We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, nice staff, but odd...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alojamiento Carrera
Ranked #138 of 283 Madrid B&B and Inns
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good value, nice staff, but odd...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

It was a very nice place, once you found it, and the staff were very nice... once you found them. Some of the staff didn't speak English (which is 100% understandable) so it was difficult at times to communicate, but the man who was usually at the desk was very kind and he went out of his way to be helpful with directions and advice.
It was an odd set up, in fact, I'm not sure anyone else was actually staying there- I never saw anyone else. It was an older place, but very clean. It was quiet and very close to restaurants and shopping. The metro was probably 3 or 4 blocks away, but it was beautiful weather so we didn't mind much.
Overall, I'd stay there again- it was a good place for the price.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iowayankee20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    24
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
23
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

Great value Hostal right in the city centre. We had asked for a quiet room, and that was what we got. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, lots of hot water and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

Hostal Carrera is a really good place to stay if you are thinking of going to Madrid. Its location is excellent for all the main sites in the older part of the city as they are all within easy and pleasant walking distance. Our room was of good size, quiet and impeccably clean. The staff were polite and considerate and the manager Jimmy,who speaks good english was extremely helpful

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horseyonetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

This is a great place to put your suitcase down and relax. The rooms are quite and could not be better. We were so glad to see a lift to get to the upper floor after having to pull our suitcases up several floors of stairs at other hostals.. This is like a medium priced hotel in the U.S., if not better.. The room was spotless with a large tile bathroom. The bed was wonderful and no lumps! There was a tv, and phone in the room with internet available also. The owner was available to help with all questions about the highlights of the area. We spoke little spanish and her english was limited, we all laughed a lot, but were able to get all the information we needed. She made us feel like family...who could ask for anything more?. The hostal location is centrally located. We were able to walk to most the the historical areas. there were places to have quite or the party areas for those who are looking for a up beat area. There is also a bus service for city tours ,hop on hop off type bus, to see everything. All services are just steps from the hostal. all aged would enjoy this hostal, it is in a safe secure area,good
for all ages, seniors too! The only problem we incurred was we didn't want to leave.... plan several days here, you won't be sorry..

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GAIRESYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2010

This hostel had a great location, we walked everywhere from here. The staff was very friendly, the owner tried his best to get me to use the limited Spanish I knew and his wife was eager to use her English with us. Rooms were clean and fairly good sized, we had a double twin room. Traffic can be loud at night, but I don't know of any place in Madrid that would be completely quiet. We had to shut the shutters to the window which helped.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobynD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Göteborg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2010

We been visiting Madrid för four times. We always stayes at Hosta Carrera. The hostal is beautiful: it,s quiet, clean and the staff are very friendly. We are very interested in football anf foods and if we have any questions the staff will always answer with a smile. A problem is no problem for the staff. We will visiting Madrid again an we will be staying at Hostal Carrera.
We are very satisfied!

ANNE AND MAGNUS, GÖTEBORG, SWEDEN

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annerobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2009

This place is managed by a wonderful couple. It is clean, nice, comfortable and accesible. Location is great. Walk everywhere, good and non-expensive places to eat in the area. Close to important places and train stations. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spainFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Lavapies
Analina Rooms
Analina Rooms
#196 of 283 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Huertas
Astoria Hostal
Astoria Hostal
#30 of 283 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Huertas
Hostal Edreira
Hostal Edreira
#48 of 283 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
No photo provided
Hostal Madrid Centro
#278 of 410 in Madrid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Huertas
Hostal Bianco
Hostal Bianco
#92 of 283 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Chueca
Hostal Rio Mino
Hostal Rio Mino
#151 of 283 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alojamiento Carrera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alojamiento Carrera

Property: Alojamiento Carrera
Address: Carrera San Jeronimo 30 | 3rd Floor, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 283 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alojamiento Carrera 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alojamiento Carrera is located in the historic center of Madrid, in one of the main streets of the capital, Carrera de San Jeronimo . Its prime location places it less than 15 minutes walk from the main sights of the city: museums , historic buildings , churches , theaters , cinemas , parks and monuments , so the use of any means of transportation is required discover the charm of this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alojamiento Carrera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Carrera Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing