We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has everything you need”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mad Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mad Hostel
Ranked #43 of 410 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
1 review
“Has everything you need”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

You can't expect a lot from a hostel but this one won't let you down. It has wifi available in the rooms, a decent breakfast, clean rooms and bathrooms. It's very close to the Anton Martin metro station, so it has a decent location as well.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mehmet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    120
    60
    29
    29
See reviews for
10
36
106
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Pretty good location for a Madrid hostel because it is very close to the metro. Rooms are decent but the locks are terrible and confusing to open. I would skip breakfast because there is not much and they seem to advertise tons of bar crawls. Can be pretty loud when younger groups stay but the staff is friendly and helpful!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salamanca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hostel is well located but it was dirty and noisy. The bathroom was smelling vomite and there was hair everywhere. Many drunk people. Noisy street. I slept 3 hours during my whole night at mad hostel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flouff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I love centrally located stays, and this one fit the bill. Minutes from the metro and close to a number of good restaurants, the only downside is that the bars are open very late so ear-plugs are a good idea. The room was clean, the bathroom was well equipped (including blow dryer) and everything looked exactly as the photos on the website. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was the only weak point, with too many sugary options and not much else. Coffee was cold, so I went out for that. Other than that, I highly recommend this hostel.

Room Tip: Top floor is near the patio deck, and even though they have a curfew for it, the partiers can be a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3rdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I thought this hostel was great! Free breakfast in the morning was awesome, cereal, toast and pastries and it gives you the opportunity to meet new people. I did the walking tour offered by the hostel and it was really good. Learned a lot about the city and again was able to meet new people. The bathrooms were always very clean and the rest of the hostel as well! Staff was friendly and tried to include everyone is activities. Ways to improve: I would´ve liked to hear spanish music playing instead of popular English songs. It would´ve added to the ambience of the place in a good way in my opinion. Also, the big comforters in the bedrooms do not seem to be washed after every stay. I know this is common in hostels, however it would be nice to have completely clean bedding. Lastly, it takes a while to get used to the doors and the locks so be patient at first! But maybe there´s an easier system that could be used? Thanks for a great stay, I will defenitely be back if I ever visit Madrid again :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

So the reason why I rate it like this is just the price, because you really get a lot for such a cheap stay.
The room wasn't very good (door to bathroom couldn't be opened easily) and it was really noisy during the night.
But if you want to be in the centre of Madrid without spending much money...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ossyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta H, Manager at Mad Hostel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Mad. We will look into the bathroom door problem to see what we can do to fix it. We are sorry that you thought it was noisy, as we try to encourage everyone to respect those staying around them. Thank you for commenting because it will help us to see what we can do to make future visits even better. We hope that if you find yourself in Madrid again you will return to Mad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

My stay in Mad Hostel on the weekend of February 21-23 was the worst hostel stay of my entire life. The first night that I stayed there the top bunk and the person sleeping in it fell on me. I have bruises down the entire left side of my body after this event occurred. When I contacted the staff about this issue, they came up to find the bed too small for the frame. Once I contacted the hostel's manager she claimed that nothing was found wrong with the bed, and instead of refunding me she threatened to charge me 100 euro for alcohol that was in the room. (there was no alcohol found in the room). I would NEVER stay at this hostel ever again. The service is awful and so was my stay there.

Room Tip: A) never stay at this hostel B) if you decide to stay here, make sure you choose a top bunk so tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta H, Gerente at Mad Hostel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Hello,

First of all, We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us and for the mishaps that you experienced. The staff at Mad makes an earnest effort to ensure that all of our guests are happy and feel taken care of.

As expressed to you directly when you were here, we are profoundly sorry with the incident you experienced with the bunk bed in your room. However, it is somewhat surprising to us that when our staff went to check on the beds, they, to the best of their knowledge, found nothing wrong with the frame or the mattress. In fact, you yourself refused a change of room for the rest of your days of your stay. We would have expected that given the situation, this would have been what you wanted. Additionally, at that moment you did not report any physical hurt or bruising… But, of course, we are again sorry to hear if this has been the case.

We, at MAD, take safety very seriously and make every attempt to ensure that everything is safe and secure for our guests and, therefore implement regular quality inspections of all our facilities. In fact, we are often congratulated by our guests for the quality of all our furniture and equipment.

It is our policy to ask our guests not to bring alcohol into the rooms and so at the check in, we ask ALL guests to sign a document stating that they will not bring alcohol inside of the premises at any point. Nevertheless, when our staff went to check on the beds after your complaint, they were surprised to find various alcoholic beverages in the room. We do have the recordings of the security cameras to prove this, in case there is any doubt. As mentioned, the document that you signed means you accept responsibility for breaking the rules which entails a fine of 100€.

We apologize if you felt that we threatened you, but please note that this is just internal policy we must all follow. However, we did feel for your uncomfort and possible shake up, so we decided to let this pass. What did not seem reasonable for us was to refund your whole stay for no tangible reason. We are sorry that you do not agree with this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Cat's Hostel
Cat's Hostel
#22 of 410 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Huertas
Way Hostel
Way Hostel
#10 of 410 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Lavapies
OK Hostel Madrid
OK Hostel Madrid
#13 of 410 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lavapies
Las Musas Hostel
Las Musas Hostel
#19 of 410 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Centro
The Hat
The Hat
#3 of 410 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Huertas
Room007 Ventura Hostel
Room007 Ventura Hostel
#14 of 410 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad Hostel

Property: Mad Hostel
Address: Calle Cabeza 24, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Lavapies
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 410 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mad Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Mad Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mad Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing