We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, clean, cosy, central”
Review of RC Miguel Angel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
RC Miguel Angel
Ranked #326 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Safe, clean, cosy, central”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This hostel is in central Madrid, a few minutes walk from Puerta del Sol. There are a few dormitories, a small reception area and a small kitchen. My dormitory and en suite bathroom was clean and surprisingly quiet given the central location. The bed was comfortable and it was helpful to have free individual lockers in the dormitory for my luggage. The breakfast was pretty good - cereal, milk, toast, ham, cheese, jam, croissants, muffins, tea and coffee. There is a washing and drying machine in the kitchen which is 7 euros for one load. You get a swipe card to access your dormitory and a couple of keys to access the hostel and apartment block. I found the staff very helpful and friendly. Neither the owner or his wife speak a lot of English but we managed to communicate okay thanks to Google Translate. I would recommend this as a safe and relaxed budget option for central Madrid.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzeejessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    27
    13
    0
    5
See reviews for
3
6
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This Hostel is located in the heart of madrid known as"Sol" very centrally located and within walking distance to all the tourist attractions and Plaza Mayor. The staff was very helpful and accomidating. the hostel was clean and Air conditioning worked well. they offer free internet and wifi, and breakfast was included. keep in mind that its in a central location so i can be noisy at night. Tips: take the Renfe from the airport its a quick and inexpenive way to get downtown about 5.00EU. make use of the Hop on Hop off bus tour excellent way to view the city and you can stop off and get beack on if you see something you like.keep in mind some muesums are free after certain hours and days. and check out CHOCOLATERIA SAN GINES which is on a side street from hotel. they have been there for years and the chocolate with churros are inexpensive and delicious!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TMFreckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Advisable to avoid this place. After staying here, my girlfriend developed red spots over most of her body - aka, bed bugs. The place itself, aside from the little creatures, is also horrible. It's dark and depressing. The only thing great about it is the location, but aside from that I'm not sure I've stayed in a worse hostel. Definitely would not recommend to people that like sanitary conditions.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Hostelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The location of the hostel is great, right near Plaza del Sol and Plaza Mayor. It's in walking distance of tons of places to go out at night and to eat, and it's right next to a subway station as well.

When our group couldn't initial book rooms together, they were very accommodating about putting us in the same room. The staff was friendly, helpful and respectful.

What's especially great about the hostel is that everything is very clean. You get blankets and towels, and the bathroom facility is spotless. The beds are comfortable as well. Definitely highly recommended.

Room Tip: They have private rooms, which are nicer, and dorm rooms, which have more people in it but are still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WolffC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I liked this place, the bloke who did the nights/early mornings was a bit of a miserable git though; fired me a couple of hateful glares on the morning I was leaving, all I was doing was walking along the corridor - you'd swear I was doing something quite bizarre - bit of a downer.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serendipity07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Yan can't have a greater location to sleep in you want to visit Madrid. The grocery store is right in front and the subway is at 2 min by walk. Puerta Del Sol is right in the heart of the city. All best attractions can be made by walk. The only one problem is the noise around there. Spanish guys like to celebrate!!! ;)

The room was very small, but that was ok. It was not possible to eat in the kitchen because of its smallest, but you can go in another place in the hostel. The decor is rustic.

Great price. Fantastic location!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank san15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

This hostal was really close to the Plaza de Sol (about 4 minutes walk from the metro), and there are loads of shops (including El Corte Ingles) nearby. Fantastic location. I was travelling alone, (a woman the wrong side of 50), and I wanted somewhere central, safe, clean, and cheap. It ticked all the boxes - cost around 30 euros for a single room, was clean and very central, and I felt completely safe. The staff there were also extremely helpful - they allowed me to leave my suitcase in their luggage store for a few hours after I'd checked out, which gave me more time to wander round without lugging all my belongings with me. To get to my room I had to go through the owners' family lounge, which felt a bit strange (especially as a couple of the older family members were watching the TV!); and when I got to my room, the noise from the street outside was horrendous. I had a miniscule balcony, with delapidated external wooden shutters, some glass French doors, wooden internal shutters, and curtains; even with everything shut AND earplugs, it was impossible to shut the noise out. However, it was quite fun just being able to look out on to the pedestrianised area below and just watch all the comiongs and goings of night-time Madrid! The hostal is on the 4th floor, with a lift, so it's not a problem getting luggage upstairs. I had no private facilities; there were 2 communal bathrooms available, and while both were clean, I didn't enjoy stepping out of the shower onto a damp shag-pile bath mat - not sure who'd been standing there just before me! Also, there was no soap or towels supplied in the bathroom, and I had to ask for a towel to use during my stay (it wasn't offered). They have a tiny kitchen, where you can help yourself to hot drinks, cereal and those little pre-packed croissants; crockery and cutlery is provided, buit you have to wash up after yourself, and I don't think the people who'd used the kitchen before me had been terribly thorough! It does mean, though, that you acn have something to eat before you leave. A better bet would be to wander 200 metres along the road and treat yourself to hot chocolate and churros at the famous Chocolateria de San Gines, for about 3 euros 50. I was grateful for the mini-safe in my room, and the staff at the Reception desk were very friendly, and I couldn't fault the location - although to get to the airport does involve two changes - no major problem as the Madrid metro is amazingly easy to use.

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest available room, and bring earplugs!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Hostal Miralva
Hostal Miralva
#383 of 436 in Madrid
37 reviews
Centro
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
#277 of 436 in Madrid
157 reviews
Malasana
Woohoo Hostal Madrid
Woohoo Hostal Madrid
#263 of 436 in Madrid
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hostal Horizonte
Hostal Horizonte
#345 of 436 in Madrid
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RC Miguel Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RC Miguel Angel

Property: RC Miguel Angel
Address: Plaza Celenque no 1 Escalera 1 Planta 0 4 Izq. | Plaza de Celenque No 1, 4 Izq, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #326 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality, good breakfast, Cleanliness, Location and low prices from 13 euros to 18. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your RC Miguel Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing