax. The rooms are quite and could not be better. We were so glad to see a lift to get to the upper floor after having to pull our suitcases up several floors of stairs at other hostals.. This is like a medium priced hotel in the U.S., if not better.. The room was spotless with a large tile bathroom. The bed was wonderful and no lumps! There was a tv, and phone in the room with internet available also. The owner was available to help with all questions about the highlights of the area. We spoke little spanish and her english was limited, we all laughed a lot, but were able to get all the information we needed. She made us feel like family...who could ask for anything more?. The hostal location is centrally located. We were able to walk to most the the historical areas. there were places to have quite or the party areas for those who are looking for a up beat area. There is also a bus service for city tours ,hop on hop off type bus, to see everything. All services are just steps from the hostal. all aged would enjoy this hostal, it is in a safe secure area,good
for all ages, seniors too! The only problem we incurred was we didn't want to leave.... plan several days here, you won't be sorry..

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GAIRESYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2010

This hostel had a great location, we walked everywhere from here. The staff was very friendly, the owner tried his best to get me to use the limited Spanish I knew and his wife was eager to use her English with us. Rooms were clean and fairly good sized, we had a double twin room. Traffic can be loud at night, but I don't know of any place in Madrid that would be completely quiet. We had to shut the shutters to the window which helped.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobynD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Göteborg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2010

We been visiting Madrid för four times. We always stayes at Hosta Carrera. The hostal is beautiful: it,s quiet, clean and the staff are very friendly. We are very interested in football anf foods and if we have any questions the staff will always answer with a smile. A problem is no problem for the staff. We will visiting Madrid again an we will be staying at Hostal Carrera.
We are very satisfied!

ANNE AND MAGNUS, GÖTEBORG, SWEDEN

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annerobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2009

This place is managed by a wonderful couple. It is clean, nice, comfortable and accesible. Location is great. Walk everywhere, good and non-expensive places to eat in the area. Close to important places and train stations. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spainFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2008

I stayed in the Hostal Carrera with my family, booking a triple room directly with the hotel.

This is a great hotel, located in the very city center of Madrid, ES. It's a 5 mins walk from Plaza del Sol, where there is the Subway station and you can find all the shops-pubs-restaurants you'll need. Not only it's a 12 mins walk from the Thyssen Museum and Prado.

All the rooms have en-suite bathroom, wi-fi internet access, a private telephone, hairdryer and Air conditioning. The thing I liked most was the cleanness. They're also providing soaps and shampoos.

There is a reception desk with somebody staying there 24/7.

The value is definitely more for what you spend.
Sure about my mark: 4/5

  • Liked — Cleanness
  • Disliked — No breakfast provided.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Elias Nahum L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2008

One stays at the Hostal Carrera for three main reasons: 1) the rooms are relatively inexpensive (e.g., 70 Euros per night double occupancy vs. 400+ per night at the Four Seasons), 2) the hostal is in a great location, and 3) the staff are friendly and helpful.

I say this because I was very concerned when we first arrived. The hostal is located on a busy street and does not have a street level presence. We had to enter a corridor between two stores and take the elevator to the third floor to arrive at the hostal. Our double room, located at the end of the corridor, was small (i.e., about 10 feet by 12 feet), and to call the bathroom 'compact' would be an understatement. There is no breakfast or Internet connection or Wi-Fi available in the rooms (n.b., there's an Internet Cafe around the corner).

Once we settled in, however, we came to appreciate the benefits the hostal had to offer. The owner (Irma ?) does not speak much English, but was exceptionally friendly. She showed us how to operate the TV and air conditioner, asked if there was anything we needed, and, on two occasions, allowed me to use her computer to access the Internet and answer emails.

We found the beds comfortable and, because our room was not overlooking the street, it was very quiet as well. Although cramped, the facilities in the bathroom are relatively modern. Just be careful when taking a shower. The bath tub / shower is pretty small requiring one to stand very closes to the valve control. I leaned over to get some soap and hit the valve control causing a sudden drop in the water temperature.

There is someone on duty 24 / 7 to buzz people into the door to the hostal and even turn the hall light on and off for us every time we left or arrived. Given not many of the staff speak English fluently (n.b., my Spanish isn't great either), we did not ask them for directions or recommendations. There is a tourism office four blocks away in the Plaza Mayor.

The hostal is located two blocks from Puerto del Sol which seems to be the heart of Madrid. Many of the old buildings are located within walking distance (e.g., Plaza Mayor, Palacio Real, the Prado) and there are plenty of cafes, restaurants, and shops in the area. Puerto del Sol also is where one catches the tour buses and is a major subway station.

We felt relatively safe walking in the streets even late at night, but many people warned us about pick pockets (n.b., this seems to be a common problem in many major European cities).

Based on all of the above, the Hostal Carrera was a good value for our money. My one peeve is they wanted to charge me 6 euros for a receipt when we checked out.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Being charged 6 Euros for a receipt when checking out.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chesslover17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#148 of 436 in Madrid
589 reviews
Huertas
Astoria Hostal
Astoria Hostal
#30 of 277 in Madrid
334 reviews
Centro
Hostal Met Madrid
Hostal Met Madrid
#5 of 277 in Madrid
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Marlasca
Hostal Marlasca
#31 of 277 in Madrid
570 reviews
Centro
Hostal Madrid
Hostal Madrid
#16 of 277 in Madrid
340 reviews
Huertas
Hostal Victoria III
Hostal Victoria III
#247 of 390 in Madrid
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alojamiento Carrera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alojamiento Carrera

Property: Alojamiento Carrera
Address: Carrera San Jeronimo 30 | 3rd Floor, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 277 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alojamiento Carrera 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alojamiento Carrera is located in the historic center of Madrid, in one of the main streets of the capital, Carrera de San Jeronimo . Its prime location places it less than 15 minutes walk from the main sights of the city: museums , historic buildings , churches , theaters , cinemas , parks and monuments , so the use of any means of transportation is required discover the charm of this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Alojamiento Carrera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Carrera Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing